We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ONLY place to stay in Ketchikan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Ketchikan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I am completely mystified by the reviewer that was disappointed in his stay at the Black Bear Inn. We stayed in the same room, just prior to his visit, and it was wonderfully appointed with attention to every detail unsurpassed anywhere else I've stayed! The room was large, cozy, and had everything we could possibly need and more. Lovely thick robes, amazingly comfortable beds (I wanted to take mine home), all with a tremendous view. There was even a large stick to put in the sliding door, so I could leave it partially open to enjoy the fresh air, and still have the door secured. (And the bed sheets were ironed...who does that anymore?!)

We were in Ketchikan to see all of the beautiful sites, so watching TV and being on a computer weren't activities on our list, but I don't see how it's possible to accomodate everyone's personal preferences or opinions on how a room should be set-up. Some might like the comfy chair and ottoman in the room facing the bay, some the TV, and others for conversation or quiet reading. There's plenty of room to adjust the furniture to meet individual needs and I know Nicole would have arranged it to suit 'Donald' if he had asked. I had no problem getting on the provided computer to access and confirm my plane reservations (as disappointed as we were to be leaving...).

Nicole is extremely helpful and acted as a personal tour advisor, steering us the best spots and even telling us the very best times to be at the fish hatchery to view the bears (we saw 8-10!). She arranged for a car rental (delivered to the Inn) and at a very good price too.

We found everything spotlessly clean and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere during our stay. It was truly a wonderful end to our first vacation in Alaska. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorigenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
71
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The Black Bear was disappointing, not because it was bad but because it was much less than I expected. We did a 3 month trip to Alaska and stayed in B&B's almost every night so I consider myself sort of an expert in Alaskan B&Bs. The Black Bear was not the first place we stayed at in Alaska as it was at the end of our trip. The Black Bear was by far the most expensive place we stayed at. I feel that it was overpriced.

We did stay in their largest room which had 2 beds and a large bathroom with dual sinks. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. The room had several problems, however. First of all, there was only 1 comfortable chair and there was no desk. When I wanted to use my computer, I had to use a folding snack table for a computer table. Many of the B&Bs we stayed at on our trip had a desk and a desk chair. Second, although there was no comfortable place to use the computer, it really did not matter as the WiFi signal was so weak that I could almost never connect to the internet. The only place that I could consistently connect to the internet was in the common area. I often shared this common area with the guest in the room next to mine who also could not get a good internet signal in her room. The third problem we had was that the TV was located in a spot that you had to sit on the bed to watch it. The one chair in the room was not in the right location and there were no other chairs.

I was also disappointed in the breakfast. The WEB site for the Black Bear does state that the place has a self serve continental breakfast so I was not expected a served breakfast - although at the price we paid for the room, we should have had a served breakfast. The problem is that the breakfast choices were very limited and many of the items in the refrigerator were out of date. We stayed at other places in Alaska at considerably less cost than the Black Bear which had self-serve breakfasts with many more choices than the Balck Bear.

Nicole was friendly and gave us recommendations for places we would not have found by ourselves. The decor is nice and the grounds are attractive. It is just that the Black Bear is significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msdetail, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
I am surprised to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. If you had come to me with any of your concerns, while you were with us, I would have done my best to make you comfortable and fix anything that displeased you.

We are moderately price for a waterfront property of our kind. Our prices are 20% to 30% lower than the hotels and we provide many amenities that are not offered anywhere else in Ketchikan. A few of these include very high quality beds and furniture, lines, robes, bathroom accessories, and original Art and crafts throughout the Inn.

The room you stayed in is very large, but to add a writing desk, might make it seem crowded.
That is why we provide a foldaway computer table. We have 2 tables in our gathering room that guests can use for computer work. Normally our guests are out on tours or exploring the Island, so it unusual to find may people on the computer.

If you did not want to watch the TV in your room, from your bed, we would have been happy to move the large chair and foot stool to the other side of the room, where you could have watched the TV comfortably, but we did not know. We also have additional chairs that can be put in the rooms when needed.

We have the fastest high speed wireless Internet available in Alaska. If I had known you were having trouble I would have had our computer tech rep come by and check it out. Our system normally works everywhere on the property.

Our Continental Plus breakfast is self serve, because most of our guests are not interested in a set down breakfast. They are going out fishing or touring early and are not interested in setting around the Inn or having to eat at a designated time. Perhaps you did not see all the things we have available for you to eat. We provide fresh ground and instant coffees, 20+ different teas, hot chocolate, 2 or 3 different kinds of milk, 3 or 4 juices, yogurt, eggs and cheese, toast, English muffins, beagles, sweet rolls. and fresh fruit. If we were to offer more than that, we would have to charge more.

It is our goal that each person, who stays in our home, has a wonderful stay with us and that they get to truly enjoy our beautiful Island. May I suggest that if you ever find yourself unhappy, with something in a Bed and Breakfast or small family Inn in the future, you go to the owners and ask for their help. It has always been my experience that they are in the business to serve their guests and make them happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Very comfortable with a great view. Rooms are very comfy and convenient to downtown. Be sure and talk to Nicole about the right places to eat and the right guides to use. She put us on the best! Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PnRAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This lovely inn is right on the water and has a hot tub and covered patio area for outdoor cooking. There are also two decks. We stayed in the "bunkhouse," a beautifully decorated cottage with a small kitchen for light meals. There were so many amenities--TV, Sirius radio, beautiful views of the water, books, binoculars, for our use, etc. Nicole, the innkeeper, has a wealth of knowledge about what to see and where to eat. She even gave us a tip on when to see the bears feeding on the salmon, and sure enough, they were there just as she said. This is a wonderful place to stay and we highly recommend it. Oh, one more thing--when we asked Nicole for the location of a laundromat (we had just come off an adventure cruise and had a lot of dirty laundry), she insisted on washing our clothes herself. She said she couldn't bear to think of us wasting time in a laundromat when we could be out enjoying Ketchikan!

Room Tip: We only saw one other room, but it was lovely--and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We rented two rooms during our brief stay at the Black Bear Inn. The Eagles Nest apartment has two full size beds, stacked washer & dryer, full kitchen and sitting area and is very spacious. The apartment has its own entrance which is nice. The snug Bears Den room has a comfortable queen bed and a very large bathroom. The bedroom is next to the living room so we could hear the TV when it was on in the main room. No one was watching it so we simply switched it off and all was well. I really liked the make your own breakfast concept. We wanted something quick and light because of our tight time schedule, but we did have the option of making a more substantial meal.

This place felt like home. I wish we had had an extra day here to enjoy the beautiful outdoor setting; the inn is so peaceful and relaxing. Sadly we had to catch a cruise ship the next day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, AK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here during Christmas to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. What a romantic spot! We stayed in the Bunkhouse which is a separate unit next to the main inn. It was perfect and sooooo romantic for a couple! Since it was off season, there was only one other unit rented and we had the hot tub to ourselves. We would get up at dawn and make some coffee/tea and tiptoe out to the hot tub...just float there facing the ocean and watching sea lions...you could just feel the stress melt away.

Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitluup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We arrived from Michigan the day before our wedding ceremony. Jim picked us up from the Ferry dock and drove us briefly around main downtown to give us an idea of Ketchikan. Then he dropped us off so we could enjoy dinner and took our luggage back to the Inn for us. The Inn was very cozy and has amazing views from the patio and spa room. Both he and Nicole exceeded our expectations and were extremely accommodating!! Nicole even booked our wedding day dinner for us at an amazing "local" restaurant. The Black Bear Inn is a true gem in Ketchikan and we wish we could go back every year on our anniversary!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.8 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Property: Black Bear Inn
Address: 5528 N Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront Bed and Breakfast and 2 vacation Rentals built for guests who want privacy and expect the finest furnishings and amenities. Rent one of the 3 B&B suites, the whole house as a Vacation Rental, the one bedroom luxury Vacation Rental Apartment or the 2 bedroom Vacation Rental Cabin. No minimum stay required in the B&B. A 2 night minimum stay is required in the Vacation Rentals. All of the Bedrooms in the Inn have private closed in porches and entrances overlooking the ocean, large baths, fireplaces, refrigerators, cable TV, and free high speed wireless. The Inn Can accommodate up to 16. There are beautiful gardens, viewing decks and a Covered Spa and Summer Kitchen on the waters edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing