We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Happy Camp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our check in at this hotel was fine. However, when we got to the room, it was a different story. First, the television was on and blaring loud. The room was really dirty, there was an old razor and bar of soap in the shower, hair in the tub and the sink, and the floor did not appear to have been mopped. When my husband went to inquire about the razor and hair, he was given a wash cloth and some "multipurpose cleaner". We had experienced a very long day (flight from CA with 3 kids), at this point, my husband was fine cleaning the bathroom himself.
The next issue we had was the lack of air-conditioning (which is normal for the location), because it was uncharacteristically warm (and humid) we had to leave ALL the windows open in our room. Our room was directly above the court yard, the noise in the morning was so loud that it was impossible to sleep past 6 or 6:30 in the morning. To combat the lack of air-conditioning, there was a small fan in our room and the fan helped tremendously. It would be better if there were a ceiling fan or a permanently attached fan in the room however, because the small fan we had just wasn't enough all the time and a bigger fan would help circulate the air much better.
Our first meal, after our long flight, was a full order of ribs (with slaw) and an order of garlic bread. The ribs were terrible, they were dry and over cooked, the bbq sauce was very "tomatoey" and very acidic. It was very disappointing however; ONE staff member went to great lengths to make sure we were comfortable when my husband asked to eat outside. She came and helped us set up a seating area on the empty patio.
We stayed at the Cape Fox Lodge for 5 days. This is DEFINATELY not a kid friendly hotel. The food was average and very expensive: $40 for a simple breakfast for 1 adult 3 kids (cold cereal for 2) and $70 for lunch for 2 adults and 3 kids. The upstairs lobby area didn't appear to have been vacuumed for a long time, there was debris on the stairs, carpet, couch, and dirty q-tips remained on the window sill upstairs for our entire stay.
Aside from the staff in the restaurant, the staff seemed unaware of our general presence. In the end, we were ready to leave this lodge when our time was up and we don’t plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on near the couryard are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capefoxlodge, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor. Your comments help us improve our service to guests. I apologize that you were not happy with your stay.
As you mentioned, we do not have the need of air conditioning in Ketchikan with our cool climate. Many guests enjoy have their windows open to the fresh ocean air.
Our restaurant prices are competitive in our area. We encourage our guests to tell us if they are not happy with their menu selection and we will do everything we can to fix the problem right away.
I'm sorry that you did not contact me during your 5 day stay so that I could have addressed these problems to make your stay more comfortable.
Sincerely,
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    92
    39
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
69
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here two nights and enjoyed a beautiful view of the harbour from our room. The elevated position of the hotel is its selling point. The staff were friendly ((sadly let down by disinterested and unsmiling breakfast service). The food was good, especially the oysters we had one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORCESTER
Level Contributor
644 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were in Ketchikan during a cruise. While walking Creek Street we came across the tram. We decided to take it to the top and I am glad we did. We got a wonderful view of ketchikan and of our cruise ship. The restaurant looked appetizing but we didn't have time to stay. The tram ride was an interesting to ride as well.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
343 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I visit Ketchikan yearly and most often stay a night or two at Cape Fox. I find the hotel to be comfortable and close to town. It is however away from the bustling Cruise ship crowd by virtue of it's tram. It has it's own restaurant and bar and they are adequate. They view from the restaurant over town is excellent as are the views from the rooms. The hotel does not have air conditioning and it does not need it 350 days per year. They do have table fans in most rooms. Summer nights require leaving your windows open and kids in town can on occasion be noisy until late at night. Overall it is a good value. It is well kept, fairly well attended and attractive facility. By taking the tram down 150' you find yourself in a shop and restaurant zone on the back edge of town which is very convenient. It also has trails to parks and residential zones thru wooded areas. A four plus and with some effort could be a five.

Room Tip: 100 close to lobby 600 a ways away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were staying at the Cape Fox to conduct business meetings with some Ketchikan community residents. Melissa picked us up from the ferry and provided us with a tour of the town. Daniel helped us set up in one of the conference rooms and everyone made us feel comfortable with water and coffee. Tyler also helped us set up our meeting and drove us around the town when we needed supplies for our meeting. Thank you Cape Fox for your excellent service and convenient location. We will remember you on our business trips to Ketchikan!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMS60880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capefoxlodge, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor we pride ourselves on making each stay for our corporate visitors comfortable and friendly. It's hard enough to be away from family so please consider us your second family away from home! Each employee mentioned on Tripadvisor receives a personal 'Thank you" from me.
Janet Gideon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Although we didn't have the opportunity to stay here overnight, we did enjoy a quick visit by accessing the funicular from Creek Street. The employees were friendly and the lobby was charming and clean, and Oh, the views of Ketchikan from the large windows were awesome. We felt like we were in a cozy tree house. Outside there is a driveway and native decorations, along with access to a lovely downhill trail (Married Man's Trail, I think) leading back to Creek Street. I would love to return to Ketchikan someday and spend a few days at the Cape Fox Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank armchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a lovely clean hotel with beautiful views across Ketchican Harbour. The staff are wonderful and very helpful and the food is fantastic.The follicular railway from reception leads straight on to Creek Street and is minutes from the centre of town,

Room Tip: Hotel also has rooms with views across the mountains at the back, I liked the sea view better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMotions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
311 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
359 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Property: Cape Fox Lodge
Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing