We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable rooms, good value!”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This motel has a great location as downtown Juneau is about a 5min walk away. There is also a supermarket a 2min walk away, a small deli shop next door and a really nice cafe/bistro on-site which did great breakfasts. It was off the main road so it was quiet and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We were provided with a well-supplied kitchen, a dining table for two, a very clean en-suite and a TV with very good signal. Ask for a second or third floor room as I wouldn’t have wanted to have stayed on the ground floor as it was right next to the car park AND there was a black bear roaming around the streets when we were there! The free shuttle to ferry/airport terminal was very useful as they are both a distance away and a taxi would be expensive. The only small complaint we had was that the member of staff who greeted us wasn’t welcoming or friendly at all and was talking on the phone to what seemed like a friend while she was checking us in. Another member of staff we dealt with got the time of our shuttle wrong which could have caused us big problems if we hadn’t thought to double check the time the night before! However, everything else was fine and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a second or third floor room as the ground floor rooms are right next to the carp...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

my friend and I stayed in the Driftwood lodge for 4 nights in September. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a complimentary shuttle bus back and forwards for the airport. It is quiet and there is a cafe on the corner of the building which serves amazing breakfasts ( and other meals, but we only had breakfast). It is also very close to the centre, the shops and the harbour. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

There are five really good things about the Driftwood Lodge: 1) they offer free on-demand shuttle service to/from the AMHS ferry terminal and to/from the airport, 2) they are well-located, within easy walking distance to everything in downtown Juneau, 3) it's reasonably priced, 4) the staff are friendly and helpful, and 5) there's a very good bistro restaurant, the Sandpiper, immediately next door. On the down side, the walls are pretty thin. You can hear a whole lot from the next room, coughs, voices, etc. There's a mix of clientele, and in our mix were some serious loud partiers! We had to change rooms one night because the folks in the next room were going strong, both inside and outside the room. A very loud and well-attended party indeed. The staff was very accommodating in moving us to another (more expensive) room at no extra cost, but seemed unwilling to do anything about the raging partiers. So you take your chances. We spent 6 nights there. Five were just fine. One wasn't. All in all, I'd stay there again, depending on how many ferry/airport trips I had planned.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights from 8 Sept to 12 Sept 2012 after our cruise with InnerSea. Great location, within easy walking distance to downtown. Deli just around the corner and cafe right next door. Complimentary transfer to / from ferry terminal and airport. Debbie and Brian who manned the registration desk were very helpful. Though there were only two of us, we were given a room that come with a queen bed and a single bed. The only grievance that we had was the wifi. No wifi signal at all in the room. But this is only a small matter. All in all, we had enjoyed our stay at Driftwood. :)

Room Tip: If you don't mind no wifi signal, ask for Room 322.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little-muachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Driftwood may not be to everyone's taste,--for instance, the liquor store adjacent might put some people off. But I've stayed there 3 separate trips to Juneau for a combined more than 7 nights. The efficiencies are great, if you want to save on going out for b'fast or even other meals. The free shuttle service to the airport and ferry is a life-saver. The outside corridors can be a bit noisy with people walking past one's room. Easy walking distance to downtown. Staff and drivers are friendly and helpful. My home away from home in Juneau. One recent drawback: the grocery around the corner apparently closed in Aug. 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room that's at the far end from the stairs. Less foot traffic outside your room. I alway...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hashihime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The free shuttle does save you money and the wait for it is very short. The hotel itself is plain and very basic. Some rooms offer less than others. At the start of our trip the room had a luggage stand but no shampoo,conditioner,hair dryer,soap, etc. On our way back the room had a hair dryer so my advice is if you need something ask up front. It may seem expensive for what you get but people needing rooms to meet their cruise ship keep prices high.
ATTENTION FISHERMAN This hotel advertises that it has a freezer for your boxes of fish.
What they actually have is a small chest freezer. It could at the most accommodate four boxes of fish. It looked like it had not been defrosted in years and was full of miscellaneous items. It had a look like some employee was keeping stuff in it.
The Sandpiper Cafe next door is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worktotravel2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

All though old this motel offers free shuttle to the ferry, has a friendly staff and was clean. We stayed three nights and it was quite acceptable. This motel would not be a triple A three star more like two and a half. The Sandpiper Cafe next door more than made up for anything lacking at the motel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: 435 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing