We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worked for me!”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“worked for me!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Driftwood may not be to everyone's taste,--for instance, the liquor store adjacent might put some people off. But I've stayed there 3 separate trips to Juneau for a combined more than 7 nights. The efficiencies are great, if you want to save on going out for b'fast or even other meals. The free shuttle service to the airport and ferry is a life-saver. The outside corridors can be a bit noisy with people walking past one's room. Easy walking distance to downtown. Staff and drivers are friendly and helpful. My home away from home in Juneau. One recent drawback: the grocery around the corner apparently closed in Aug. 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room that's at the far end from the stairs. Less foot traffic outside your room. I alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashihime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    128
    94
    40
    18
See reviews for
73
120
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The free shuttle does save you money and the wait for it is very short. The hotel itself is plain and very basic. Some rooms offer less than others. At the start of our trip the room had a luggage stand but no shampoo,conditioner,hair dryer,soap, etc. On our way back the room had a hair dryer so my advice is if you need something ask up front. It may seem expensive for what you get but people needing rooms to meet their cruise ship keep prices high.
ATTENTION FISHERMAN This hotel advertises that it has a freezer for your boxes of fish.
What they actually have is a small chest freezer. It could at the most accommodate four boxes of fish. It looked like it had not been defrosted in years and was full of miscellaneous items. It had a look like some employee was keeping stuff in it.
The Sandpiper Cafe next door is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worktotravel2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

All though old this motel offers free shuttle to the ferry, has a friendly staff and was clean. We stayed three nights and it was quite acceptable. This motel would not be a triple A three star more like two and a half. The Sandpiper Cafe next door more than made up for anything lacking at the motel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in preparation for our Innersea Discoveries cruise thru the inside passage to Ketchikan. The Driftwood Lodge was affordable, comfortable and they were very friendly. They do have washers and dryers available, which made it a great start to our vacation!

Room Tip: Book early and try to get a top floor room - we stayed on the bottom and had a "ballerina"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanKoenigsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here 3 times in 2 weeks. We used the shuttle service 5 out of 6 times when we needed transport to the Airport or Ferry Dock. The 6th time we paid for a cab which cost us $36.00 because we werent going directly to the lodge. So we saved $70 each stay,on a little more than $100 room! Service including the shuttle was quick, efficient and all the staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, Overall the building is old but looks like they are renovating some areas. It is close to everything. The Sandpiper cafe right next door is excellent for breakfast. To convient not to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearcedale Victoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 1 night on our way on the ferry from Skagway to Juneau, and onto Sitka, and then again on our return from Sitka to Juneau. We shared one of the larger rooms as there were 3 of us sharing the room. The first room we had was downstairs - it was clean and the beds reasonable and the bathroom good, however we could hear everyone walking around on the floor above us. The second night we opted for a room on the 3rd floor, thinking that at least we wouldn't hear the people walking above us, and while the room was very similar, the bathroom was pokey and rundown. They were doing some work on the parking lot, and I would say they need to do some work on the whole of the Lodge. It was overall clean and comfortable and the larger rooms had a kitchenette. The staff were friendly and helpful. The wi-fi good. One of the big pluses for this lodge is that they will pick you up from the ferry terminal and return you there when needed - at no charge. It can be an expensive taxi ride in from the ferry at around $33 to $35 - so that's good value. It is well located close to downtown, the museum is right next door, there's a small grocery store near it and a restaurant right next to the lodge, although we didn't get a chance go eat there as it is only open for breakfast and lunch and our ferry trip was a very early start. Value for money, for Juneau, especially when you take into account the free pickup/return to and from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronmoon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Easy walk to all downtown Juneau attractions, free shuttle service to & from the ferry or airport, clean, friendly staff. The efficiency has a kitchenette and there is a grocery store a block away. Bus stops right in front. You can take the bus anywhere for $2. Wifi plus a computer for guests to use in the lobby. We enjoyed a 4 day stay here. For $115 at the end of August, this is the best deal in town.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the second and third floor rooms have great views of the waterfalls shooti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill31377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#13 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
0.1 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: 435 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing