We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Cabin B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cabin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Cabin B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Kenai B&B and Inns
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Red Cabin B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Found this property on TA and was very pleased with the choice. We stayed four nights and it served us very well as our base to roam around the Kenai peninsular. We had the larger cabin and can't compare it to the smaller one as we did not go in it. The breakfast items were great as Jackie had stocked the fridge and pantry very well. Only thing missing was decaf coffee, which we were to discover during our three week trip, we never found it at any of the B & B's at which we stayed. Must be an Alaska thing. The location is off the beaten path, but a lovely setting. If he weather permits, which it didn't very much for us, the distant mountains are beautiful. The hosts are very nice and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in the smaller of the two cabins and it was clean but very small even for two. The bed was comfortable for one person but when my husband got in with me I felt like I was sleeping on a hill. My back hurt for several days. No sink in the bathroom so you have to brush your teeth, wash face, etc. in the small kitchen.
The owners were very nice and it is in a good location. I am sure the larger cabin is more comfortable and the price was not that different. I would not recommend the smaller cabin for more than two people and not for more than a few days.

Room Tip: Stay in the larger cabin for a few extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Yes, Annex cabin is definitely smaller! When we remodeled it from an office to an efficiency, there was room for only one sink. We would have given the guests a partial refund at the time if they had given us their feedback. We've never had complaints about the queen mattress, but will evaluate and replace it if needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I'm not sure what we can add to the already excellent reviews. We had the smaller cabin. It felt homey, like we had our own little fishing cabin in the woods. There are horses next to the cabins, and there are shady trees and purple fireweed. It's so much nicer than staying at a sterile hotel! The kitchen was fully stocked with breakfast items. The hosts, Jacquie and John, had just come back from fishing in the morning and when they found that we hadn't planned dinner, gave us a huge piece of halibut from their morning catch. They explained how to cook it by enclosing it in aluminum foil, adding some oil, garlic, and whatever else you want and cook for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. There is a barbecue right outside the cabin, and the fish came out perfect! We had a memorable stay! There is wifi, and for electronic gadget people like us, lots of electrical outlets in the bedroom. The only thing I wasn't fond of was the queen bunkbed. It was a little hard to get in and out of. But that's minor. I felt like we had a true Alaska experience and a new recipe to use when we get home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for your post. The only thing better than eating fresh halibut, is catching it yourself. We always enjoy sharing Alaska's bounty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for three nights in July 2013 and enjoyed our time in this little oasis. The annex was clean and comfortable and well stocked with breakfast choices. Our hosts were friendly and had good information. We were treated to a wonderful dinner with an equally wonderful view. We would not hesitate to recommend the Red Cabin to anyone looking for a nice place to stay outside of the main towns of Soldotna and Kenai but not too far to get there quickly. An added bonus were those lovey dovey doggies:) Thanks John and Jacquie!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fifidudedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
What can we say, our dogs are friendly and seem to enjoy each and every visitor. We have had several offers to pack up "Sandy" and take her back home. Thank you for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a wonderful place to stay on the Kenai with the best hosts we could have hoped for. We stayed in the smaller cabin and couldn't believe it was not brand new. Everything was very comfy and sparkling clean. The fridge was fully stocked with all we could desire for our breakfast. John and Jacquie are the ultimate host and hostess. Our first night we were invited up to their big house on the hill for a most delicious halibut supper, where we felt so comfortable. Jacquie made it a point to bring us a couple of the biggest and best blueberry muffins each evening we were there. I couldn't imagine a more welcoming pair of hosts who always seemed so happy to accommodate our every desire. We didn't see the resident moose in the area, but only because we either weren't awake early enough or in the shower when she made her appearance. We did see lots of other moose while poking around the Kenai. We're anxious to return in a couple years to enjoy the beauty of Alaska and comfort of the Red Cabin again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reidar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Red Cabin. We are working with the local moose population to be more accommodating and visit each cabin each day. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were greeted by John and Jacquie and immediately felt at ease with them. I had told them it was my birthday and they invited us to their house for desert and a cake with candle in it. The smaller cabin we had booked was a good size with a verandah, ideal for an overnight stop. All breakfast requirements where in the fridge to cook ourselves in the morning. There was enough for a small army. The visit was made all the more special because of the friendly dogs and helping feed the horses and of course the hosts. The location was easy for us to find because I had good instructions but I can understand how some guests could get lost finding it. We took something for our supper because we knew when we got settled we wouldn't want to go looking for a restaurant and Jacqui had advised us there was a barbeque for guests to use. Over-all a great stay and we reluctantly left the next morning.

Room Tip: We found the smaller cabin was ample big enough for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
So sorry you couldn't stay longer. Birthdays are special, the more you have, the older you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

My son and I had the pleasure of staying with John & Jacquie in the large cabin in late July & early August ’12. Our trip was a ‘billed’ as a high school graduation trip for my son, but I was anxious to experience Alaska’s beauty and the highly touted halibut & salmon fishing.

When we arrived, we found Red Cabin very clean and stocked with everything you can imagine for breakfast. We had actually stopped at a Fred Meyer on the way down for a few breakfast items; wish we hadn’t... After we got settled, the Steckel’s came down for a meet & greet. They found out our plans were mainly to go fishing during our visit. Since rain was in the forecast, John asked if we had good rain gear since the halibut boats will get you quite wet and fishy. After I responded in an unsure manner, John was quick to offer up rubberized coats, overalls, and boots from the barn. We took him up on it and it saved our trip. John & Jacquie stopped by periodically and check to make sure everything was going well & took time out of their schedules to assist or offer suggestions. John even turned a couple of rookies into experienced fish processors too. This same willing to help but never interfering hospitality continued throughout our stay. Another of the unexpected highlights of our stay was a dinner at their house. A wonder meal, fantastic view, and great conversation with our new friends.

After returning home and recapping our entire trip, my son’s comment was the Red Cabin stay was a great choice and one of the overall highlights. The Steckel’s were great hosts and we will be returning! I only wish there were more than 5-stars available for rating as the Steckel’s certainly deserve them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenai
6.0 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
5.3 mi away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#3 of 5 in Kenai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.6 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cabin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cabin B&B

Property: Red Cabin B&B
Address: 44392 Carver Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-6727
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cute and cozy cabins on 20 private acres. We offer convenience and privacy during your stay on the Kenai peninsula. Owners are lifetime Alaskans and we would love to share our "little piece of heaven" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Cabin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cabin B&B Alaska/Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing