We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Creek Street
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Stayed at New York Hotel in June 2008 and found it excellent. Renee, manager, organised for the water taxi to meet us at the airport on a very windy and wet day so our trip across was a little adventurous, and she was waiting to meet us at the hotel.

Our room was in a building near the bridge across Creek Street, separate to the main hotel, but was absolutely lovely looking right over the Creek. There was a queen size bed, plasma tv, lots of hanging space, small kitchen area with microwave, lots of hanging space, spa bath etc and we were warmly welcomed by Renee. Unfortunately the hot water system failed the following day and we were relocated further along the Creek to a loft unit in another historic building, still overlooking the water and very nicely fitted out with full kitchen, living room and a shared balcony although we had it to ourselves when we were there. Renee was so helpful and accommodating, nothing was any trouble to her and she really made our stay enjoyable. We had a very nice and reasonably priced breakfast at the cafe at the original hotel and were able to use the complimentary internet at the hotel.

This was my favourite accommodation, just the location and ambience was superb. We were a little too early to see the salmon swim up the Creek we did see a harbour otter swimming round. Don't be deterred by the 'old' building it really is a gem!

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    91
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
123
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,540 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Creek Street in Ketchikan has a lot of history and the Inn at Creek Street (part of the Hotel New York) makes the most of it with an interesting mix of old and new in the rooms.
The beds seem old, but are very comfortable, so I guess they're quite new and the other furniture seems antique but then there's a cable tv and wifi so it's bang up to date.
When we arrived, the water taxi phoned the hotel and Renee came down to meet us at the harbour and walk us through to the hotel (a 2 minute walk). When we left, our bags were stored then we were taken to the ferry in the courtesy bus with our bags already loaded. It would have got 4 stars if it hadn't been for these personal touches.

  • Liked — nice old-fashioned attention to detail
  • Disliked — there's not much privacy whe your with a group of 4
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

A different type of hotel in Ketchican, Alaska for those who want a taste of the old style type of lodging. Don't rely on the pictures shown in the brochure or on the net; this is not a modern hotel but it blends in with the town and is a great buy. The service couldn't have been better, even though there was only one desk person on duty when we arrived, who did everything from checking us in to carrying our bags up the stairs, turning on the lights, etc; a very pleasant young man who kept cautioning us to be careful on the stairs. The room was very clean and very crowded with OLD (ANTIQUE?) furniture and had a very nice modern bathroom. The hotel has a cafe where delicious food is served. The location is excellent, right across from the harbor where we were dropped off by Rick, the skipper of the Water Taxi, who met us at the airport and gave us a trip up the channel with beautiful views of the city. Renee McLaughlin, the general manager of the hotel suggested this to our travel agent in lieu of the ferry and we would highly recommend it...It was very convenient to get to our cruise ship the following afternoon.

  • Liked — location, different, price
  • Disliked — a little shabby
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerimayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Ketchikan is really nothing more than a village that doubles in size during the summer cruise season. The New York Hotel is probably around 100 years old and the owners have kept all the old charm of yesteryear. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and everything is historically preserved. It's right in the old historic part of the town, right next to Creek Street, where all the brothels used to be. The staff was the nicest, friendliest I think I have encountered in sometime. It is not luxury, but it is friendly, comfortable and interesting. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanleyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WP Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We stayed at the New York Hotel for one night in June. We loved the hotel which has the feeling of a wonderful old inn. The rooms are furnished with antiques and either overlook the water or a beautiful and lush patio. The hotel is with inn walking distance from everything and is next to the river walk. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. What made our stay at this hotel
outstanding was the personal attention of the staff.
They went out of the way to make our stay a special time. They even went out and purchased a crib for our baby before our arrival. I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you truly want to get a feel for true Alaska hositality. Ketchikan and the New York Hotel are a great place to visit.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHunter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

I stayed at the New York Hotel in Ketchikan in May 2007and LOVED this place! It's really central (nowhere in Ketchikan is too far away from anywhere else) but this place has the benefit of not quite being on the 'main drag' but has great views overlooking the harbour (depending on which room you get) and is still only minutes from anywhere you want to go. The hotel is quite small, but benefits from intimacy - some of my family from Ireland rang to try to catch up with me as I was on an extended trip and were delighted that the staff were so friendly that they knew I'd gone out for the day even that I'd bought a new mobile phone so they could ring me etc...lovely friendly touches without being overbearing. Even the housekeeping staff were so friendly and welcoming.

The room was quite small but if you don't tend to spend a huge amount of time there it's absolutely fine. Nice touches in the rooms, fridges, coffee maker , nice toiletries etc and a computer for free internet use which I hadn't seen mentioned on any marketing blurb. Nice big TV too. The stairs are quite steep but this is an old building so just added to the character and staff are happy to help carry bags.

The cafe attached was being refurbished when I stayed so wasn't open but when this is open it'll be a good plus point. (If not open, try the Pioneer Cafe, great diner nearby) It's not far too to the Potlatch bar, a great local bar, not exactly plush but full of great characters and wonderful staff who make amazing cocktails, surprising when you first walk in! cos looks quite rough

Overall if (hopefully when) I go back to Ketchikan I'll definitely stay at the New York - great value and a place which makes me smile when I even think of it.

  • Liked — Great staff and great location.
  • Disliked — Small rooms but worth it for the whole package offered.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanMcGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

Stayed at the New York on and off during a three week visit. Combining a trip to Wrangell Is. and camping Ketchikan the NY was home. Location is great, located next to Creek St., salmon fishing is right out the front door. Yes rooms are small but clean in the main hotel. Room six is quiet. The suites on Creek St. are beautiful and spacious. Service is wonderful; Renee and her staff aim to please. Alaskan hospitality shines at the New York Hotel.

  • Liked — Sevice and location
  • Disliked — No ac
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Creek Street

Property: Inn at Creek Street
Address: 207 Stedman St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Creek Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Creek Street is a collection of tastefully restored historic properties. Located in the heart of downtown, each unit is located along where Ketchikan's notable Creek Street and Thomas-Stedman Street national historic districts join. The Inn features standard, hotel-style rooms in addition to suites and vacation rentals-several rooms include small kitchens and kitchenettes and all have modern amenities. Many rooms overlook Ketchikan Creek with frequent wildlife sightings by guests (including seals, salmon, and birds). For an authentic Alaskan experience with a touch of history, great customer service, and the most conveniently located property, look no further than the Inn at Creek Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Creek Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing