We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fun I've had since I was a kid!”
Review of Bear Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Camp
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Kenai
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just spent a night at Bear Camp---offered by Great Alaskan Adventure Lodge. I can honestly say it was one of my favorite parts of a 3 week visit to Alaska. The 6 passenger airplane flight in was beautiful. The plane lands on the beach right in front of the camp. There were 8 tent/cabins with hardwood floors built on a platform, with twin beds, table, washbasin, and little heater. In the center is the dining tent where meals are served family style. Yes there are outhouses! It is called bear CAMP! There were just 3 couples there when we were there, plus 3 guys working on a Disney documentary. Our guide was fantastic---and very brave. She calmly stood guard as bears passed by just a few yards away, as we madly took pictures! We saw quite a few bears but not as many as those coming a little later will see. The salmon were just beginning to show up. (mid-July) The food was great, the people were great-- I guess that's why they call it Great Alaskan Adventures! Hope to do it again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We visited The Camp in August 2012 close to the end of the season. The experience was magnificent.Flights in and out were fantastic. The accommodation comfortable. The staff were excellent and the experience of watching bears close up in their own environment was memorable.
Even when our departure was delayed by tides the staff made great efforts to facilitate our forward plans,
The main purpose of course was to see bears. This we did!!
A truly memorable experienc to be highly recommended

Room Tip: Just go. The weatherport tents are comfortable The experience is unforgettable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

I booked a one-night stay at Bear Camp as a part of our Alaskan trip to celebrate my parent's 50th anniversary. There were four family members in our group with ages ranging from 48 to 76. Bear Camp is a part of the Great Alaska Adventure Lodge.

We arrived at Bear Camp in the late August 2007. The camp shut down for the season on 01 September. The camp is located in a remote, coastal region within Lake Clark National Park. We arrived by a small 6-passenger plane. In addition to the 4 persons in our group, there was a middle-aged couple from Arizona along with the two Bear Camp staff members.

As we were flying over the camp on our approach, we could see many bears below in the shallows of the bay. Once we touched down, we were shown to our tents, given an orientation, and served dinner. Then it was off to view bears.

There's a viewing platform closely located behind the camp. This is an easy, short, flat walk. We were able to see three to four bears either below us in the river fishing for salmon or in the meadow across the river. There was more bear activity in the bay. Due to the low tide, bears were having greater success fishing in the shallow waters. Those reluctant to view bears without a platform and those who didn't want to walk about a mile down the beach stayed at the viewing platform with one guide. The rest of us took off with the second guide. This was a rush, as we were able to watch the various fishing techniques used by the bears. We saw two mothers with their cubs and many bears fishing solo. At one time I was able to count 15 bears in our viewing area. Distances ranged from perhaps 20 yards to 200 yards. It was amazing.

Negatives to Bear Camp.....the toilet (outhouse) is pretty nasty. They have magazines hanging on the door for your reading pleasure although none of us could figure out why. This isn't a place you want to spend idle time. If you have a great fear of bears, this might not be the place for you. I felt totally at ease; however at least one member of the overnighters was never able to relax and enjoy the experience. While the surroundings are beautiful, the opportunity to see bears should be the only reason to make this trip.

Positives to Bear Camp....if you want to see brown bears, this is a great place for the experience. Bear Camp offers overnight and day trip ventures. Personally overnighting seems the only way to go. It gives a much better opportunity to see bears. The tents are comfortable with good bedding. Meals were satisfying but nothing fancy.

Among all four of us, Bear Camp was a highlight to the trip. The silvers were running and bears were plentiful. If bear viewing ranks highly on your list of things to do in Alaska, Bear Camp should receive serious consideration.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BUBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank marielleLorgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenai hotels
0 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
0 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
0 mi away
AllSeasons Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
0 mi away
Eagle Rock Lodge
Eagle Rock Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kenai
12 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#4 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Camp

Address: 33881 Sterling Hwy, Kenai, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Kenai
Also Known As:
Bear Camp Alaska/Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing