We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in the Soldotna Area”
Review of The Flats Bistro

The Flats Bistro
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Flats Bistro is owned and operated by local born-and-raised Alaskan couple Luke and Naomi Thibodeau. The menu was designed by two Le Cordon Bleu graduates and features fresh, local ingredients, made in house whenever possible. The Flats takes reservations and also saved half of the tables for walk-ins every night.
California
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best meal in the Soldotna Area”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This restaurant's mailing address is in Kenai, but it's only a few miles from Soldotna, where many people come to fish and/or enjoy the outdoors. If you're not into fast food or pub food, drive the few miles and enjoy lovely salads, appetizers and entrees. The food is fresh, healthy, and delicious. There is a beautiful view of the Kenai River Delta. This place is new, so service is a little uneven. Nevertheless, come here for a meal thats fresh and local in a beautiful setting. Full bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    41
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seward, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view, nice restaurant”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wanted to have a nice dinner with my cousins before we departed from AK. We had a wonderful window view and our waitress was fabulous. Wine and beer selections were nice. Limited menu but all our food was fantastic. Had an appetizer and dessert as well. Made for a very nice evening. My cousins (who are local) will be back along with their friends. We made reservations online and didn't have to wait. Glad we did as it got quite crowded!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At least it was a nice view”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our waitress showed no enthusiasm or interest in our company. She walked by our table several times and failed to ask us how we were doing or if we needed anything. Our waitress forgot to put our order which made us have to wait another twenty minutes. We waited over 15 minutes for a refill on our three beers. The pot pie was burnt and flavorless. The pork ragu was also flavorless. Fish and chips were average. The steak came with steak fries and our waitress never asked if I wanted steak sauce or condiments. We are local customers and have been waiting to try this restaurant and were quite frankly disappointed in the service and some of the food. We will give it another shot maybe in a couple months.

On a positive note, she gave us free dessert for all the hassles. The chocolate cake was decent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girdwood, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant near Kenai River”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Flats Bistro is a new restaurant in Kenai. It is located on Kalifornsky Beach Road not far from the Kenai River. They have outdoor seating with a great view. They have great beer on tap from local breweries and a good wine selection. Their food menu is limited. I have tried most of their appetizers and a couple dinners. All the food is very good but some of the portions are on the small side. It is a good place to go to have a appetizer/dinner and a couple drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of a kind and Unique”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I travel a lot and we avoid chain restaurants like the plague. We are always trying to find unique kind local places and the Flats is definitely that kind of place. With it's local brews and local cuisine and beautiful location it's definitely a must place on the Kenai

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flats Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Flats Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing