We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 9 July 2011

From the outside, the Driftwood Lodge can look a little shady but, the inside is much nicer and the rooms are pretty nice... I had a room on the 2nd floor above the office.. The beds were comfortable, the television was nice with good stations and the shower had great water pressure and hot water was plenty... The Driftwood is nothing fancy but the basics were good and it is in a good location, with downtown an easy walk... The rooms can be stuffy so ask for a fan from the front desk.. Travelers should no that there are three stories and no elevator... The connecting restaurant the Sandpiper Cafe had great breakfasts but they were not cheap- $20 for pancakes and coffee- is steep in my book...The free shuttle to and from the airport is a great bonus and I would recommend the Driftwood to those who are easy to please traveling to Juneau...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beans0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

You won’t mistake Driftwood for the Ritz, but if you’re looking for clean and (reasonably) cheap lodging in Juneau, you probably won’t do much better. The place has the feel of a converted apartment complex, and the rooms aren’t perfect. We stayed in two different rooms during our five-day stay, and there were plenty of minor rough edges: a balky old stove, an inconsistent refrigerator, an incredibly drafty front door, a busted window lock… but nothing that would get in the way of a good time.

The important stuff was all perfect, though: bizarrely good in-room coffee from a local roaster, immaculately clean rooms, a complimentary airport shuttle, and wonderfully friendly staff. There’s a phenomenal restaurant (Sandpiper Café) onsite, and a good grocery store (A&P) around the corner. Great place to stay, especially if you’re in town for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WildBoarNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

When you include the value of the courtesy airport/ferry pick-up and drop-off, this place is a very good deal. The airport is 13 miles away, while the Ferry terminal is around 26 miles away.

The Driftwood is in the center of downtown Juneau with nearby tourist locations and shopping. The public bus ($1.50) gets you without transfer to the road to the Mendenhall Glacier ($3 for the Visitor Center) in about an hour.

There are 3 floors, and I didn't see an elevator.

My room had 1 twin bed and a full-size bed. The full-size bed's mattress was not very firm. Though 2 small bars of soap are provided, there are no other toiletries such as shampoo. There was a small ironing board, but no iron (didn't need it for this trip). The small flat panel TV is connected to cable-TV, and there is a coffee maker. And finally, there is free wireless Internet access (11 mbps). Don't plan on sending large files or connecting to web sites with lots of pictures, unless you like waiting. However, it is perfect for email and small 10-60 kb attachments.

Would I stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank r61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stay at the Driftwood Lodge if you need a convenient location and a little room to spread out. We stayed one night in a standard room, which was a standard size. The next three nights we spent in their two bedroom room. You have to walk through one bedroom to get to the second bedroom, but the bedrooms are separate from the living room and kitchen area. This is a great choice if you are traveling with children. The kitchen has a small oven-range combo, a microwave, sink and small refrigerator. The rooms open to the outside and the hotel doesn’t have an elevator, so if you can’t hike up stairs ask for a first floor room. Both rooms had excellent free wi-fi access.

If you are used to staying in downtown Seattle or similar location and haven’t stayed in Juneau before, you need to prepare yourself. The walls are thin in all the hotels. There is nothing like the W in Seattle located in Juneau. Things are a lot more casual.

The valley and downtown are fairly far apart, you won’t walk between the two, so keep this in mind. Other downtown hotels are a little more modern and have restaurants and lounges on site. The Driftwood Lodge has the best year round restaurant (The Sandpiper) co-located on the property, but it’s only open for breakfast and lunch. I had chocolate crème stuffed French toast this morning. It was to die for.

The hotel is near the capital and downtown, a half mile easy walk to JDHS and has a grocery store one building away. The Alaska State Museum is next door, and the Centennial Hall is just two buildings away. It’s a super location, the rooms are big and clean and the staff is super friendly. I recommend it. If you are a SE person traveling here for youth activities – things to consider: No the Driftwood Lodge doesn’t have a pool like the Travelodge or Extended Stay, but the staff here are very nice and you can get a place with a little living room. It’s worth it, especially if you are doing events at JDHS.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank coryinsitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Although well situated, this hotel was too shabby to be pleasant. Our room for 3 was way too small and the bathroom was smaller than that!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Driftwood Lodge is super convenient. It's located downtown, and has a free airport and ferry pickup and dropoff. There's a grocery and liquor store seconds away. The staff are nice. The two downsides, which were pretty big, are the thin walls and the other guests. I normally stay in hostels so I'm used to noise. But this was unbearable. No sleep all night on my final night due to the antics of the people next door. Apart from that, it's fine. Just be aware and maybe pack some ear plugs and sleeping pills for weekend stays :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Picked this place as it had a pick up from ther ferry terminal which is very handy at 1am. Its an older motel style property but in a handy location very central. The room I had ,had full cooking facilities (including oven) and was extremely large and spacious.
Must rate the bed as the most comfortable of my whole trip.
Free internet in the lobby was also very handy.
Only word of warning is using the free shuttle to the airport, they can and do change the time to suit which means you could miss your flight, just be warned and insist they take you at the advised time. All in all you get what you pay for but this place is good value

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertDweller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#15 of 17 in Juneau
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#7 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: 435 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £73 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing