We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Ketchikan”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Clean rooms, Friendly staff. Beds are a little too soft to suit me, but otherwise a pleasant stay. In house restaurant and lounge is convenient, and decently priced for Alaska. Flat screen TV's in rooms with good programming. WI-FI works perfect. All in all, money well spent. I will stay there again on the next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Dan W:
Thank you for your recommendation to others planning to come to Ketchikan. We are happy to hear you will also stay with us upon your next visit. We pride ourselves in having a clean, friendly property and is always nice to hear we succeeded in providing that for our guests. All our rooms have 37 inch flat screen TVs and our cable company does a great job at providing us with lots of options for viewing. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. Thank you for taking the time to do this review of our property. Best Regards, Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice hotel with a good restaurant & lounge. Very accomodating staff.Shuttle service to & from airport ferry. Hotel provided freezer space to store my fish I was transporting home. Only complaint was lack of air conditioning on an unusually hot July day. (I think most hotels & homes in Ketchican don't have it)Nice park bench on the well manicured & landscaped back yard was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Paul F: We appreciate your comments about your stay in Ketchikan at our facility. You are correct that most places in Ketchikan do not have air conditioning. There is no hotel that offers it as we very seldom have that many days of hot weather. We have been blessed with it this year and we are all enjoying the great sun shine rather than the rain we so often receive. Was nice to hear that you caught fish during your trip here and we were able to accommodate you with a storage space til you left for home. We are happy to hear you also enjoyed our restaurant and lounge. Most of our staff have been with us many years, especially our kitchen manager/Chef who has been with us 27 years. Thank you again for posting a review of our property. We greatly appreciate your comments. Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is across from the ferry terminal, close to the airport, and a few feet from a city bus stop. Their shuttle van runs almost constantly taking people places with a smile. It's also within reasonable walking distance of downtown while on vacation during good weather, but not in downtown.

Rooms are nice, clean, and fully functional. However, we didn't sleep well. We were there during a rare "Alaska heat wave". The room didn't ventilate well and the bed has a single, heavy comforter that's all "in" and everything, but provided no options. We also didn't see the sign by the bed about pillow options to the massive thick things on the bed until too late at night. Given the choices, they could put a variety on the bed to start with.

We arrived at 8 AM, expecting to ask to store luggage until later in the day. They had a room available at that time of morning, which was an extremely nice surprise. Upon leaving, they stored luggage all day for us as well. Front desk staff also saved us significant money, suggesting we use the city bus to travel to the various totem pole parks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Jim R:
We appreciate your comments concerning your stay with us in Ketchikan. We are sorry to hear you did not see our pillow menu prior to heading to bed so you could make use of it. The memory foam is the favorite of most of our guests. Our comforters are the best in quality and are quite heavy; but we also have a lighter fleece blanket stored in the closet if you prefer. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, shuttle service and the baggage storage we offer. The city bus is a great way to get around and see the sights especially those a little farther out of town and very inexpensive. We thank you for your recommendations and hope you will return to Ketchikan again in the future. We would love to see you again. Best Regards, Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

EXCELLENT accommodations -- easily recommend for anyone for business or pleasure in the Ketchikan area -- Same staff year after year indicative of a great place to work -We Will Certainly miss "Walt" he has been an icon there for the last 6 years that we have been staying same time every year -- All Staff great - excellent customer service - but Walt is special w/ detailed attention to each & every guest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 892annag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear 892annag:
Thank you for posting a review so we will become less of a secret. We value your comments. We definetly will miss Walt when he retires; he is a great assest to our company and we are still working on him to stay with us a little longer. He truely loves his job and remembers our guests upon their return even after several years. We hope you will continue to make the BW PLUS Landing your place to stay whenever you are in Ketchikan. Thank you again for your comments about our staff and facility. Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed for one night at The Landing and overall I was satisfied.

The hotel is located right across the street from the Ferry Terminal and Airport. There is supermarkets, restaurants and bars close by.

The room was good overall. It was spacious and clean and overlooked the Ferry Terminal. I never was able to connect to the WiFi inside my room and it was somewhat hot. I never found a thermostat or any means to control temperature and I'm unsure if there is.

Staff was helpful and courteous. They provided a shuttle van to Walmart even when I was already checked out.

Overall I would definitely give this place another try if needed. It fitted my needs. I would suggest the management to fix the WiFi inside the rooms.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SoLaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear SoLaras: We appreciate your review of our property. We apologize for the inconvenience of not receiving the WIFI during your stay. We are presently working on adding more internet boxes to the property to improve on the connectivity in some of our rooms. We also have many rooms that are hard-wired, so if there is a problem we can always make available to you a Cat 5 to be able to connect to the internet. There is a thermostat in every room; but unfortunately there is no air conditioning, which is why we supply fans in our rooms. This is common with all the hotels in Ketchikan. We have only a few days a year that reaches a temperature necessary for an air conditioner. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and the location of our property. Thank you for giving us another try when you are in Ketchikan again. We look forward to seeing you. Sincerely, Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at the Landing last weekend during a business trip. Their shuttle from the airport ferry terminal (the airport on an island and you have to take a ferry to town) was a quick and easy connection to the property.
My room was really clean and had a great, comfortable bed with lots of pillow choices. Wi-Fi worked like it was supposed to for my VPN connection and the big TV had lots of channels to choose from.
I had a Alaskan Draft brew at the bar that evening (out on the deck facing the waterfront) and breakfast in the restaurant the following morning. The service was great, even with the many people who were being served.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the lobby would be convenient to the restaurant and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alaskadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Alaskadave:
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you felt like you were at home at our property. We were able to stay during some beautiful weather that allow you to make use of our deck area off of Jeremiah's Pub. Popular place when the rain is not here! Our pillow menu is a favorite of many, making their stay a little more like home. We hope you enjoyed on of these selections. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to your return to Ketchikan in the future. Best Regards, Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

what an exceptional hotel! The rooms are large and comfortable, working room with a desk and all the amenities you could think of right in the room. The view of the bay is also a treat with a small balcony on my room, I was able to see the large cruise ships coming into port. The lounge has an excellent selection of food and beverages for a good value. Ketchikan is a wonderful community to visit and the hospitality was exceptional. The front desk clerk, the in-room gift on arrival, and the lounge staff all shined. Thank you for an exceptional stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Janet K:
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also great to hear that our staff has done a wonderful job taking care of our guests. Thank you fro mentioning our rooms with the balconies and great views of the Tongass Narrows and the activity you can watch from the room. We appreciate your taking the time to do the review. We look forward to serving your hospitality needs in the future. Sincerely, Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Address: 3434 Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £120 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing