We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to town”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“close to town”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

the room was great with a full kitchen available. When we arrived at 2am from the ferry on our motorcycle we parked out the front of the office (as we do at all hotels) and the guy behind the desk came out and said "You need to move that! the shuttle is coming" there was plenty of room for a shuttle to park but we moved it a little closer to the building by rolling it rather than restarting it at 2am!!!. After checking in we then came back out and were preparing to move it when the security guard came out and got on our case! so not a good start.
We found this a great place to stay conveniently located next to town within walking distance of a supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    139
    102
    41
    21
See reviews for
78
130
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Basic, low cost lodging within walking distance of downtown and the cruise ships. We found all staff to be helpful and friendly; there is a van that will pick you up at the airport or ferry and drop you off. Driver, an older man from New York, is a hoot to talk to and has good information to share. Hotel is across the street from a bus stop. The express bus, which whisks you from one end of Juneau to the other, was great. We stayed for 10 days--request 3rd floor, facing the mountains.

Room Tip: Third floor, facing the mountains is best view and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here for 5 days and was very comfortable. I choose this Hotel for walking convince to Downtown area. I was pleasantly surprised on how clean the rooms are and how friendly and knowledgeable staff are. The price is right. The Hotel provides a complementary shuttle to and from the Airport and Ferry. We arrived to the Airport and the shuttle was waiting for us. The driver was very knowledgeable on the City and was very helpful with our bags. I would recommend family and friends to The Driftwood Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very basic older 3 story hotel. non-smoking rm 117 overlooking parking lot and beautiful mountains, tub shower combo and tiny toilet area. Room we chose did not have fridge or micro. Grocery stores nearby. We stayed on first floor because of mobility problems. Physically fit could easily walk to tourist/cruise ships, restaurants and shops. Car parking in downtown area limited. Free hotel parking slots.
Office staff cordial and fine, rooms were clean. Very good popular restaurant at end of hotel.
Absolutely would stay there again, but would select room with fridge.
Parking lot guarded by chirping ravens and fun to watch.

Room Tip: Room 117 overlooked mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights before getting on a cruise ship. They had a free airport shuttle and even went back to the airport for me to collect my suitcase when it arrived on a later flight. There was free coffee and tea in reception and also in the room. It was unseasonably hot on 14-17 May 2014 and they brought a fan to our room to keep us cool. There was lots of hot water and a bath with shower over it. The breakfast was served in a cafe next door and was amazing in terms of choice and amount per portion! The downside was that we were on the second floor and there was no lift so we had to carry our suitcases up and down! Reception were really helpful with advice on where to go and where to eat in the town. Beds were company although decor a little dated. Excellent value for money though...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here for three nights to attend a conference. Very close to the conference center and a very short walk to the main downtown drag. Rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The only downside was that the WiFi was pretty shabby. Occasionally would work, but often not happening. Good breakfast place downstairs and a pretty basic 7-11 type store open late across the parking lot. Staff was super friendly, have a place where you can store luggage, and they were able to check me in at 1100am the day I arrived. They have a free shuttle, and it was on time and clean. Over all decent place if you are looking for lower price and convenience, and can do you WiFi in one of the nearby coffee shops.

Room Tip: Room above the office is closest to the WiFi signal, but you do get noise throughout the day and nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albatross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was in one of the un-renovated rooms, not suites. Also management has changed so things may be evolving. The location is great, downtown, plenty of uncovered parking (a problem in winter). The room appeared to be from the 60s and could use a facelift. There was no thermostat so one played with a dial located on the baseboard heater. There was a basic kitchen unit with stove, frig and microwave and so I saved a bunch by cooking, especially breakfast. The suites seemed quite spacious but many seemed to have longer term occupants. Grocery store one block over, convenience store basically on site, and a great breakfast/lunch place also on site. And the staff are friendly and helpful. It was also quiet at night.

Anyway, if you want a cheap comfortable room downtown, this is your place. If the new owners put some money into it, that would be nice, but I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Check if suites available and whether room is renovated or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btafalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.3 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: 435 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing