We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and comfy rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Rensselaer, IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and comfy rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We spent 5 days in Ketchikan which started with a quick pick up from the ferry to the hotel by a friendly shuttle bus driver. My sister was in town for business while I got to go sightseeing. Our room was very comfortable and roomy with all the necessary amenities provided. We enjoyed the wonderful breeze daily through the open windows. Coming from 90-100 degree weather, this was a welcome change. Daily I rode the shuttle bus around town to see different sights. I have to say that the shuttle bus drivers really made my stay enjoyable. They were very informative and chatty which made me feel at home. They were willing to drop me off and pick me up where ever I wanted to go. I asked for recommendations while I was in town. I also enjoyed my breakfast downstairs in the restaurant every morning. I had nice chats with the waitresses and even some of the locals. I enjoyed the smoke free friendly atmosphere. We had the best service from the whole staff. We also enjoyed meeting the General Manager Linda Peters. We enjoyed eating in the Pub upstairs, too. Thanks to the great shuttle bus drivers we had the opportunity to try different restaurants in the area and even made a trip to Walmart along with my daily excursions. Although the whole staff was very friendly and helpful, I would say that their greatest asset is the shuttle bus drivers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also enjoyed meeting you and your sister during your visit. I must agree with you that our van drivers are a great asset to our company. They do enjoy the guests and really do care to make sure our guests have a great experience while staying with us. I will pass on your comments to them. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and recommending it to others. I sincerely hope you will have another opportunity to visit with us in the future.
Linda Peters,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    123
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
78
20
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

I couldn't get over the friendly, helpful service at this hotel. It's not fancy, but everyone is so nice and you can't be the breakfast in the coffee shop downstairs. The burgers upstairs in the pub are pretty good, too. Definitely a nice place to stay when you are in Ketchikan

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller300072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Also, thank you fo recommending our property to others traveling to this area. I am very happy to hear our staff was accommodating and friendly to your needs and you enjoy our restaurants. We hope to see you in Ketchikan again at some time.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

This is my third year staying here. THe staff is always helpful and the place is fun. The two resturants are good, the downstairs one had a more extensive menu and less smoke! The loading docks and landing area across the stree mean it will be very noisy startign aroudn 4am but you get used to it! The hotel is well maintained and clean. The newer building across from the reception area is nicer but the rooms are smaller.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
I do appreciate your taking the time to review our property. Thank you for recommening us to others. I did want to tell you the our restaurant downstairs has gone totally non-smoking since April of this last year. I also wanted to address the issue of the rooms on the reception side being smaller. You must have stayed in one of our king room, which is smaller in that building. The remainder of our rooms in the North Court building; which is the building across from the lobby are quite spacious. Also, if you ask for a room at the back of the building you will find that it is very quite compared to those closer to the street. Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

We arrived at the landing off the late jet. The courtesy van arrived minutes after the call to the airport ferry terminal (make sure you have the phone number) and the driver was very polite and chatty. The main restaurant was closed but the pub was open and we were hungry. The prices in Alaska are expensive but when it comes to seafood, the prices were great! We had 2 fantastic bowls of the smoked salmon chowder for $6.99 each. Only in Alaska!. The room was nice and looked as if it was recently remodeled. No complaints there. We had a nice breakfast in the main restaurant the next morning and had the van (same driver- these people work long hours) take us to the float plane terminal. Everyone was very nice, the room was great and comfortable and we would stay again without question!

  • Liked — Courtesy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2009
First, I must apologize for not responding sooner to your review. I am truely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Landing Hotel for your stay while in Ketchikan. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

I stayed 2 days in Ketchikan on a business trip. The Best Western was decent, I wasn't expecting much since I knew it was a small town and not very many hotels.

I've never stayed at a Best Western before, but I would say this is just a standard small town type of hotel. The rooms were clean and the shower was clean, bed was comfortable. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you to and from the ferry and a few other places. This hotel isn't in the downtown area, but just about a 5 minute drive away. The hotel had a bar upstairs that was nice to hang out in.

Alaska is a "different" place so you can't really expect the same service and amenities as you would in the lower 48 states. Ketchikan and other Alaska cities are remote and very expensive to live in (since everything comes in on an airplane or a barge).

I would probably stay here again, nothing fancy, but at least it's clean. We went to dinner at the Cape Fox Lodge and that hotel seemed a bit nicer (Lodge style) and had a really good restaurant, probably the nicest in town.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tiffany000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2009
I apologize for not answering your review prior to this. I do want to thank you for the great review and appreciate your comments. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope to see you again in Ketchikan and hope we can be of service for your hospitality needs.
Linda Peters,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Each year my family goes fishing in Craig, AK. On the way home we spend one night in Ketchikan, so we have stayed at most of the Ketchikan hotels.

This was our first time at the Best Western and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and spacious. Our room had two queen size beds. The room and furnishings were comfortable and clean.

The restaurant was very good with many options. We had a group of 10 for dinner, and everything was perfect. The waitress was sweet and efficient, the order was right, the food was hot and tasty.

There was a computer off the lobby, so we could do our flight check in. The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from the airport ferry.

This hotel is definitely one of the best, if not THE best hotel in Ketchikan. We hope to stay here again on our next fishing trip.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank game4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

Fishing lodge arranged for rooms here when float planes out of town were grounded in bad weather. While the hotel is outside of the downtown, touristy area leaving little to do (a supermarket is in walking distance, ferry to airport and other AK cities walking distance as well) I was impressed with the condition and amenities. Upstairs restaurant / pub served good food prepared in an open kitchen, and was fairly-priced with good service. The room - I stayed in the new addition - was VERY LARGE with 2 queen beds and lots of space to spare. Satellite TV, coffee. Room had lots of extra space, so if you had lots of bags you would never feel cramped. Provide a shuttle downtown for $8 / room which we utilized, and provided quick, on-demand service along with a little free sighseeing tour. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#9 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 3434 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing