We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing salmon fishing w Salty Sea Charters”
Review of Salty Sea Charters

Salty Sea Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join captain Josh with Salty Sea Charters for the Alaskan fishing trip of a lifetime. Located in beautiful Southeast Alaska, experience world class salmon and halibut fishing. Get ready for a fishing adventure you won't forget!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing salmon fishing w Salty Sea Charters”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We experienced an amazing 1/2 day salmon fishing w Salty Sea Charters July 7,2013. Once cruising reservations were made, I made e mail & voice contact w Ivy to set up a charter for my daughter & myself. Ivy made everything so easy:-) Josh met us as we left our cruise ship. Didn't have to walk very far. What a beautiful day in Ketchikan. Sunny, no rain or wind! Josh explained exactly what we needed to look for & do since my daughter & I were novices. My daughter is learning disabled but Josh was great with explaining what she needed to do:-) Josh worked hard to make sure everything went ok. We ended up catching 9 salmon, 3 different types. Ivy's famous chocolate cookies were awesome:-) If we ever return to Ketchikan, we will certainly charter Salty Sea Charters again.
Cheryl P

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cherpo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best part of our Alaska cruise!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was the most fun and action packed part of the cruise. Josh met us right off the cruise ship and within 30 minutes had us catching our limit of salmon. Three hours later four of us had 29 salmon that Josh cleaned and had shipped to our home. If you like fishing action this is not to be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rlb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What More Could You Want!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We received unbelievable service from Salty Sea from our initial contact to the delivery of our much anticpated catch! My fist communciation with Salty Sea was an e-mail on a Sunday evening aroung 7:30 which contained several questions. Shortly thereafter, my phone rang and it was Ivy. I did not expect a return call on a Sunday night and offered to chat during regular business hours. But, Ivy insisted that I was not interrupting her family time and spent 30 minutes on the phone answering all of my questions and booking our charter.

Our group of 6 went salmon fishing with Captain Josh on June 26, 2013. Josh was waiting as we exited our cruise ship and after a very brief walk to the boat, we were on our way. Our group consisted of 3 kids and 3 adults and this was the first time fishing for most of our group. Josh took care of the licenses as we motored to the fishing grounds and was very patient answering all the kids questions. As many have noted, the cookies were great and the kids qucikly devoured them.

The boat was spotless and was fully prepared for fishing, so there was no wasted time once we arrived at our destination. Everyone in our group caught at least one fish and, although we lost a few due to inexperience, Josh was exceptionally patient. We chatted with several groups on our cruise ship who also fished while in Ketchikan and we caught more fish than anyone we spoke with. In fact, there were 3 groups that didn't catch a sigle fish. Captain Josh got us on the fish and did everything right. Josh also handled having the fish processed and the filets were delivered as scheduled.

Overall, our experience with Josh and Ivy exceeded all of our expectations and I enthusiastically recommend Salty Sea Charters.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltyseacharters, Owner at Salty Sea Charters, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi guys, it was great to fish with all of you and we are glad you had a good time. Thank you for the kind review and we hope you enjoy your salmon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas
1 review
“Ketchikan Halibut”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Kudos to Captain Josh and his wife Ivy of Salty Sea Charters. Our whole family had a great experience on our first Halibut fishing trip! Captain Josh runs a first class fishing operation. He was super nice and our kids will attest to the some of the best cookies ever, which were made by his wife. The complete experience from being picked up at the dock, to obtaining license, to having our fish sent back to us was much easier than we ever imagined. Our family looks forward to fishing with Josh again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fish4bills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltyseacharters, Owner at Salty Sea Charters, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you and we are very glad the cookies were such a hit. Hope to fish with you again in the feature!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great fishing excursion in Ketchikan!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our family of 4 went Halibut fishing during our very limited time in Ketchikan, AK last week. Because of our cruise itinerary, we only had a few hours available, but Josh picked us up very promptly at the cruise ship gangway, and soon we were on our way to a beautiful spot for Halibut fishing. En route to fish, Josh was very informative about Ketchikan, local fishing and culture, and life in Alaska. We also enjoyed the home-made cookies and other snacks! At our chosen spot, Josh helped us all get ready to fish for the elusive bottom feeding Halibut. While the Halibut were very coy with us at first, we did end up catching three beautiful Halibut (and several rock fish and a cod!) which were keepers, including one 39 inches in length. Josh did everything in his power to make it a fun day on the water and to make sure we went home with great fishing memories and great fish with our very limited time. We would not hesitate to book another fishing charter with Salty Seas. Also, Ivy was extremely helpful with booking by e-mail/online. We highly recommend fishing with Salty Seas! P.S. - Our two teens said this was their favorite excursion of the entire cruise!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mmc923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltyseacharters, Owner at Salty Sea Charters, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Guys, thank you so much for the review and we are so happy you had a good time fishing with us. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salty Sea Charters also viewed

 

Been to Salty Sea Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing