We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Red Cabin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Cabin B&B
Ranked #5 of 10 Kenai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Haven't been back to Alaska since living in Anchorage in the late 80's. The Red Cabin reminded me of the good things from that time. Friendly but not intrusive hosts, rural farm-like setting and the cabin comfortably out-fitted. Planned on staying one night and when my wife and I met the hosts and saw the accommodations extended the stay an extra night. If you like being away from the hustle and bustle and the run of the mill hotel/motels in the Kenai area, book this place - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmansurfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

John and Jackie at Red Cabin were awesome! We came here for part of our honeymoon and it was the firs time we have ever stayed at a B & B and boy were we happy! John and Jackie were so friendly and outgoing. They took us horseback riding, offered to take us fishing, and invited us up to their house for coffee and banana bread. We stayed in the larger cabin and we loved it. We had a great view of the horses, had our own outdoor grill, and our own little cabin getaway.

We are planning to go back to Alaska next year and will be definitely staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you, we enjoyed having you visit the Red Cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

After the glowing reviews here, we stayed here last summer. We rented the larger cabin. A few things put me off....so it is breakfast....as long as you are wiling to cook it yourself. They give you the fixings, and the cabin has a small kitchen, but I don't stay at a B&B to cook my own B. Getting to the cabin you drive through a "colorful" neighborhood let's call it. And ultimately, it is not particularly close to anything. The other thing is the sleeping...it is basically a bed on the floor level, and then another bunk bed above it. So we slept on the floor bed. The cabin was clean enough, the hosts pleasant enough, but me and the wife agreed that next time we would look for something a little more interesting or at least accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowdyrutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

It's our desire to make guests happy and comfortable at our cabins. YEP, parts of our neighborhood are beyond repair, and one must drive past them to get here. We are not one of the "colorful" residences...and try to maintain grounds and structures in a clean and tidy fashion.
We will try to be as exacting and forthright in our descriptions/pictures of our place on our website. There's a clear picture of the bunk bed, which has a new (2013) firm queen mattress on top, another queen mattress underneath it on the floor. This bottom bed is designed for kids/families and fishermen.
I understand that folks don't want to cook for themselves, and we agree that our place may not be your first choice to stay if you fall into this category. Our reasoning for not cooking for guests is that we have a wide variety of folks - many get up at 3 AM to fish, many sleep late, some have food allergies etc. However, we provide generously for any food requests we get. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Found this property on TA and was very pleased with the choice. We stayed four nights and it served us very well as our base to roam around the Kenai peninsular. We had the larger cabin and can't compare it to the smaller one as we did not go in it. The breakfast items were great as Jackie had stocked the fridge and pantry very well. Only thing missing was decaf coffee, which we were to discover during our three week trip, we never found it at any of the B & B's at which we stayed. Must be an Alaska thing. The location is off the beaten path, but a lovely setting. If he weather permits, which it didn't very much for us, the distant mountains are beautiful. The hosts are very nice and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in the smaller of the two cabins and it was clean but very small even for two. The bed was comfortable for one person but when my husband got in with me I felt like I was sleeping on a hill. My back hurt for several days. No sink in the bathroom so you have to brush your teeth, wash face, etc. in the small kitchen.
The owners were very nice and it is in a good location. I am sure the larger cabin is more comfortable and the price was not that different. I would not recommend the smaller cabin for more than two people and not for more than a few days.

Room Tip: Stay in the larger cabin for a few extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Yes, Annex cabin is definitely smaller! When we remodeled it from an office to an efficiency, there was room for only one sink. We would have given the guests a partial refund at the time if they had given us their feedback. We've never had complaints about the queen mattress, but will evaluate and replace it if needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I'm not sure what we can add to the already excellent reviews. We had the smaller cabin. It felt homey, like we had our own little fishing cabin in the woods. There are horses next to the cabins, and there are shady trees and purple fireweed. It's so much nicer than staying at a sterile hotel! The kitchen was fully stocked with breakfast items. The hosts, Jacquie and John, had just come back from fishing in the morning and when they found that we hadn't planned dinner, gave us a huge piece of halibut from their morning catch. They explained how to cook it by enclosing it in aluminum foil, adding some oil, garlic, and whatever else you want and cook for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. There is a barbecue right outside the cabin, and the fish came out perfect! We had a memorable stay! There is wifi, and for electronic gadget people like us, lots of electrical outlets in the bedroom. The only thing I wasn't fond of was the queen bunkbed. It was a little hard to get in and out of. But that's minor. I felt like we had a true Alaska experience and a new recipe to use when we get home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for your post. The only thing better than eating fresh halibut, is catching it yourself. We always enjoy sharing Alaska's bounty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for three nights in July 2013 and enjoyed our time in this little oasis. The annex was clean and comfortable and well stocked with breakfast choices. Our hosts were friendly and had good information. We were treated to a wonderful dinner with an equally wonderful view. We would not hesitate to recommend the Red Cabin to anyone looking for a nice place to stay outside of the main towns of Soldotna and Kenai but not too far to get there quickly. An added bonus were those lovey dovey doggies:) Thanks John and Jacquie!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifidudedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedCabin, Owner at Red Cabin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

What can we say, our dogs are friendly and seem to enjoy each and every visitor. We have had several offers to pack up "Sandy" and take her back home. Thank you for your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenai
5.9 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
10.2 mi away
Escape For Two
Escape For Two
#2 of 12 in Soldotna
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
5.2 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
9.9 mi away
Blonde Bear Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cabin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cabin B&B

Address: 44392 Carver Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-6727
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kenai
Price Range: £96 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cute and cozy cabins on 20 private acres. We offer convenience and privacy during your stay on the Kenai peninsula. Owners are lifetime Alaskans and we would love to share our "little piece of heaven" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Cabin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cabin B&B Alaska/Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing