We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Stay”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
East Alton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation Stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 10 days and had a fabulous time. We rented a ground floor two bedroom apartment. It was clean, stocked with dishes, dish towels, pot & pans, microwave, fridge and stove, leather couch, table and chairs; a queen bed in one room and a pair of twin beds in the other; a color flat screen TV, WiFi and a coffee maker. Fresh soap was provide evey day with towels and anyother items asked for. We enjoyed blackout drapes in the bedrooms and living room. The staff was excellent as everyone was very friendly and glad we were there. The location could not be better, situated close to the State's beautiful museum with everything else nearby or a short walk. The only improvement I would suggest is that an extra blanket be placed in the room, some additional baffling between the floors as we can hear creaking from upstairs guests. The bathroom is fully handicapped accessable wth a large open shower and would suggest a wider curtain to help keep the rest of the bathroom from getting wet. I would also suggest perhaps some additional noise abatement properties for the water pipes in the bathroom.... they are noisy. But overall, the stay was wonderful and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible, get an apartment if you are staying any length of time..... it has most of the comforts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coradavemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    133
    95
    40
    18
See reviews for
75
124
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Thank goodness I was only staying one night then catching an 8:00 am ferry to Sitka. After arriving at the airport at 9:00 pm I was exhausted, 12 hours of travel, 3 hour time change and still daylight. All I wanted to do was sleep.
I would have expected to pay $39 a night for a place like this. Not clean, not updated, nothing, bit a bed, a tv a bath/shower, sink and toilet. I suppose that's all I needed, although with 23 hours of light, I did expect some sort of room darkening shade. Nope broken mini blinds that didn't fit old windows. The shade in the bath area did not even go down all of the way. The bed was so uncomfortable, the pillows old and flat, icky bedspread. Dark and dingy room. Nice hot shower, is the only good thing. Oh and they paid for a taxi to take me to the ferry since their driver wouldn't have been able to pick me up on time. He called my room at 5:30am to see if I would be able to leave at 6:00. My wake up call was for 5:45!!
I was so, disappointed. I'm suppose to stay there on my way back next week, I'll be changing those reservations!

Room Tip: Read reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myguenevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, az
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This motel is a step up from your typical motel 6 or super 8. No frills, a bit dated, but pretty clean. It's convenient to downtown and has good wi-fi.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

They did pick us up at the airport. The ride out to the ferry dock left at 0530, no if's and's or but's. The ferry didn't leave till 0800 and the guy at the desk was pretty rude about where we could get breakfast. "There's stuff at the ferry building," was his reply. There was not. The van was crammed and people were sitting on laps.
Aside from rude front desk guy our entire three days, we managed to do our own thing and have good fun. The bed was comfortable and room was clean and quiet.
Recommend this place and hope that rude guy will be off during your stay.

Room Tip: This located downtown and within walking distance of neat shops, book store and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainlandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a 2 night booking on our tour of Alaska.
We arrived by ferry at 11 pm, and were picked as arranged. Great .
Our room was comfortable, clean,,and amenities more than other places.
June at reception was a great help with our queries of the town.
They then transported us back to airport when time to leave.
Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We found this hotel to be very clean, although it is an older hotel. It is small but if you are only sleeping there you have nothing to lose, except more money paying for a hotel elsewhere. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. There is a grocery store, Alaska Club, bowling alley, bars, restaurants, and tourist facilities nearby and much more that you can walk to.

Room Tip: This was a great place to stay for the price, which cannot be beat in Juneau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akshltzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teslin, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

i love kitchenettes and what make this one even better is the location. it's central downtown so it's nice to be able to walk everywhere. plus the view of the mountain is spectacular! it's a little dated but it's clean as long as you don't stay on the 1st floor or a smoking room. they also allow dogs so i had to listen to a barking dog for a while but the staff dealt with it right away & resolved the problem. it's a good value for juneau as well.

Room Tip: try to stay on the 3rd floor if you can handle the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DGA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
139 reviews
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#14 of 16 in Juneau
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.1 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#9 of 16 in Juneau
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: 435 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing