We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Clean, Great Service”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious, Clean, Great Service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My room was spacious, clean, quiet even though I was right next to the elevators. The restaurant was great with great servers and good food. The bar was superb and I spent several hours each night there. The Manager's Reception was a nice treat with food and beverages served and the opportunity to talk to the manager of the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have experienced have been above average. I stay here 2-3 times a year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Dorothy P:
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your comments concerning our spacious, clean rooms and the service and food in our restaurant and bar. We are happy to hear that you came to our Manager Reception on Wednesday night and enjoyed it. We also enjoy that hour to get acquainted with our guests in house, Thank you for recommending us to other travelers.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    133
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
82
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel, the rooms are very small in comparison to other Best Westerns. The staff was friendly and nice. If you need to use an elevator you will need to let them know. There is no air conditioning at this hotel.There are two restaurants at this hotel that are both good. What ever you do do no get a room over the loading dock, facing the fire station. People stand out side the loading dock and smoke cigarettes and you will not be able to have your window open, and with no air that is an issue.

Room Tip: Do not get a room over the loading dock area facing the fire station, people stand outside and smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevepwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Stevepwa:
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business and your comments. From your description of the room you were staying in the older part of our hotel, which does have smaller rooms than the East wing building or our newer North Court rooms which are very spacious. We do apologize for the smoke in your room, which is a problem we are correcting; as this is a smoking area which we are eliminating and establishing more designated smoking areas away from the buildings. Our property is fully non-smoking and we want to be able to fullfill that obligation to our guests. Unfortunately, there is no hotel in Ketchikan that has air-conditioning as we very seldom get hot weather. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our two very good restaurants. We do hope you will return to Ketchikan and give us another opportunity to give you superior customer care. Thank you again for your comments and time. Sincerely, Linda Peters, G.M>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Convenient location. Close to both the state and inter-island ferry docks, and a variety of dining options. If you chose to order room service try the Cobb Salad, it's amazing. Rooms are always well cleaned and should you need anything the front desk personal are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunscreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Alaska T,
Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear you feel this is your home away from home. Your choice of the Cobb Salad is a great one. It is also one of my favorite salads on the menu. Thank you for your comments concerning our housekeeping and front desk staff. Our location is a perfect place for those travelers by either air or the Alaska Marine Hwy. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ketchikan. Thank you again for taking the time to do a review of our property. We greatly appreciate it.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here just one night on our way up to Juneau along the inner passage. The room was very comfortable, roomy and bright. Great beds. Staff were pleasant and helpful in getting information on a rental car. Decided to use the hotel shuttle instead to get into Ketchikan for a quick look around. The shuttle driver was wonderful and went out of his way to get us where we needed to be and pick us up later on. Food was good, great onion rings! Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoomZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Room Zoom,
Thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was accommodating to your needs. Our shuttle drivers are very happy to take you to any spot within the city limits at your convenience and we are glad you made use of this great amenity we offer. We will be sure to inform our staff of your comments. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Alaska and that you will be back to see us in the near future. Thank you again for your time and your comments.
Best Regards, Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

For business or travel in Ketchikan Alaska I have found the Best Western to be a excellent value with fair prices, good food, Great location, attentive professional service, very comfortable clean rooms with a relaxing atmosphere, always have had an excellent experience. I highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Mark M,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the comments you made concerning our facility. We are happy to hear you enjoy your stays with us and also enjoy our restaurants. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other business and leisure travelers. We look forward to your next visit to Ketchikan. Thank you again for your review. Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorne Bay AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and have stayed at most of the hotels in Ketchikan - the Best Western Landing is the best. Most comfortable rooms, good room service, and the Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's pub fit my needs. Only place to stay in Ketchikan.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Rosie B:
We appreciate your taking the time from your busy schedule to write a review of our property. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed both the Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub. They both offer something for every guest. Our staff tries to make your room dining as accommodating as if you were dining in the restaurant. We are happy to hear they achieved that feeling with you. We do hope you will travel our way again soon. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketchikan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

stay here all the time, close to all ferries, airport, has a restaurant, has shuttle service to anywhere you want to go, always booked in the summer months with tourist, staff at hotel and restaurant are helpful

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Theresa W.
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We try very hard to make our guests feel like they are at their "Home away from Home". Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel when in Ketchikan. Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you at our property again in the very near future.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
327 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
2.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 3434 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing