We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Ada, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Beautiful rooms, clean, roomy and very nice and efficient staff. We stayed here twice while coming and going to POW. Very convenient to the ferry terminal and also the airport ferry. LOVED the free shuttle around town with the friendly and helpful drivers. The restaurants attached to the hotel were very nice (pricey but as was mentioned in another review ... that is Alaska). Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The newer building has an elevator ... big help when traveling with a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling to POW. As you mentioned the newer building does have an elevator as well as larger, spacious rooms. Although our East Wing also has an elevator and we have some very nice two room suites in that section. Our restaurants both offer a large variety of meals and are comparable in price to Seattle, Wash. We hope you had a great trip home and hope you will return to Ketchikan again soon.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    133
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
82
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostermundigen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

, near the airport, there is a real good address, the Landing, large, clean, quiet rooms, perfect service, including a free taxi-shuttle service to/from every place, friendly staff. look for a room in the new part.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our shuttle service as well as our staff.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to service your hospitatlity needs.
Thank you for your review.
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I should start out by saying I was in Ketch for work, so I didn't have to pay for my hotel. I was put in the newly renovated section and my room was fabulous! I typically don't sleep well using hotel pillows, but they had a note saying they had memory foam pillows available, so I called the front desk and they sent one up. It was just wonderful. And the room was large, had comfy chairs for lounging, and was clean. I was really impressed. Oh, and the staff in the downstairs restaurant was just lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAKchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
We hope your work went well in Ketchikan. We are glad to hear you made use of our pillow menu to give you the extra special comfort you desired with your stay. It is always difficult to be away from your favorite pillow at home and we hope that the pillow menu helps you feel like you are at home away from home. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the large comfortable rooms we offer and that our staff make your stay pleasant.
Thank you!
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailey, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Pricey, but worth it. Then again, Alaska is. After spending 10 days on POW in less then accomodating conditions this place was heaven. Located just across street from ferry and minutes to airport its perfect for not having to get cab or rental car. We have stayed here on all trips to POW because of super rooms, location and service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for taking time to complete a review on our property. We appreciate your loyalty to us upon your return visits to Ketchikan. We hope to see you back in the very near future.
Thank you again!
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Was only able to stay there 2 nights, the room was fantastic. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful and that includes the lounge and restaurant staff. The hotel is away from the main part of town which makes it a little quiter but it can be a long walk if you you want to go to the tourist attractions in town. There are shuttles and buses servicing Ketchikan. The price is competitive with other hotels in town. If I ever go back to Ketchikan I will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve early, Ketchikan is a popular destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are away from the major tourist area, but we do have a complimentary shuttle service that will take you anywhere within the city limits at your convenience. Hopefully you were able to make use of this amenity that we offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ketchikan.
Best Wishes,
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

For those few that might need a quick overnight stay after deplaning from the airport, this is the place to go. It is very close to the ferry from the airport, and there is an shuttle that can pick you up from the ferry.

The restaurant was great for breakfast for me and the kids (ages 5 and 8) since it was onsite and they were still on Mountain Time for the next morning.

Room Tip: There is a renovated section of the hotel that is much nicer (this is information directly from a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukehuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Ketchikan. The shuttle is not only available for arrivals and departures, but anywhere within the city limits. We were pleased to also hear that you enjoyed the breakfast in our Landing Restaurant which does serve breakfast all day for those late raisers and from 6:00AM for those folks that are still in their own time zones. We hope you enjoyed some of the sites of Ketchikan when you were here. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Ketchikan. Hope you had a great trip home.
Take you for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I just want to let you know that I had a great experience staying at Best Western Plus the Landing Hotel. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable with all the amenities. The Front desk staff is friendly, understanding, and flexible. My elderly father became sick on the ferry from Bellingham. The staff let him rest in the room 2 additional hours beyond our time while waiting to catch our ferry at no additional charge. I'm very grateful! You can tell that the friendly housekeeping staff take great pride in keeping the rooms fresh and pristine, always willing to go above and beyond in service and helpfulness. The restaurants have excellent food, especially the cream pies from scratch, at a reasonable price. Mylene and generally all staff went above and beyond. I loved the ability to store frozen fish! I've stayed twice so far and both stays were equally satisfying.Thanks for the great experiences and I will continue to use this as my hotel of choice in my regular travels through Ketchikan!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear our staff accommodated your needs for extra time in the rooms for your father. We all hope he is feeling much better. We have to agree our pies are the best and our baker Tammy does an excellent job for us. It is great to hear you caught fish while you we here also. We are extremely happy to hear that you will return to us upon your next visit to Ketchikan. Thank you again for the great review!
Linda Peters,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
327 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
2.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 3434 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing