We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Owners Jim and Nicole were great. They had fabulous information on anything you wanted to do and lots of suggestions. They set up our fishing rentals and crab feed reservations all ahead of time for us and it worked out great! The place was very nice and comfortable and the view was beautiful! Vey relaxing. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at the Black Bear Inn. What a wonderful sojourn! The artist owners, Nicole and Jim, have built a wonderful paradise. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. The apartment we stayed in is, without doubt, the best of any B&B we have enjoyed in all our years of travel. Jim and Nicole are the perfect hosts. We really appreciated their introduction to Ketchikan and everything they did for us during our stay. Everything was seamless! The gardens are beautiful and the hot tub overlooking the water is to die for! If you intend visiting Ketchikan, this is the place to stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Talbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very comfortable and welcoming, we could not have done everything we had planned without the help of Nicole and James. They coordinate all our tours with the best options and help us to decide what is the best to do and see in Ketchikan.
We had a great time and we strongly recommend this B&B, it was one of the best parts of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were so pleased with what we found! We are a group of scuba divers traveling with Dive Alaska Inc. Our group rented the whole B&B to accommodate the 8 divers we had. We had divers who shared a few of the rooms, and we had a couple of folks who wanted their own private rooms.
As we were diving all day for fun, we were exciting about being able to come "home" and warm up in the hot tub! The hot tub is under a gazebo which also covers a dining area and commercial barbecue / fire pit which we cooked our steaks on. The whole property overlooks the water and is a very scenic and private setting. The kitchen was stocked with condiments and spices which saved us from having to spend more money than necessary on those things. The rooms were very nicely decorated with comfortable beds and plenty of room. This property is close enough to town to be convenient, but far enough away to feel like you're in a very natural setting. The owners were a pleasure to work with, and we feel like we got a great value for the money we paid. I would recommend this property to any large group, whether it's a family, corporate retreat, or like us, organized tour.

Room Tip: The "Bears Den" is a separate building which make a romantic space for a couple. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have stayed at the Black Bear Inn in Ketchikan, Alaska each summer for 7 or 8 years now. I have THOROUGHLY enjoyed my stay each time. It is professionally run by a great husband & wife team, they have taken great care of me and my business partners, they have great accomodations and have been great to work with. I expect to be back there next summer and would not stay anywhere else!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was heading up to Craig for a fishing trip and came into ketchikan a few days early to knock around. I booked a room here with Nicole and James - boy did that turn out to be a good move. Beautiful room, great location on the water, good eats in the morning and probably most importantly great advice from Nicole on what to do, where to go, hikes, kayak arrangements, etc.

I rented a car which was a great move - I roamed all over the area.

I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We highly recommend the Black Bear Inn for anyone visiting Kethcikan, Alaska. Nicole & Jim (the owners & operators) have a lovely home and took amazing care of us. It's quiet, right on the water, has lovely views, beautifully furnished rooms and luxurious bedding. Nicole booked all of our daily excursions/adventures and this really helped. We had the time of our lives on this incredible Alaska trip. If possible, don't just limit yourself to a cruise ship experience of up to 6 hours in Ketchikan! Stay a whole week like we did. There are so many fun things to do in Ketchikan, you can keep busy or relax, as you wish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrylin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
4.8 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
347 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
266 reviews
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
4.6 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Address: 5528 N Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9008
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range: £126 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront Bed and Breakfast and 2 vacation Rentals built for guests who want privacy and expect the finest furnishings and amenities. Rent one of the 3 B&B suites, the whole house as a Vacation Rental, the one bedroom luxury Vacation Rental Apartment or the 2 bedroom Vacation Rental Cabin. No minimum stay required in the B&B. A 2 night minimum stay is required in the Vacation Rentals. All of the Bedrooms in the Inn have private closed in porches and entrances overlooking the ocean, large baths, fireplaces, refrigerators, cable TV, and free high speed wireless. The Inn Can accommodate up to 16. There are beautiful gardens, viewing decks and a Covered Spa and Summer Kitchen on the waters edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing