We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Juneau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Juneau
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Skagway, Alaska
1 review
“Above and beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I live in Southeastern Alaska and visits to Juneau previous to this one made me think that Juneau and its people might not be 'real' Alaskans. By 'real' I mean eager to talk, helpful beyond belief, concerned, considerate--by the time a brief conversation or business contact is done, one feels that they have made a great new friend who will remember them the next time they meet. Past experience, not so much in Juneau.

Not so when we stayed there June 16, 17 and 18 in 2014. Shuttle service picked us up from the ferry terminal more quickly than the other visits when we called a taxi. Shuttle was clean, driver quick to open doors, place steps for easy entry/exit, professional yet friendly and loaded all bags plus the wheelchair we were using for my husband. Each shuttle trip was the same with all drivers we encountered. The van was spotlessly clean inside and very comfortable.

Nicole, the desk person we encountered most throughout the day and part of the evening is a ROCK STAR. She was so very helpful, even using the hotel computer to make my return ferry reservation when the computer in the lobby would not cooperate with me. She was kind, friendly, had boundless energy and willing to do whatever she could do to help us navigate Juneau under difficult circumstances. There are not enough words to convey what a jewel this hotel has in Nicole and the rest of the crew that manned the desk and hotel while we were there.

Room? Spotless, yes the upholstered chairs for the table in the room were well used, but considering this hotel likely is full every night in tourist season, they were in good repair and clean.

We were in Juneau to have tests run to see if husband had lung cancer. Shuttle to and from appointments were vital and handled very well considering that the hotel's first priority is to get people to and from the airport and ferry terminal. We got everywhere on time as did the airport and ferry travelers I am sure.

People in Our Town in Southeast Alaska -- all 800 plus of us locals--recommend to each other and visitors the Super 8 in Juneau. Great bargain, wonderful staff, good basic rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    63
    112
    77
    80
See reviews for
101
70
86
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
860 reviews
476 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'd probably give this hotel 3 1/2 stars if I could. Four stars would suggest I'd actually "recommend it," which seems a bit of a stretch.

First, the property is fine. It's basically a decent budget hotel, but in Juneau -- especially in the summer -- "budget hotels" can be quite expensive. Don't expect to get your money's worth, at least compared to value in the Lower 48. That's impossible in Juneau, and you'll be disappointed. If you have points in the Wyndham Rewards program, I'd recommend you use them.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and that's a big plus. Manager Rachel went "above and beyond" to help us with a reservation problem, and we greatly appreciated it.

Rooms are of different sizes, but are generally large enough. Some rooms have useful refrigerators and microwaves, and some don't. Ask for an equipped room if you need it. Beds are OK, but not great. Rooms seem clean enough, but some of the furniture, especially the chairs, can look a bit gnarly.

The free breakfast is terrible, but that's generally the case in all Super 8's. You can make some toast, get a low quality packaged Danish, have some basic cereal, yogurt and fruit cup, and that's about it. After a day, you'll make other arrangements. Heck, in a pinch you can go next door to McDonalds. For a dollar, you can get a sausage biscuit that is, sadly, a zillion times better than the hotel's breakfast.

I like the location of the hotel -- especially if you have a car. It's basically within walking distance of the airport and is central to everything, especially shopping. The only thing the location is not ideal for is downtown, which is still only about 10 minutes away on a fast road. I didn't utilize it, but their free shuttle around town would certainly be useful if you didn't have a vehicle.

Bottomline, this is an acceptable place to stay, and you should certainly consider it. But it's nothing more than basic accommodations, so keep your expectations in check.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

With the switchover, poor breakfast service. Kid was on cell phone or not there. Glad he left supply door open to restock napkins, coffee cups, etc. I wiped off our table and counter tops, One evening about 8:39 pm, housekeeping (3 people) used their pass key attempting to enter our room, no knocking, no apology. Glad we used the security chain as usual. Computer problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Standard rooms, clean, and low-cost, free wi-fi. Convenient with free shuttle to and from the airport, ferry, and downtown (the website indicates there is a charge for this, but it’s free). Stop at the information desk at the airport and have them call the hotel. If the shuttle isn’t running, they’ll arrange for a taxi to collect you at their cost, pulling up and asking for you by name.

There’s a McDonald’s and a convenience store in the same parking lot and Fred Meyer is about a mile away, an easy walk on a path that runs parallel to Glacier Hwy. Hotel manager friendly and helpful. It’s great if you are on a layover or planning to visit Mendenhall. I left before breakfast opened at 6am, so can’t speak to that.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

While the hotel staff were nice, the noise that we experienced during our stay left us very tired and unrested... If you stay at this hotel DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT stay in room #122...this room is located next to an exit to the parking lot and boy every time the door closes it sounds like someone is coming into our room...and when people are up at 3:00 to catch ferries or flights from the airport, we hardly got any sleep. Plus the room has a window that looks at the dumpster, which they came before 8:00 to pick up trash and it sounded like someone was breaking through the wall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodiak5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
7.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Juneau - Shell Simmons Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Juneau
0.4 mi away
Frontier Suites Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Juneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Juneau

Property: Super 8 Juneau
Address: 2295 Trout Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Juneau 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Juneau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Juneau Hotel Juneau
Super Eight Juneau
Super 8 Hotel Juneau
Juneau Super Eight
Juneau Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing