We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality meals”

Louie's Steak & Seafood
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality meals”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This restaurant provides large good quality meals in a very comfortable setting. Lots of alaskan game are hanging on the walls. Just have a good stiff drink and enjoy the place. Service is very good and very friendly during your stay. The price of the meals are a little on the high side so, I like to go there during lunch and enjoy one of the lunch specials. Most meals i could split with my wife if we could agree on something. Oh well !!! Oh great breakfests !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    108
    39
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just think about where you are...”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We tried this place after reading both the good and bad reviews....those that complained just need to remember they're in a town full of oil and gas/industrial workers that has a tourist season of 3 months. Obviously professional chefs don't move here. That being said, yes the service was slow but they were really busy. The salmon, halibut and clam chowder were very fresh and tasted great, as well as the sides. If you go in remembering your in small town AK you'll like it too!

Helpful?
2 Thank purplecupcake84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Place to Go”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When I asked the locals where's the best place for an authentic Salmon dinner in Kenai they said; "Louie's". We weren't disappointed. The meal was great and we the portions were ample. You'll love the atmosphere with all the stuffed animals and fish mounts. It's not cheap...but what is in Alaska in July??!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Ready2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thee place to eat! Amazing food, Huge portions”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

You'll be surprised by the boring exterior, but just wait till you go inside - truly Alaskan. The food is excellent- doesn't matter what you order its all good. Prime Rib is to die for! We take all our friends there for a really good meal, not cheap but worth every penny. You won't be disappointed. Weekends you will usually have to wait to be seated- so wait its that good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Based on all of the other recent reviews maybe we just hit this restaurant at a bad time. The atmosphere was good. There was a wait but that's to be expected in the summer. The staff was friendly however, the service was poor / extremely slow even though our server only had 3 tables to attend to. It took well over 10 minutes to be asked for our drink order (we were a party of 3 people) after which the waitress apparently forgot us completely. She walked by several times without glancing at us and then seemed to realize she forgot something about 15 minutes later at which time she brought us our basic drink order. We were there over 2 hours just for a simple dinner of steaks and grilled salmon. All of which were overcooked. I could have cooked a better meal at home and saved a ton of $$$$ or just eaten gas station food which would have tasted better. I was very excited to try this place based on other reviews but came away disappointed with the service and food quality as their prices certainly indicate I should have had higher expectations. Clearly the server was overwhelmed with 3 tables and the chef must have been having an off night since all the food was leathery and overcooked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Louie's Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing