We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look forward to going back to the lodge!”
Review of Tower Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Look forward to going back to the lodge!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My trip was a great experience. I can´t wait to go back. Mike and Mark Tuhy were excellent hosts. The staff was ever so accomodating. And the guides were great guys and very knoweldgeable. I really enjoyed the facilities and the opportunity to fish "at will" even after a good day on the water. The atmosphere was laid back without being unattentive. And although the fish were not always obliging, Mike and his crew did everything they could to put us in the best circumstances to get the big one. The place lived up to its billing.

Room Tip: I stayed in the lodge, which was just fine. I think, however, that the cabins are a little roomier a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    2
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
31
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Lodge was outstanding, staff were great. Look out for Mike and Mark (twins) playing tricks on you to get you mixed up with who is who. The guides were awesome as well, very knowledgable and fun. If you are going to Alaska for some fishing, DEFINITELY recommend this Lodge!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

awesome! highly recommend. my son and I had a father and son fishing trip of a lifetime. My son when asked about the trip tells others that it was a trip of a lifetime. We had something planned every day and with the help of the great staff at Tower Rock Lodge and their excellent guides we slept very well ever night despite the sun going down late and coming up early! this was truly a well organized lodge that served great meals and catered to the guests staying there from all over the United States when we were there. needless to say the staff and guides were well versed in all areas. it was truly a trip to remember!

Room Tip: just remember the sun sets late and rises early so be prepared to stay busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank evan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

i booked this trip for husband's 50 th Birthday present and I had just as much fun! The team made sure everyone was busy catching fish, eating wonderful meals ( Chef Tommy is outstanding!) and owner Mike and his team of professional fishing guides were always on the scout for the best fishing experiences you can get. with a staff of experienced guides who are always present, you never get bored with the Alaskan fish and hunting stories. These guys wanted every guest to catch! ( coming home with 120 lbs of sockeye, silvers and halibut filet) What is especially nice is that they provide everything; all equipment raingear, waders, rods, reels, etc. All we had to do was show up! Special thanks to guides Bubba, Burner, D-Money,Joe, Dan, and Big Game, who showed particular kindness and patience to a few elderly guest in their 80's. You guys made them feel special, I'm sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Tower Rock Lodge is cause for celebration: Everything about it is absolutely wonderful!

I turned 70 last spring. At my birthday party, my wife presented me with a card with this message: "My present to you, love, is the fishing trip of your dreams. Pick it out, and it is yours."

After doing extensive research, I chose the Orvis Ultimate Fishing Trip at the Tower Rock Lodge. I arrived with expectations on stilts, and the good folks at Tower Rock Lodge more than fulfilled my high hopes. Mike & Mark Tuhy (the twin brothers who own and mange the loge) bend over backwards to make certain you have a great time. Want to customize your fishing trips? No problem: You state your request, and they make it happen! The entire staff is awesome. The fishing guides are"terrific" -- as in absolutely first rate. Joe, Burner, D-$, and Bubba know their business. They put you on fish, and when you mess up a cast and make a gordian knot of the line and leader, they display enough patience and good cheer to qualify for sainthood. Moreover, the chief and the serving staff are outstanding. The food is delicious and plentiful, hands down the best I have eaten in any lodge, and the wines are excellent and perfectly matched with the cuisine. Alexis (great gal) and the other women who serve you are unfailingly pleasant, helpful and efficient. Finally, the lodge and the cabins are spotless -- and the cleaning staff makes certain you have everything you need to be comfortable. I stepped on my glasses in the dark one evening, and Alexis took them into town, got them repaired and I wore them the next morning. In short, these folks do their best to keep you on the water, with a big smile on your face.

Day in and day out, the fish stole the show. They hit like freight trains and fought like lions. I caught halibut, trout, dollies, and sockeye salmon until my arms ached. Trust me: You have not lived until you catch a 10 lb. sockeye on a fly rod! Fun! Fun! Fun!

To all the good folks at Tower Rock Lodge: Thank you, thank you very much, indeed.

To my wife: You succeeded! Castle Rock Lodge was the best fishing trip of my life. I always will be glad and grateful I got to fish there.

Room Tip: If possible stay in the cabins, they are really nice. That said, the rooms in the Lodge are terrifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

On a last minute trip, we managed to work in two fine days at Tower Rock. It was superb. The flyout to Crescent Lake was magnificent (and Joe is among the finest guides ever!). Everything was well oiled and lots of fun. The staff were terrific and the location was beautiful. We had a great time fishing, enjoyed the company and loved the lodge. All in all a perfect way to get my wife to love fishing. Even though she was doing me a favor by going, she now counts the place as among her favorite places ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having recently returned from my sixth season fishing at Tower Rock Lodge, I find myself eagerly making arrangements for next year. The accommodations at the lodge are pleasant and comfortable. In fact, my wife came for the first time this year and she enjoyed her stay at the lodge much to my amazement and delight. Alexis and her cleaning staff go above and beyond the call of duty to meet your every need. The meals are delicious and they are more than willing to cater to everyone’s tastes. Mike and Mark Tuhy and the guides make your fishing experience a trip of a lifetime. They are eager to see that each guest has an experience he will remember. I’ve caught Silvers, Sockeyes, Dollys , Rainbows, and Halibut on the various guided trips. Each day the fishing schedule is posted in the dining hall depending on local fishing reports. The shoreline in front of the lodge is excellent for ripping for Reds, Silvers and Pinks depending on the time of the year. There is much opportunity to meet guests from all walks of life who enjoy discussing their day’s experiences after dinner. A real treat this year was a moose and her two calves grazing on the property. When you leave to pick up your fish from the processor and head toward Anchorage for the plane ride home, you realize that your fantastic fishing adventure has come to an end. However, you depart with lasting memories and dreams of returning again next year.
Thank you TLR

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenai
4.1 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
73 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
3.9 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
39 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
5.6 mi away
Beluga Lookout Lodge & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Rock Lodge

Property: Tower Rock Lodge
Address: 38156 Woods Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-5930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kenai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Rock is an ORVIS Endorsed Lodge that posses the best value and variety for the ultimate Alaskan fishing adventure. Kick back and enjoy fly-fishing for big rainbows and dolly's or join forces with the bears for ocean-fresh salmon in a float-plane. Fish for the infamous Kenai King Salmon or perhaps coax a 350lb. halibut to your barbecue! We are a full service lodge with the finest dining and accommodations on the Kenai River! We look forward to seeing you soon up here in the great state of Alaska! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower Rock Lodge Alaska/Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing