We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel was just what we needed and exceeded our expectations. We arrived by plane late and had to catch the ferry early the next morning so we did not have alot of time. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and professional especially the van driver Steve who turned a ride downtown into a breif tour and history of their towm. The ferry terminal is right across the street so we still had time for a very good breakfast downstairs before we left. Very nice room, big and clean, thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkolb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Rkolb26,
We are sorry to hear you had such a short time in Ketchikan, but are happy that Steve was able to give you a little tour and some history. We are glad you were able to enjoy a breakfast in our restaurant before taking off on the ferry the following morning.
We hope you enjoyed your ferry ride home. Thank you for your comments about our friendly, helpful staff. We love hearing that we have exceeded your expectations. That is our goal with everyone who comes to stay with us.
We sincerely hope you will be able to plan another visit to Ketchikan and spend a little more time with us.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
Best Regards, LInda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    124
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
78
20
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Don't let the fact that this hotel is a Best Western deter you - it is without doubt the nicest Best Western I've ever been in. The rooms are large and airy with 10' ceilings, making it feel light even when it rains. The beds are comfortable, and it is directly across from the AMHS ferry terminal. Very quite save the odd ferry horn. Stayed here on business. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear NomeMan,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our large spacious rooms. The Best Western brand is the largest chain in world and have very high standards for their properties within the chain. We are also blessed here at the Best Western PLUS Landing with great owners who take great pride in their property and put the money back into it to make sure their guests have a pleasant, comfortable stay with us. We are happy to hear that you will return to stay with us again in the future. If there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to make that stay a superior experience; please do not hesitate to give us a call.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

On May 8th ,2013, I was a happy holiday-er cruising on Holland America's Zanndam, that night I had a medical emergency requiring treatment at the Ketchikan Hospital. Unable to return to the ship and resume my voyage, I had to fly home for treatment. May 9th I was picked up at the hospital and delivered to the Landing and checked in OK. Your front desk clerk was extremely helpful in contacting, and making sure my e-tickets arrived in time to catch the first flight out in the morning. The shuttle to the Ferry was welcomed and I made it home for more treatment in a timely fashion. My room was very comfortable and I was able to get some rest. Thank you for your assistance during this difficult time for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Leona,
We are happy to hear that you were able to make it home to get the treatment you needed in a timely manner. Our staff is very caring and helpful and we are glad you experienced this with your needs as well. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
We are sorry you had to cut your trip short. We hope you will be able to plan another visit and make Ketchikan a longer stop with us.
We sincerely hope your health has improved and you are enjoying the summer months.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

A very nice experience. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. We travel a lot so we really appreciate it when we open the door to the hotel room and it is everything it is advertised to be. The hotel has a really nice restaurant on the ground floor and they offer a shuttle service to and from town. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Louis M.
We appreciate your comments about our hotel. We take pride in the cleanliness and comfort we offer to our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the shuttle which is one of our most valuable amenities we offer. On your next visit try our restaurant, Jeremiah's upstairs. We are sure you will also enjoy the Bistro type menu we offer there as well as the beautiful view of the Tongass Narrows. We sincerely hope you will return to Ketchikan and give us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you for your recommendation.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

A shout out to Walt who made things right on a cold misty night in Ketchikan. Thanks from a grateful traveler with a mixed up reservation.

Great location and a shuttle from the airport ferry drop saves a long walk or a taxi fare.

Room Tip: Reserve a king room with a fireplace on a cold night. Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Frequent Traveler,
We are very happy to hear that Walt was able to make things right for you when you checked into the hotel. Walt has been with us almost 10 years now and does an excellent job for us. We are glad you were able to experience his helpfulness.
We are also happy that you were able to make use of our complimentary shuttle service to get you around town during your stay. We feel that those rooms with the fireplace are our best rooms in the house, especially on those cold rainy days in Ketchikan.
We hope you will return to Ketchikan in the near future and give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs.
We thank you for taking the time to make your comments on Tripadvisor.
Best Regards, Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Captivating service from front desk to restaurant to room service staff. Central location, ample parking, well lite and safe. Very clean. Alcohol drink prices on the high side. One morning at 6AM in the stair well, one couple was interrupted and the women said to the man "I still want my twenty dollars."

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLPBCPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear JLPBCPhD,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the encounter you had on the stairwell. We are only able to control the situations and actions in our hotel that are brought to our attention or those for which we are aware. We will take steps to do more security checks around the property.
Thank you for your comments about the service and the location of our property. We take pride in our staff for their friendly, helpful service they offer in all departments of the hotel.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Once again please do accept my apologies and we do hope the you will return to visit us very soon.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Landing is a great value in beautiful Ketchikan. Staff are warm and genuine. Centrally located, close to grocery and ferry. Free shuttle can take you places if you didn't a car. All in all, this is a wonderful place, a "home away from home".

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello Ken,
Thank you for saying we are a " Home away from Home" for you. We strive to make sure every guest feels that way when staying with us. And yes, our staff are very genuine in their warm, friendly, geniune caring for our guests. Our location close to the Airport ferry and across from the Alaska Marine Hwy ferry as well as our shuttle that will take you anywhere within the city limits does make for a perfect place to stay.
We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to Ketchikan.
Thank you,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 3434 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing