We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late June in Ketchikan”

Explore Alaska Charters, LLC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Saltwater Fishing Charters - Full Day trips for Salmon & Halibut, 1/2 Day Saltwater Charters for Cruise Ship Passengers, Fly Out Fly Fishing Trips in Misty Fjords National Monument, Self Guided Fishing Boat Rentals, and Private Beach House Lodging with a Private Dock
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
“Late June in Ketchikan”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Me and my dad thought we would try out renting our own boat and cabin in Ketchikan and go fishing. We were up in Ketchikan for about 4 days last june and loved it so much we have already made another reservation to return this year. We went king and halibut fishing and did fairly well considering it was our first self guided trip in Alaska. So much fun and the 3 bedroom cabin was way better then any accommodations I have stayed at in town before. Well worth a try even if you are not going to fish.

Seth H

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Fishing in Ketchikan”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We have always had an amazing experience with Rick and Explore Alaska Charters. Rick makes you feel like on of his own family or friends when you charter with him. He has such passion to do everything to make your trip with him the best it can be. We have went with Rick for several years and will continue to go with him. His personality is so upbeat and he goes out of his way to please his clients.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“B&S Fishing Association”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My family and friends have had the pleasure of three amazing fishing, crabing and vacation adventures at Rick and Bonnies' cabins so far with the forth scheduled again this year,2013. The cabins on Pennock Island offer a great view of downtown Ketchikan while having the privacy of a Penthouse. The cabins (houses) have all the amenities of home including the kitchens, where nothing is found to be lacking in resources (we're foodies). What drew our group here was the self guided fishing. We have been able to catch all the salmon, crab, ling cod and halibut we could eat here and return home with, lasting months!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AptosAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ketchikan Fishing”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our second trip to Rick's cabin on Pennock Island. We are do it yourself types, so we avoid the full service lodges. Risk's place provides a great setting, isolated but a 5 minute boat trip to the restaurants and shopping of Ketchikan. We love to get up and watch the cruise ship activity across the channel. Great evening views of the town. We have used both of his boats, but prefer the 22' Hewscraft. The cabins are centrally located so it's a fairly easy trip to wherever the fish might be, north or south. The only drawback is the distance to set the crab pots, although if one fishes that direction it's much easier. Rick provides charter service as well. I would highly recommend Explore Alaska Charters. Nobody can control what fish might be running, but the setting, accommodations and service are impeccable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place/Amazing People”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This place has it all. My buddies and I have been staying here for the past 5 years and will be back in 2013. Both Rick and his wife Bonnie are the greatest hosts and owners you could ask for. We have stayed in both their two and three bedroom homes which are immaculate and well maintained. We also like to do our own thing meaning we also rent one of Rick's 22ft boats and go fishing and crabbing without a captain or guide. This past season while the salmon fishing was a bit slow we got into some big Halibut one of which was over 100lbs which we released. If your looking for a fishing experience of a lifetime you can't go wrong here. You can either hire Rick to take you out on his charter boat or like us rent one of his two boats and guide yourselves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank geraldjac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore Alaska Charters, LLC also viewed

 

Been to Explore Alaska Charters, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing