We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay longer if you can!”
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We rented two rooms during our brief stay at the Black Bear Inn. The Eagles Nest apartment has two full size beds, stacked washer & dryer, full kitchen and sitting area and is very spacious. The apartment has its own entrance which is nice. The snug Bears Den room has a comfortable queen bed and a very large bathroom. The bedroom is next to the living room so we could hear the TV when it was on in the main room. No one was watching it so we simply switched it off and all was well. I really liked the make your own breakfast concept. We wanted something quick and light because of our tight time schedule, but we did have the option of making a more substantial meal.

This place felt like home. I wish we had had an extra day here to enjoy the beautiful outdoor setting; the inn is so peaceful and relaxing. Sadly we had to catch a cruise ship the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here during Christmas to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. What a romantic spot! We stayed in the Bunkhouse which is a separate unit next to the main inn. It was perfect and sooooo romantic for a couple! Since it was off season, there was only one other unit rented and we had the hot tub to ourselves. We would get up at dawn and make some coffee/tea and tiptoe out to the hot tub...just float there facing the ocean and watching sea lions...you could just feel the stress melt away.

Perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitluup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We arrived from Michigan the day before our wedding ceremony. Jim picked us up from the Ferry dock and drove us briefly around main downtown to give us an idea of Ketchikan. Then he dropped us off so we could enjoy dinner and took our luggage back to the Inn for us. The Inn was very cozy and has amazing views from the patio and spa room. Both he and Nicole exceeded our expectations and were extremely accommodating!! Nicole even booked our wedding day dinner for us at an amazing "local" restaurant. The Black Bear Inn is a true gem in Ketchikan and we wish we could go back every year on our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The secret is out - the Black Bear Inn is the place to stay! Truly an exceptional B&B.

WOW! What an enjoyable stay every room is clean, beautiful, well appointed, every detail perfectly met! The view fantastic! The Church's amazing. Thank you so much for a relazing holiday and booking us the most incredible excursions. The Zip Lining made my fear of heights a thing of the past. The Bearing Sea Excursion was a dream come true for my hubby. Can I move in.......I will be back this time for a week. There is so much to see and do in this wonderful Alaskan Oasis. From the bottom of my heart Thank you!

Room Tip: They are all amazing......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OasisSeekers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Very peaceful and excellent service. The surroundings are very relaxing. Nicole and Jim are treasures of information about what to do in Ketchikan and sent us to wonderful restaurants, great fishing locations, the best flight seeing tours. Very very nice..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were unfortunate to have missed our cruise ship out of Seattle due to a missed connection so we had to get on in Ketchican. We were put up in the Bed and Breakfast by our company and we couldn't have been more thrilled! Comfortable, clean, cozy and the nicest hosts you ever have met! It made a bad situation great...we even said we got the better end of the deal missing the first day at sea!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stampernancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed at the Black Bear Inn for five nights and had a wonderful time. The room had spectacular views over the water and with the fireplace in the room it is just a really cosy place.

Our hosts Nicole and Jim were also extremely helpful and organised a bunch of trips and excursions for us (we loved the Bering Sea Crabfishing tour and the Misty Fjords trip with Allen Marine). Nicole also has some fantastic restaurant recommendations so make sure to ask her because if you are not a local you won't find them (Burger Queen for the best burgers in town and Ocean's View for the best Mexican food in town are just two of them).

Free WiFi is available throughout the house and the views from the massive veranda are just stunning. A perfect place to really enjoy Ketchikan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
4.8 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
344 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
261 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
4.6 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Address: 5528 N Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range: £123 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront Bed and Breakfast and 2 vacation Rentals built for guests who want privacy and expect the finest furnishings and amenities. Rent one of the 3 B&B suites, the whole house as a Vacation Rental, the one bedroom luxury Vacation Rental Apartment or the 2 bedroom Vacation Rental Cabin. No minimum stay required in the B&B. A 2 night minimum stay is required in the Vacation Rentals. All of the Bedrooms in the Inn have private closed in porches and entrances overlooking the ocean, large baths, fireplaces, refrigerators, cable TV, and free high speed wireless. The Inn Can accommodate up to 16. There are beautiful gardens, viewing decks and a Covered Spa and Summer Kitchen on the waters edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing