We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My 3 sons, and favorite brother celebrated my birthday at Jimmie Jack's lodge. Jimmie and staff made our trip worry free. From driving directions to the right fishing equipment, Jimmie Jacks thought of everything. Salmon were not running on the Kenai, but Lisa arranged for a float plane fly out where we caught of limit of salmon. We loved our adventure, "it was a moment in time" for all of us. We will be back.

Dana George

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

It was our first fishing trip to Alaska.

On reflection, I would prefer to have stayed in a more picturesque location. We didn't think about this enough. Kenai is strictly a fishing town located at the point of a flat land peninsula. I would have preferred more scenery.

The lodge manager/cook was very sweet and thoughtful. We ate just fine and everything was kept tidy and neat in our room.

Out room was a block away from the lodge and coastline. We had absolutely no view. Our cabin was on a dirt road that was quite dusty. Our cabin had no chairs inside on which to sit. The rooms had bunk beds that swayed very threateningly. The bathroom had mosquitos and was initially damp.

Room Tip: I think this would be a good trip if all you were interested in was fishing. It wouldn't be a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmiJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I thank this guest for the review. It is great to hear that our lodge manager/cook was very sweet and thoughtful, and that everything was kept neat and tidy in your room. We have put a sofa love seat in this cabin to provide more comfortable seating. Our initial set up with the Miner’s Cabin was to make it more of an authentic rustic Alaskan cabin. We have many who love it, and some who want more comfort. We listened and put a sofa in it, but we still have the log furniture rocking chairs on the front porch for that backwoods feel!
We have also tightened up the bunk beds, and will be checking these more often. Oh the mosquitoes…this was the worst year ever for mosquitoes in 30 years! The weather in Kenai was unusually warm in June and July, reaching into the 80’s. This breeds mosquitoes. At one point, not a store had bug repellent. We did stock up and distribute the repellent, and hope that we don’t have bugs like that in the future.
Most of Alaska’s side roads are dusty, and all we can do is keep cleaning. We always focus on cleanliness here at JJF, and again a dry and warm summer gave us some new challenges. We will keep on cleaning, and checking that things stay clean. Thanks again for a good and honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I visited my daughter this past september who is stationed at Elmindorf and she scheduled a 4 hour silver salmon trip with Jimmie Jacks. We had a Most Excellent time and will be returning again. We were very happy with Captain Big Jim who made the trip very comfortable, pleasurable and safe. We are hoping we can make a special request that he be our captain again. Big Jim was very knowledgable of the Kenai and was a very patient and successful fishing teacher/guide as we caught five nice silver salmon that we had processed and shipped home. Not to mention Big Jim's secret salmon grilling recipe, Delish!

Thank you Jimmie Jack for a Great Time! We will see y'all next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nelsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Outstanding trip. We did two days for halibut and one day on the Kenai. The Kenai is all about timing and the fish weren't there but the halibut fishing was non-stop. You could catch your limit in no time. The cabin we stayed in was very nice. Colleen and Lisa did great. The service with the food was excellent. Snug Harbor did a fantastic job with the processing. Ibby and Isaac were very professional.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan8496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my first fishing trip to Alaska and after extensive research, and recommendations from locals, I chose Jimmie Jack's. Really enjoyed the variety of fishing throughout the week. This included silver salmon on the Kenai river, 2 days of Halibut on Cook Inlet and 2 combination trips out of Seward, and a Fly Out on the Kenai river. What a blast, ready to go back! I planned a couple extra days at the end of the week for contingency planning and/or to book additional fishing. Strongly recommend you do the same, as weather conditions dictate your activity.

Captain Art Miller on the Big Iron and Captain Frank Sanders on the Unforgiven provided experiences that were fun, exciting, and successful. Lots of fish and lots of laughs.

Can not say thank you enough to Colleen for making the lodge feel like home. She is a wonderful person and her cooking was most enjoyable. I appreciate all her effort and the efforts of the Jimmie Jack staff for making my trip a complete success.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmiJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your great review. This makes our job even more fulfilling when we read about how successful your visit was with us. I am glad you did our research and found us up to your standards. It is great to hear that our captain’s provided such fun and successful experiences. Yes, we like to give you the variety of fishing that the Kenai Peninsula offers: Seward Combo Trips, Halibut fishing, and Kenai River Salmon Charters. It is also great to hear that you are ready to come back. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A National Geographic Trip.
Friendly guides & great fishing schedule.
We liked every moment & kept on telling all our friends this is the one.
Thank you very much all Jimmie Jack's team.
You'll be always in our minds.







Room Tip: The Lodge was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THAIER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimmiJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review and what a great comment, “A National Geographic Trip” Yes, Alaska is a great place to experience the Great Outdoors. We are also glad you found our guides friendly and that we created a great fishing schedule for you. To read, “That we will always be in your minds”, is a great honor. We hope you will consider visiting us sooner than later. And, yes, please keep telling your friends to come visit us too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my second trip to Jimmie Jack's, I've enjoyed great fishing both years. The guides and service have been excellent. I really like the variety of fishing that is offered. This past year I I was able to do both trout and silvers on the Kenai along with an exceptional trip to Seward for ling cod, rock fish and halibut. I am already planning a return trip for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenai hotels
0.4 mi away
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kenai
16 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
4.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
5.7 mi away
AllSeasons Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#5 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge

Address: 36065 Reef Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-8767
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Kenai
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmie Jack’s Alaska Fishing Lodge - Over 10,000 Happy Guests Served Since 1995 - Day Charters to 7-Night Lodge Packages - BOOK ONLINE NOW! King Salmon – Silver Salmon – Sockeye Salmon - Halibut – Rainbow Trout. Excellent Customer Service Since 1995 - 45 Years of Guide Experience Combined - Safest and Most Modern Boats on the Water - Great Food and Accommodations – Top of the Line Equipment – Unparalleled Scenery -Private and Small Group Trips – Beginner to Advanced Anglers – Family Trips – Alaska Travel Industry Association – Kenai River Professional Guide Association (Board of Directors) – Kenai River Sportfishing Association - Kenai River Guide Academy - Fully Insured – U.S. Coast Guard Licensed –State of Alaska Permitted - Featured on North to Alaska with Larry Csonka – Daily KRSM Fishing Report – KTUU News Fishing Report – Coastal Angler Magazine Fishing Forecast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing