We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenai City Beach

Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Kenai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach offers great views of people fishing and the Kenai River.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place for a walk”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This beach is a nice place to take a stroll or do a little beachcombing. Most generally it is clean but avoid it during the dip netting season. Half the state of Alaska invades this area and trashes the whole area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great time experiences in Kenai, Seward, Anchorage, Alaska...”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Our family of 4 came to Anchorage, AK. for a family wedding in last July. This wedding/vacation turned out to a great experience time for who love to have a real great time in these areas... First, you should plan your time to be here in July because it is the best month for tourists. May and June, most of the time, weather is still cold, most of activities are still closed and/or very limited. Best way if you could rented a RV. - In this month, the road is ready safe for driving, very easy highways through out the state, lot of places, lot of attractions for you to stop to visit, to take pictures... I would said :"it is a one of the heaven on earth". Lot of RV.'s parks, so you can rest, enjoy your time, eat and go whenever you wish. Most of the parks and City Restroom areas provided hot water for shower with a small cost.
In Seward, ( It's about 2 and a half hour from Anchorage) July is the first month of the great season of the year that they have Fishing Tournaments(you could win up to thousands of dollars if you catch the fish with the tag with the amount of money on it!!!), all small cruises to watch Whales, see Glacier, water sports are started.
In Kenai, (just about an hour from Seward) it's the only best month for Alaska's Residents come here to net( not fish) the salmons... You can see thousand of dip-netters stand on both sides of the shore with big long net on hands, see how they net them, how they pull them up to shore to prepare them right on the beach(rules and regulations are applied AND like others Trip Advicer said, lot of trashes like fish heads with bones were left all over on beach), you can fill when holding a big freshy fish on your hands and you may tasted a real fresh salmon sushi from the people there.
As a tourist, love to travel like you, I would like to share what I had done, because I was really in it, I want you to enjoy like I did with the price you can offered. To me, travel is your life style, as your life style to enjoy your life. Too luxury travel will not be real fun as you think!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SpadinaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikiski, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of the dipnetters.”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I do like this beach because it does have sand for the kids to play on. I am disappointed with the lack of respect by the out of town dipnetters that seem to think it is a great place to toss their garbage. Glad to see that the City of Kenai is trying to rectify the problems they have

Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Dogs Loved IT”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A great place to give the dogs some running time. Avoid the sewage treatment plant area. The wind usually keeps the smell at bay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank boomee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch the Salmon Dip Netters”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

When the red salmon arrive, this is the place to be for dip-netters. Only Alaskan residents can participate, but it sure is fun to watch! When the dip-netters are not there, it's a greta place to walk.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank LucyLou50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kenai City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing