We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Creek Street
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Historic New York Hotel and would definitely stay there again. The hosts were very gracious and accommodating - even taking us to the ferry to the airport. The location is great, walking distance to everything in town. Because it is an older hotel, it can be a little noisier than newer places but makes up for it in charm. If noise bothers you, request a room on the back side overlooking the garden as it is away from the street noise. If noise doesn't bother you, stay on the front overlooking the harbor.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heath1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Creek Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

If all hotels and motels were "apples," it would be a simple thing to give Ketchikan's New York Hotel a two-star rating and stop at that. Thankfully, however, "oranges" also exist and the New York represents a giant one. Located directly across from the Thomas Basin boat harbor, the New York was built around the turn of the last century and located less than a half-block from Ketchikan's notorious and flourishing Creek Street Red Light District. Though refurbished several times since its construction, the hotel today shows its age with a non-discript lobby, well-worn (but lovingly cared for) furniture, steep steps to its eight rooms, all of which are located on the second floor, bath fixtures from probably the 1940s, no air conditioning (the day we were there the outside temperature nearly hit 80 and our room was extremely stuffy), and a narrow hallway reminiscent of tens of thousands of hotels built before 1930. There are, of course, some newer amenities. Its young proprietors, for instance, have added a wall-hanging, flat screen TV and provided access to wi-fi reception for all who want it, but in the end, the New York's age wins out and anyone accustomed to today's lodging offering across the country would be easily put off if they chose to stay here.

How then can anyone give the New York Hotel a solid, three-star ranking as we have done here, when, on its face is seems to deserve less? The answer is easy: the young proprietor-owners, Jessica and Jose. My wife and I have been fortunate to travel widely and we have rarely encountered two persons in the hospitality industry who were so anxious to please their customers or to be of service. When we arrived at the Ketchikan airport on a flight from Seattle, for instance, we were met by Jessica who personally drove us to the hotel. Once we checked in, Jorge grabbed our bags and whisked them upstairs for us (there is no elevator as one might expect in a nearly 100 year old hotel) then pointed out places to go eat in town as well as tourist stops we might want to consider. When we were ready to check out the following day, we again had a repeat of the personal service we had earlier received with Jessica driving us to the Alaska Maritime Terminal so we could check a ferry heading north. All of this could have been a pro forma thing but it was not. We both came away feeling that the service we received was truly friendly and meaningful. Too often persons these days go into business with little thought about what they have to do to succeed. That clearly was/is not the case here. Jessica and her husband are simply wonderful hosts and they easily in our mind elevate the rating the NYH might otherwise receive.

If one demands lap of luxury, chocolate-on-the-pillows-at-night accommodations, then the New York Hotel is not for you. Ketchikan has few places to stay of any merit, indeed, Ketchikan itself seems a little seedy around the edges, but if one wants a comfortable stay--we both slept soundly in a very comfortable queen-sized bed the night we were there--in an historic setting, the NYH is worth considering. I can't imagine ever returning to the city again but if we did, I know we'd gladly give the hotel a second chance.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you're going to stay in Ketchikan I highly recommend this place. It isn't really a hotel, but more of a collection of rooms in the little buildings that line Creek Street. My wife and I had a room down towards the end of Creek Street while my In-laws stayed out on the highway. We were both very happy with the rooms. It's hard to comment on the quality of the rooms because they vary so much from room to room, but ours were both very spacious, included a kitchenette (full kitchen in the other room) and the hotel staff was very freindly and helpful (although if you are expecting a full-time front desk attendant like a motel chain you probably won't get it).

The location is nice being on Creek Street and also because it's away from the cruise ship docks and gets slightly less traffic when the cruise ships unload. It's very quiet in the evenings when the ships take off and we had a nice view of the creek out our back window.

In general I didn't like Ketchikan because of all the cruise ship traffic, but this place made the stay memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayorMcSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

On a recent trip to Ketchikan we stayed at the New York hotel. They have Rooms in a number of buildings, on Creek Street or with a Bay view. We had one of each and were thrilled. The Creek street rooms are quieter, no traffic, whereas the Harbor view does have traffic noise. the trade off is a spectacular view of the Harbor.

The rooms are eclectic, but VERY clean.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't mine some noise, and want a view, book the New York Hotel, if you prefer quiet, boo...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whirnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Inn at Creek Street and New York hotel comes highly recommended on tripadvisor and various guidebooks. Anticipation was therefore high, but we were greatly disappointed. So what went wrong? One word: chaos. It started when were picked up from the Ferry terminal. The person picking us up was extremely rushed and basically threw our bags into the van, our bag with laptop thereby ending up underneath a heavy suitcase. During the drive back he was continuously on the phone. It turned out that the hotel was heavily understaffed, with one person doing all tasks. This continued to be a problem during our stay. Although the staff wanted to be helpful, they were either not at the desk or rushing from one guest to the next. After check-in, our room, a “suite/vacation rental with loft”, was very disappointing. Its location, directly on Creek street boardwalk was great. The room however was completely inappropriate for our family of four. When I reserved the room, I specifically inquired whether the rooms would be appropriate for a family with two teenagers. I was told that it was, but it clearly was not. Our loft had a comfortable bed, but downstairs there was only a very old sofa sleeper which was extremely uncomfortable. After we complained, we got an extra foldaway bed which was tiny and not much better. The room further had a small kitchen with microwave which was adequate and contained some old furniture (antiques). The window blinds were old as well and some did not close properly. The top windows had no coverings at all. The stairs to the loft were very squeaky and using them was impossible without waking everybody up. We later found out that there was at least one room which did have a proper bed downstairs. So I wonder whether we obtained the right room in the chaos that was the Inn at Creek Street and NY hotel. When we left, our room rate was reduced by $20 to $179 a night. This however, I believe, is still too much for a room where one needs to make his own bed every night and some of us lost two nights of sleep. Our hotel shuttle ride upon checkout again was very chaotic. After it arrived late, we were squeezed into a private car, in which part of our luggage was loaded on the front seat. While driving, one of our bags fell off, and our car almost went off the road. We were glad to be at the airport ferry so that we could leave Ketchikan.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_Travel-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a gem of a place that looks awful from the outside but is quite lovely inside.

Location: centre of Ketchican

Outside: looks like a hotel from a cowboy film!

Bedrooms: about 10. Can be noisy on front of hotel. Lovely old fashioned rooms. Front hotel (No 2 ) has lovely view of harbour. Never mind the noise...ask for it.

Internet available: yes...free

Clean: yes:

Breakfast available: joins on to small cafe with best coffee in town. You must walk to a cafe close by for the fry-up

Pick up: yes,..we were collected free from the Alaska Mariune Highway ferry terminal.

Value: excellent.

Quiet: yes

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Nice place with historic ambiance, very conveniently located at the foot of Creek Street with a view of the harbor. Comfortable bed, nice lighting in the room. there is a computer available in the hall for guests.
I have to comment on the helpfulness of the manager - went above and beyond anticipating what we might need as travelers and being helpful with things such as check-in times, storing luggage, getting to and from, rescuing us from a laundry crisis, etc. One truly felt like he was helping family.
Only caution would be that there is no elevator - one flight of stairs but might be an issue for someone with severe mobility problems (as might all of Ketchikan for that matter). We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Creek Street

Address: 207 Stedman St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £66 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Creek Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Creek Street is a collection of tastefully restored historic properties. Located in the heart of downtown, each unit is located along where Ketchikan's notable Creek Street and Thomas-Stedman Street national historic districts join. The Inn features standard, hotel-style rooms in addition to suites and vacation rentals-several rooms include small kitchens and kitchenettes and all have modern amenities. Many rooms overlook Ketchikan Creek with frequent wildlife sightings by guests (including seals, salmon, and birds). For an authentic Alaskan experience with a touch of history, great customer service, and the most conveniently located property, look no further than the Inn at Creek Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Creek Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing