We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Thurmont, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Staff was great”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Overall the Lodge was a little worn but the people on staff were great. We were traveling with a large group and they were able to accommodate us all and even called a cab and paid for it to get us all to the airport on time when we couldn't fit in their van.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor there are no elevators to if you have mobility issues make sure you requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    139
    102
    41
    21
See reviews for
78
130
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

On the plus side. It's close to downtown. You can walk anywhere and it's about three blocks from all the action. It's clean and the maid service is excellent and there is a good restaurant place attached to it. However, checking in was worrisome, not exactly welcoming staff, the man was more interested in his girlfriend than dealing with a customer, he put my son and I in a single double bed, then the next, single lady in a two single bed room (we switched, which was easily accomplished) the rooms were noisy, we were next to a well behaved but noisy Military reunion party room, that those boys had said they had been coming to for years and they still don't get the rooms together and manage to disturb other guests. The rooms are tiny, the beds, are tiny, there is nowhere to unpack or get organized, you hear people walking across the floor upstairs, outside on the stairs, outside the rooms, etc. The TV remote didn't work the TV, just the channel box, and the heat was not adjustable and too hot! Readers should know we were mostly camping and really only needed a room to escape the rain while on the coast. A Super 8 standard was all we were looking for...and we didn't get it!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rockmotordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

One asset is the transportation to airport and ferry terminal. Easy walk to museum, restaurants and the cruise-ship center of tourist Juneau. Public bus and grocery store also nearby. Staff is helpful and room fairly well kept. Ask at the desk if you need shampoo, tea, etc.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lifel0ngtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Driftwood. The room was clean, the bed was fine. there is a nice little restaurant (the Sandpiper) attached to the hotel where we had fabulous breakfasts everyday. the hotel is a block from the Juneau Museum (wonderful!). The location is away from the cruise ships, and walkable to everything. The only downside is that it borders a more industrial area, one that felt not so good. If you exit the hotel toward the museum everything feels safe.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weezie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A couple of blocks from the state museum and a short walk from downtown, coin-operated washer and dryer, friendly staff, courtesy shuttle. However, we found the housekeeping came up short. The bathroom was cleaned, but one day the spread had been pulled up but the bed hadn’t been made and the other day bed wasn’t made at all until we brought it to the attention of the front desk.

Room Tip: Shuttle to/from ferry dock is big savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_walkers21209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The room was small for three people and had a slight odor. It was clean, though, and the staff was great. Best price in town and close to downtown sites. I would stay here again, and recommend it if you want value and walking distance to the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reliseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Last weekend I had about 35 family & friends staying at the Driftwood from all around the world, including Australia & South Africa! Everyone was in town for my wedding. The staff at the Driftwood are friendly, helpful & very accommodating. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable & service is quick. It never smelled of cigarettes in any of the rooms & I had family staying in 13 different rooms on each of the three levels. I highly recommend the Driftwood for any travelers who are looking to stay with in their budget & just need a place to stay while exploring all the beauty that Juneau has to offer. Plus, they have a free shuttle to & from the airport...who could ask for more?!
Thank you so much for everything & everyone at the Driftwood!

Room Tip: All the rooms have an amazing view of Mt. Juneau that shoots up from sea level to 3500!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: 435 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing