We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small historic inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Creek Street
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small historic inn”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at New York Hotel. It is located next to Creek St and across from small boat basin. Next door is O'Brien's, a great place for breakfast bagels, good coffee and delicious lunches. If you like history, this is your spot. But if you have trouble with narrow stair cases, it may not be for you. Jose and his wife are fantastic managers and really "went the extra mile" to make our stay very pleasant. They were really outstanding. We travel a lot and have never met managers as accommodating as they are.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    89
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
110
36
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Have previously always enjoyed staying at the NY Hotel but this trip Jose convinced me to stay in one of the cozy lofts right on Creek St. On a nice day I could sit right on the balcony overlooking the river and have a glass of wine! Great staff as well see you next year thanks!

Room Tip: I believe all of the Creek St rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Preacher's House for 12 nights above a small store right on creek street. It is the house just before Dolly's House. This was so much more than a hotel room, it very quickly became our home. With two bedrooms upstairs overlooking the Stedman bridge and inside passage and a separate living room overlooking Creek Street. There is a full kitchen furnished with cookware, a full size regrigerator and daily cleaning service if you wanted. This is a very charming apartment and we will definitely be staying here for our next trip to Ketchikan! Each day starting around 8am you here people from the cruise ships walking and touring Creek Street. The hotel is located in a perfect spot to be able to walk to everything downtown. There is a quaint little bar right on creek street at the foot of the stairs to your private entrance to the apartment. Terry, barkeep, provides charming conversation and a great clam chowder. You can rent a pole and get a license right there on Creek Street to fish for all kinds of salmon. I personally caught a 20lb King Salmon off the Stedman Bridge.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TXJamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
466 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a great stay here during our one overnight in Ketchikan. In honor of the 1st night of our 2 week Alaska vacation we splurged on the Star Room. It was larger and had a whirlpool tub. It's also away from the main hotel- upstairs in an old bordello right on Creek Street which was pretty awesome and convenient to most of Ketchikan's attractions The only down side was that it seemed like there was never anyone at the front desk, they always seemed so busy, but when you called for service they would quickly respond. They were great with storing our packs when we arrived before check-in and had to make our kayaking tour and shuttling us to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSpeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

During several days in June 2012 while researching my family's history in Alaska we stayed at the New York Hotel. Whether it was Jose's constant attention to our needs including free transportation to/from the ferry terminal or simply the hotel's excellent location just a few yards from Creek Street, we totally enjoyed our time at the New York Hotel. Not least among the hotel's features is the wonderful collection of historical photographs that line the walls in the hallways and the lobby. This is an old hotel, well maintained but with its quirks, many of which add to its charm. Travelers should be aware that there is a narrow, steep stairway to the second floor where all the rooms are. I don't think the hotel has an elevator so this is a consideration for people who have a little difficulty in getting around. For us it only added to the hotel's charm.

Room Tip: The hotel is on Front Street a main thoroughfare. The rooms in the front of the hotel are vulnerable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our room in the main building was larger than we expected and the bathroom was clean and had a good shower. Especially noteworthy was the bedding, which included Tempur-Pedic pillows! The staff was friendly and accommodating, coming in O'Brien's Pub next door to let us know when our room was ready and arranging for a driver and van to take us to the airport ferry very early in the morning. Only one caveat: the main building features a very steep staircase.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGMotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel provided exactly the type of accommodations we were looking for in Ketchikan. Their love of these great historic buildings is shown as they provide accommodations that reflect the period yet are comfortable with all the modern convienences. Staff was excellent - very attentive to making sure all of our needs were met.

Although not officially part of the hotel, O'Brien's Pub (connects directly to the lobby) was a great place for a meal or just to relax.

Room Tip: See if a room is available in one of the historic out buildings. A bit of a walk but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Creek Street

Property: Inn at Creek Street
Address: 207 Stedman St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Creek Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Creek Street is a collection of tastefully restored historic properties. Located in the heart of downtown, each unit is located along where Ketchikan's notable Creek Street and Thomas-Stedman Street national historic districts join. The Inn features standard, hotel-style rooms in addition to suites and vacation rentals-several rooms include small kitchens and kitchenettes and all have modern amenities. Many rooms overlook Ketchikan Creek with frequent wildlife sightings by guests (including seals, salmon, and birds). For an authentic Alaskan experience with a touch of history, great customer service, and the most conveniently located property, look no further than the Inn at Creek Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Creek Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing