We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful respite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Kasilof B&B and Inns
Medical Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

From entering the drive to watching the sunset and walking the beach this is a special sanctuary. Kathy is succeeding in every aspect of what a classy B&B should be. We were three ladies enjoying a driving tour around the Kenai Peninsula and elsewhere across the great state of Alaska. A second night would have been even more delightful but we were time constrained. You must consider staying at least one night with Kathy at Ocean Bluff B&B

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wil38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The veiw is breathtaking, the cabin is quiet and quaint and the bed is as good as it gets! We slept like new born pups and ate the food Kathy served (smoked salmon-cream cheese scrambled eegs with sourdough pancakes!) like hard run huskies. We stayed in three B&B's on our trip and this one outshined all others in all catagories.

Room Tip: Try to book the cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Kathy Carlile is one amazing woman! I've stayed at her B&B twice now and each time has and will be a memorable experience. She also bakes a mean cookie, just like mom makes! The first was for a Road Rally in 2010 and secondly in May 2012.
The bed was very comfy. If it was blustery outside she has a new TV to watch a movie or any photos you may have taken during the trip (has a USB port).
It's secluded enough to be quiet, yet close enough to Soldotna and Homer to use it as a home-base for Peninsula excursions.
Kathy is a joy to talk with and makes us feel at home and comfortable.
Now, THE VIEW!
On a clear day the active volcano plume of smoke can be easily seen with the naked eye. The B&B is poised on the cliff and one can carefully make their way down to the beach to run, walk, collect seashells etc.
For those who expected sourdough pancakes or any requests, Kathy would gladly hear what you would want and do her best to accommodate that. She not a mind reader but IS a mindful person.
If you are wanting a little sweet secluded spot the little cabin is AMAZINGLY quaint and quiet.
This last trip, my boyfriend is a writer, and he found it to be rejuvenating and just the relaxing and quiet place needed to let the words hit the page.

Room Tip: The cabin is secluded and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missiceblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Contrary to what this review states, my wife and I actually stayed at this B&B on 07/17/2010 - I simply procrastinated FAR too long in doing this review. We were only able to stay one night at Kathy's little cabin but it was AMAZING. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Kathy went above and beyond what you expect from a B&B by inviting us to have dinner with some of her friends the evening of our stay. She prepared two wonderful salmon dishes and a fresh salad hand picked from her garden. We stayed in the cabin not the main house and would highly recommend you do so if possible because the views are outstanding. We watched commercial fisherman drag in salmon from a little porch swing that they have set up bluff-side and that was time well spent. If you are a fan of flowers, you'll enjoy strolling her back yard because she appears to have quite the green thumb - we saw all sorts of unique blooms & flowers. The cabin was very clean and has a small kitchenette which is handy. Breakfast is served in the main house and it was great, especially cool for us because we got to meet some nice folks from Anchorage that were staying in the main house. I have nothing but good things to say about this little B&B and would not hesitate to spend a night or two there again if we get an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Pay the few extra dollars for the cabin, the view is WELL worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardens_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Lovely cabin on a cliff. You can see the sunset from the bed looking out over the inlet. The climb down to the waterside was unique but fun. The only disappointment was that breakfast was advertised to be fabulous sourdough pancakes which we had never had and were looking forward to. It turned out to be just french toast. Otherwise it was just as it looks on the website with pleasant hosts. Would stay there again if we are ever in that area. Highly recommend the cabin. Worth the minor extra cost. Very pleasant memory for our last night in Alaska.

Room Tip: Get the cabin on the cliff if you can. Cozy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at Ocean Bluff after having had it recommended by another couple we met on our trip. So happy we listened to them. Ocean Bluff is off the beaten path, about 30 minutes from Soldotna, so we had to commute to our day adventures while staying there, but it was well worth it. There is an amazing view of the ocean and Mt. Redoubt, easily enjoyed from the swing or by the fire. The bedrooms are large and the bed was so comfortable! The house is immaculately clean, cozy and cute with wilderness decor. Cathy was a perfect hostess. She is funny, sassy, and sweet. Just hanging out with her made the stay worth it. But she provided us with so much more, 2 delicious breakfasts at the house as well as a packed travelers breakfast for my husband when he had to leave early for fishing, which she had helped him book after selling him his fishing license. She also packaged and froze our fish for us. Great stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjacksonslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Ocean Bluff B&B is an amazing place to stay. The views are awesome and the cabin is gorgeous. Kathy is a great host, and the breakfasts are really yummy.

Definitely recommend Ocean Bluff B&B, it is charming, beautiful and very cozy with unbeatable views and right on the beach. One of the best places we stayed in Alaska!

deana from california

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanacalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasilof
13.3 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
5.5 mi away
Gallery Lodge
Gallery Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kasilof
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cabins on the Bluff
Cabins on the Bluff
#1 of 2 in Clam Gulch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
15.1 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kenai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Moose Is Inn
The Moose Is Inn
#2 of 2 in Clam Gulch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast
Address: 26445 South Cohoe Loop Road, Kasilof, AK 99610
Region: United States > Alaska > Kasilof
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kasilof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing