We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a special community very memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Creek Street
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Makes a special community very memorable”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We chose the Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel due to its excellent TripAdvisor ratings.....and we were not disappointed because the tripadvisor reviews were accurate. One reason that the hotel is so special and unique is because it has people like Jose Crespo who wears so many different hats so well that he makes guests feel really wanted. (NB: Jose was not even born in Alaska! He is simply an incredibly competent person who really cares about his guests. He even took me to a florist to pick up flowers and then drive to the Bayside Cemetery to place them at a friend's mother's gravesite ... and Jose doesn't like cemeteries!)

The New York Hotel (the name comes because the original Japanese American owners who landed at Ellis Island) was our introduction to Alaska and made a huge impression. Not only is it 'different' in a very positive way, but it is located in one of the most interesting parts of Ketchikan and has a wonderful New York Cafe to enjoy a leisurely breakfast or lunch.

A real gem and should not be missed!

Room Tip: Any room is the best room; book very early as it is very small and in great demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Codfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    89
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
110
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is one of today's "unique" hotels, not the usual bland chain place. Rooms in the old hotel are like staying at Grandma's; rooms in the new section are on the boardwalk/creekside. Both hotels overlook the creek and harbor area, and they are in the heart of Ketchikan's boardwalk historic district. We've stayed here many times, in both venues, and the places are always spotless. The management goes above and beyond expectations in being as helpful as they possibly can to their guests. Applause for the management team: Jose and Jessica. To know them is to love them.

Room Tip: Rooms can overllook the street, the creek, or the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritajulyinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

When we arrived in Ketchikan, Alaska the airport has its own island and you get to take the ferry or water taxis over to their mainland! We arrived in the rain & coming from Texas with Triple Digets weather we loved our arrival: it was truly refreshing! We called from the airport for the Shuttle to The Hotel: We were laughing & loving the rain and then this young man, Jesse, took care of our luggage & off we all went: Full Shuttle & happy Travelers. We were in "awe" we reserved the "Loft" and what you have is a lovely view of this creek and as the Tide comes in the water falls are truly relaxing: I even taped some of this falls so I could take it home. Our "Loft" consisted on two separate bedroom quarters, one upstairs (which became my haven" and one down stairs:. recliner> Entertainment Center, which I got to watch a bit of "Fraizer" we do not have this show at home:...full Kitchen - dishes, & all! of course our stay was brief so no cooking on this trip: too much to see and too little time! We truly loved this Hotel: very unique to Ketchikan and a great deal of History:. you don't have to rent a car because you can walk to everything: this hotel is right downtown! We highly recomment this Hotel: Jessica & Jesse are truly "customer oriented": A rare breed: even a specialty restaurant right in the Hotel! Ketchikan has a great deal of history and a lot of places to see! The New York Hotel is the place to stay! Friendly staff, excellent quarters, excellent area: walking walking: listening to the creek to just relax and enjoy. Much more to say but will close with this: We will be back & definetly stay at this Hotel! Highly Recommended! Many Thanks to Jessica & Jesse. You completed our stay!

Room Tip: Highly Recommend! Separate sleeping quarters, relaxing, full kitchen & excellent scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizlang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Historic New York Hotel and would definitely stay there again. The hosts were very gracious and accommodating - even taking us to the ferry to the airport. The location is great, walking distance to everything in town. Because it is an older hotel, it can be a little noisier than newer places but makes up for it in charm. If noise bothers you, request a room on the back side overlooking the garden as it is away from the street noise. If noise doesn't bother you, stay on the front overlooking the harbor.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heath1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

If all hotels and motels were "apples," it would be a simple thing to give Ketchikan's New York Hotel a two-star rating and stop at that. Thankfully, however, "oranges" also exist and the New York represents a giant one. Located directly across from the Thomas Basin boat harbor, the New York was built around the turn of the last century and located less than a half-block from Ketchikan's notorious and flourishing Creek Street Red Light District. Though refurbished several times since its construction, the hotel today shows its age with a non-discript lobby, well-worn (but lovingly cared for) furniture, steep steps to its eight rooms, all of which are located on the second floor, bath fixtures from probably the 1940s, no air conditioning (the day we were there the outside temperature nearly hit 80 and our room was extremely stuffy), and a narrow hallway reminiscent of tens of thousands of hotels built before 1930. There are, of course, some newer amenities. Its young proprietors, for instance, have added a wall-hanging, flat screen TV and provided access to wi-fi reception for all who want it, but in the end, the New York's age wins out and anyone accustomed to today's lodging offering across the country would be easily put off if they chose to stay here.

How then can anyone give the New York Hotel a solid, three-star ranking as we have done here, when, on its face is seems to deserve less? The answer is easy: the young proprietor-owners, Jessica and Jose. My wife and I have been fortunate to travel widely and we have rarely encountered two persons in the hospitality industry who were so anxious to please their customers or to be of service. When we arrived at the Ketchikan airport on a flight from Seattle, for instance, we were met by Jessica who personally drove us to the hotel. Once we checked in, Jorge grabbed our bags and whisked them upstairs for us (there is no elevator as one might expect in a nearly 100 year old hotel) then pointed out places to go eat in town as well as tourist stops we might want to consider. When we were ready to check out the following day, we again had a repeat of the personal service we had earlier received with Jessica driving us to the Alaska Maritime Terminal so we could check a ferry heading north. All of this could have been a pro forma thing but it was not. We both came away feeling that the service we received was truly friendly and meaningful. Too often persons these days go into business with little thought about what they have to do to succeed. That clearly was/is not the case here. Jessica and her husband are simply wonderful hosts and they easily in our mind elevate the rating the NYH might otherwise receive.

If one demands lap of luxury, chocolate-on-the-pillows-at-night accommodations, then the New York Hotel is not for you. Ketchikan has few places to stay of any merit, indeed, Ketchikan itself seems a little seedy around the edges, but if one wants a comfortable stay--we both slept soundly in a very comfortable queen-sized bed the night we were there--in an historic setting, the NYH is worth considering. I can't imagine ever returning to the city again but if we did, I know we'd gladly give the hotel a second chance.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you're going to stay in Ketchikan I highly recommend this place. It isn't really a hotel, but more of a collection of rooms in the little buildings that line Creek Street. My wife and I had a room down towards the end of Creek Street while my In-laws stayed out on the highway. We were both very happy with the rooms. It's hard to comment on the quality of the rooms because they vary so much from room to room, but ours were both very spacious, included a kitchenette (full kitchen in the other room) and the hotel staff was very freindly and helpful (although if you are expecting a full-time front desk attendant like a motel chain you probably won't get it).

The location is nice being on Creek Street and also because it's away from the cruise ship docks and gets slightly less traffic when the cruise ships unload. It's very quiet in the evenings when the ships take off and we had a nice view of the creek out our back window.

In general I didn't like Ketchikan because of all the cruise ship traffic, but this place made the stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayorMcSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

On a recent trip to Ketchikan we stayed at the New York hotel. They have Rooms in a number of buildings, on Creek Street or with a Bay view. We had one of each and were thrilled. The Creek street rooms are quieter, no traffic, whereas the Harbor view does have traffic noise. the trade off is a spectacular view of the Harbor.

The rooms are eclectic, but VERY clean.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't mine some noise, and want a view, book the New York Hotel, if you prefer quiet, boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Creek Street

Property: Inn at Creek Street
Address: 207 Stedman St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Creek Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Creek Street is a collection of tastefully restored historic properties. Located in the heart of downtown, each unit is located along where Ketchikan's notable Creek Street and Thomas-Stedman Street national historic districts join. The Inn features standard, hotel-style rooms in addition to suites and vacation rentals-several rooms include small kitchens and kitchenettes and all have modern amenities. Many rooms overlook Ketchikan Creek with frequent wildlife sightings by guests (including seals, salmon, and birds). For an authentic Alaskan experience with a touch of history, great customer service, and the most conveniently located property, look no further than the Inn at Creek Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Creek Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing