We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quiet and private setting”
Review of Red Cabin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Cabin B&B
Ranked #4 of 10 Kenai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a wonderful place to stay on the Kenai with the best hosts we could have hoped for. We stayed in the smaller cabin and couldn't believe it was not brand new. Everything was very comfy and sparkling clean. The fridge was fully stocked with all we could desire for our breakfast. John and Jacquie are the ultimate host and hostess. Our first night we were invited up to their big house on the hill for a most delicious halibut supper, where we felt so comfortable. Jacquie made it a point to bring us a couple of the biggest and best blueberry muffins each evening we were there. I couldn't imagine a more welcoming pair of hosts who always seemed so happy to accommodate our every desire. We didn't see the resident moose in the area, but only because we either weren't awake early enough or in the shower when she made her appearance. We did see lots of other moose while poking around the Kenai. We're anxious to return in a couple years to enjoy the beauty of Alaska and comfort of the Red Cabin again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Red Cabin. We are working with the local moose population to be more accommodating and visit each cabin each day. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were greeted by John and Jacquie and immediately felt at ease with them. I had told them it was my birthday and they invited us to their house for desert and a cake with candle in it. The smaller cabin we had booked was a good size with a verandah, ideal for an overnight stop. All breakfast requirements where in the fridge to cook ourselves in the morning. There was enough for a small army. The visit was made all the more special because of the friendly dogs and helping feed the horses and of course the hosts. The location was easy for us to find because I had good instructions but I can understand how some guests could get lost finding it. We took something for our supper because we knew when we got settled we wouldn't want to go looking for a restaurant and Jacqui had advised us there was a barbeque for guests to use. Over-all a great stay and we reluctantly left the next morning.

Room Tip: We found the smaller cabin was ample big enough for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

So sorry you couldn't stay longer. Birthdays are special, the more you have, the older you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My son and I had the pleasure of staying with John & Jacquie in the large cabin in late July & early August ’12. Our trip was a ‘billed’ as a high school graduation trip for my son, but I was anxious to experience Alaska’s beauty and the highly touted halibut & salmon fishing.

When we arrived, we found Red Cabin very clean and stocked with everything you can imagine for breakfast. We had actually stopped at a Fred Meyer on the way down for a few breakfast items; wish we hadn’t... After we got settled, the Steckel’s came down for a meet & greet. They found out our plans were mainly to go fishing during our visit. Since rain was in the forecast, John asked if we had good rain gear since the halibut boats will get you quite wet and fishy. After I responded in an unsure manner, John was quick to offer up rubberized coats, overalls, and boots from the barn. We took him up on it and it saved our trip. John & Jacquie stopped by periodically and check to make sure everything was going well & took time out of their schedules to assist or offer suggestions. John even turned a couple of rookies into experienced fish processors too. This same willing to help but never interfering hospitality continued throughout our stay. Another of the unexpected highlights of our stay was a dinner at their house. A wonder meal, fantastic view, and great conversation with our new friends.

After returning home and recapping our entire trip, my son’s comment was the Red Cabin stay was a great choice and one of the overall highlights. The Steckel’s were great hosts and we will be returning! I only wish there were more than 5-stars available for rating as the Steckel’s certainly deserve them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

John and Jackie were great host. They provided great breakfasts and local knowledge of the area for site seeing and fishing. We went salmon fishing several days and halibot fishing two days. We saw several moose on our jouneys, also, eagles and otters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in the smaller of the two red cabins and loved it. We have visited several B&Bs and this is definitely at the top of our list. Our favorite things were the beautiful setting, the privacy of a cabin, the breakfast in the fridge to make how and when we desired, and the utmost hospitality from our hosts. The small cabin has a kitchenette (micro, no oven), bathroom, heat, TV, telephone. Absolute value for money. Would have stayed longer. Will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I had the oppurtunity to stay at Red Cabin during the middle of July. The property is beautiful, the surroundings peaceful, and the hosts beyond gracious. The cabin was extremely clean and fully stocked with lot's of great breakfast foods (make sure you try the bacon), coffee, juice, fresh fruit and great fresh muffins.

Both John and Jacquie went out of their way to make my group feel welcome and well taken care of. I never felt like I was treated like a guest, more like a friend that had stopped by for a visit.

The property is convenienty located in the heart of the Kenai Peninsula, is easy to get to, located close to shopping and restaurants, but removed enough that you really get a sense of Alaska. In fact, on clear days, you can see across Cook Inlet to Mt. Redoubt.

If I ever get the chance to visit the Kenai area of Alaska again, the only place I would consider staying is at Red Cabin B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Red Cabin is just far enough off the beaten path for a quiet country setting, while being only 10-15 minutes from Kenai or Soldotna. We stayed in the larger cabin. It was clean, well maintained and well stocked with a variety of breakfast foods including a great fresh fruit bowl.

The owners John & Jacquie were quite knowledgeable about the area and happy to tell you what there is to see & do. Things to do on your own include restaurants, shopping, fishing, hiking, glacier, bear & moose viewing, historical sites and witness traditional dip net salmon fishing. Commercial activities such as flight seeing, whale watching fiord tours & charter fishing are also available.

You will not be disappointed with Red Cabin B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenai hotels
5.7 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
6 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AllSeasons Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#4 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eagle Rock Lodge
Eagle Rock Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kenai
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cabin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cabin B&B

Address: 44392 Carver Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-6727
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenai
Price Range: £95 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cute and cozy cabins on 20 private acres. We offer convenience and privacy during your stay on the Kenai peninsula. Owners are lifetime Alaskans and we would love to share our "little piece of heaven" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Cabin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cabin B&B Alaska/Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing