We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome view and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flats Bistro

The Flats Bistro
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Flats Bistro is owned and operated by local born-and-raised Alaskan couple Luke and Naomi Thibodeau. The menu was designed by two Le Cordon Bleu graduates and features fresh, local ingredients, made in house whenever possible. The Flats takes reservations and also saved half of the tables for walk-ins every night.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome view and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were walk ups and were able to be seated immediately on a Saturday night so we were please to start with. The tables for two were quite small. We were seated in the back by the bar in a low table and felt a little closed in. The server was quite nice. We were disappointed because there were no fried pickles--in fact we asked were they dill and the answer was we don't have any.??? The food arrived in a very timely manner. The cheese and Mac was awesome. I ordered the bacon wrapped pork tenderloin and my husband ordered the NY steak. Mine was great the portions were just the right size. My husband on the other hand was tough. He ordered rare and got more of a medium rare. His potatoes were not good. He was so disappointed. We didn't do dessert as the choice was very limited. We will go back after they are open a little longer to give the chefs time to get settled in. The wine list is great.

On the other hand, this is the nicest place we have eaten at in Kenai. The decor is great, the atmosphere is wonderful and the view is awesome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherryk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

July 17 Dinner- without a reservation. Very helpful in offering options as it was full. Wonderfully attentive service. Food came out in a timely manner and was delicious. I had the fish & chips, subbing for the Parmesan fries and my husband had the salmon & wild rice. Save room for the peanut butter brownie sundae with a drizzle of salted caramel. They've only been open about a month but there was a nice mix of locals & travelers. (We're from the east coast.) While the menu seemed best for adults, the 2 and 4 year olds behind us were happily chowing down. We hope to return to try something else.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Wanted to like this place. New, nice atmosphere. To start with, we showed up for our reservation and had to wait 20 minutes to get seated. We were a party of 6, four of us ordered burgers. It took one hour for our food to show up, and when it did the servers had no clue what was what. They were totally guessing about what burger was medium, med-well, etc. The food was bad. Completely charred and flavorless. When we complained we were told they had taken the 3 apps and 2 burgers off the bill. We only ordered 1 app, the other 2 they had brought out because we waited so long to be seated. Not much of a comp when they take off something you weren't paying for in the first place. Prices are high. Burgers are 13 dollars. Almost everything on the menu is 20-22 dollars. I will be surprised if this place makes it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank graydogMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Ruben!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a Ruben snob and this was awesome!! I'd heard the potion sizes were small but that wasn't the case!! Service was great and the view speaks for itself!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ak24ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A great new restaurant with a fabulous view of the Kenai flats where caribou are often seen. The homemade bratwurst was just as good as the bratwurst we have back home from the PA Dutch....amazing. The restaurant decor was very tasteful and upscale. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank advtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flats Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Flats Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing