We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of times with family.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Experience One Charters

Experience One Charters
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of times with family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Captain Johny was absolutely the greatest. We had a very special celebration and the fishing was fantastic. Well organized, awesome snacks and most of all a great flavor of Alaska. The scenery is breathtaking and the boat was large enough for everyone to be a part and catch fish. Thanks Captain Johny from all the Graham and McDermott families in TX we really could not have had more fun!!! My grandchildren will remember that day for years to come. Thanks for sending the Salmon and certainly for the recipes. You and your family have a great rest of the year. Love to all

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad weather but still had a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

When our cruise ship arrived in Ketchikan, Johnny met us right as we got off the boat. The weather was bad (lots of rain and wind) and most of the cruise ship sponsored excursions were cancelled. Johnny told us he thought we could still fish and have fun and he was right. We were a group of 7 with 4 children (ages 4-9) and everyone got to reel in several salmon (we caught kings, pinks, and silvers). We were catching so many, we started letting them go instead of pulling them into the boat. We ended the day early since we caught so many salmon and the weather was getting worse.

I would recommend Johnny to anyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Crew, Good Equipment, Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Johnny is very friendly, knowledgable, and knows how to put his customers on fish. Many charters don't let you grab the rod until they are sure the fish is on. Johnny wants you to fish and encourages you to get involved. We had a great time. Great for kids, and grandparents. Being in a boat that has space to get out of the wind, rain, or cold is a must when traveling with kids. Many charters do not have this.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and Unique Opportunity with Experience One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I booked a charter with Johnny Gilson and Experience One in July 2014 for our family (we have two children 6, 9). We had arrived on Celebrity and this excursion was our first event of a cruise to Alaska. Johnny met us on the same dock as our ship and took us out into the bays nearby. Experience One is a solid, comfortable twin engined fishing and crabbing boat. Johnny and his crew treated us like family and my children got the experience of a lifetime. We baited the traps, tossed them over and retrieved them. Our pots were teeming with crabs every time and the kids were amazed. We hit our limit very quickly and headed back to our dock while the crabs cooked onboard. We ate fresh dungeness crab and peppered Johnny with questions about life in Ketchikan and all things Alaskan. It was a phenomenal beginning to a great trip, thanks to Experience One. While you will undoubtedly pay more to book this private experience, it will far exceed anything you could do as a group in Ketchikan. We highly recommend Experience One.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great day fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family of 7 took this charter while in Ketchikan on June 9,2014. This was one of the only fishing charters that can take more than 6 passengers, so we booked early with Captain John Gilson. John was pleasant, friendly, and easy to do business with. John and his crew met us early at our boat dock,and spent the next 4 hours entertaining us with stories, beautiful scenery, and snacks. We saw a seal, eagles, and best of all caught a 29 pound king salmon. It is certainly a great memory for our family, thanks to Experience One charters.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lindbic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Experience One Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing