We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small museum”

Southeast Alaska Discovery Center
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Southeast Alaska Discovery Center is the gateway to the Tongass National Forest. Located just one block from the cruise ship docks in downtown Ketchikan, you can explore the amazing ecology of the coastal rainforest, connect with the rich cultures of the region's native peoples, enjoy Junior Ranger activities with your kids and experience Alaska's rainforest from the comfort of our theatre through an 18-minute, high-definition film.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a nice small museum. There is a good mix of information and you could enjoy walking thru quickly or spend a couple of hours. I think we were there about 45 minutes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank slix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    69
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super Cool Place!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

While passing through Ketchikan, we checked out this place. It is laid out nicely with all kinds of cool stuff to learn about SE Alaska. I especially loved the live cam of the salmon going upstream.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good way to begin your visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went to the Discovery Center first on our visit to Ketchikan and found it to be very interesting and informative. The displays are nicely laid out and very realistic. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful. It's small so it does not take long to go through. A good place to start or to kill time in between excursions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small, informative was nice to visit.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The new hubby and I arrived to Ketchikan by cruise as our last port stop. After an afternoon of exploring the state park, old totem musehm and Creek street we went to the discovery center.

Pros:
1) Indoors
2) Nice exhibits with informative information about animal life and native Alaskan tribes.
3) Good for children and Older Adults.
4) Small
5) Only 5 bucks per person.

Cons:
1) Small. I presumed it would be bigger than it was.

We enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
4 Thank vangellv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Probably the best thing to do in Ketchikan!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

After doing the Taxicab tour (lackluster) and the walk around Creek Street, we decided to finally enter the Southeast Alaska Discovery Center. This turned out to be the highlight of our day! It's small, concise, well-laid out and extremely informative! My 10 year old had a great time and as for myself who is really not too much into museums, I found this interesting too! It's a stone's throw from the visitors centre and definitely worth hopping into before you board the ship! Don't miss it - it's a great orientation to the magnificence of Alaska!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southeast Alaska Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Southeast Alaska Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing