We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious halibut”
Review of Alaska Fish House

Alaska Fish House
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Alaska Fish House is easily Ketchikan's first choice for fresh Alaskan seafood. Visit us at the end of Main Street, just a short walk from the cruise ship docks. Enjoy gourmet seafood dining next to the most historic fishing fleet in Ketchikan. Try a complimentary sample of our delicious smoked salmon corn bread while ordering from our menu featuring alder-grilled salmon, halibut & chips, crab, and our famous smoked salmon chowder. Ship home the same smoked salmon that we feature on our menu.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious halibut”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

True. It was fried, but it was fabulous. Good cornbread, too, and yes it has salmon in it. I would definitely eat there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeyJaxrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    187
    55
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Cozy Atomsphere”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Really tasty and crispy cod and halibut with really good fries. Great Seafood Crowder. Best I have had. All food came hot and cooked just right. Real good comfort food. Makes me Hungary just to think about it.

Stan
Bowie, md

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sscott3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best seafood eatery in town”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Eaten here twice over the last week. Fried halibut on first occasion and smoked salmon chowder on the second. Both meals were tasty and very reasonably priced. Just a shame it's not open in the evenings. Cracking place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah4Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
507 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Salmon tacos? Salmon Chowder? How many ways can you prepare salmon?”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you are wondering what the answers to these questions might be, then this is the place to come to. From a global perspective, this is an average restaurant, but your perspective is very important, because from the perspective of Ketchikan, this is a good place. Ketchikan is small, its not a global metropolis with thousands of restaurants and enough population to sustain them year around. There are actually not all that many restaurants available to chose from, and many are even more touristy than this one, so take your pick as to what kind of experience that you want to have. Yes, this is a small place, so there often is a waiting line. There are not that many places to sit down and eat either. But the food is actually quite good, you certainly will get large portions, the views from the dining room, of the harbor, are very good, and we found the service to be quite good, especially given how demanding, impatient and rude many tourists can be.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank og84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice snack place.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

After walking through town it's nice to sit here and enjoy the local fish and chips. One of our party also had the chowder and gave it a thumbs up. There is counter service only.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lowxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alaska Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing