We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smoking in the lounge and restaurant is terrible!”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The smoking in the lounge and restaurant is terrible! It is difficult to believe that it is still allowed in this day and age. Especially in an otherwise nice establishment. That said, the hotel is in a great location with great views and access to the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joao313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Arrived a day early for an Alaskan Dream Cruise (fantastic cruise, by the way). Room was large and clean. Had a fridge and microwave we didn't use as well as all the other expected amenities. Great basketry and Tlinget history exhibits in the lobby/stairwells. They were redoing flooring in their computer nook, so that was out; they had wifi. Complementary tram up and down to Creek Street for guests. Great views and pretty location for walking as well. Had a good breakfast in their restaurant (was closed when we got in the night before). We paid $180 for a couple in the room; prices in Alaska aren't cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greyheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Arrived at 8.30pm on Sunday after a very long flight from UK to be told the restaurant was closed as last orders are taken at 8pm. Staff were not prepared to serve us a drink either, even though the bar area was still quite full.
The funicular railway was out of order, so we had to walk down the very steep hill to town for food and drink - then back up the hill again afterward,
We stayed 5 nights, and the funicular was very rarely working. In fact we were able to use it just twice during the entire stay
Rooms were clean, with great views and the hotel was otherwise good, so such a shame we were let down by the service. Food improved after day 3, but was average to poor until then.
There was a large group staying for the first couple of days, and we got the impression they were stressing the staff out, which may be the reason.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If you wish to enjoy some of the best that Southeast Alaska has to offer by way of restful accomodations, friendly professional service and stunning views, the Cape Fox Lodge should fill all of these requirements. I have been a guest there on a number of occasions but this is my first review of the lodge. For the business traveler it offers quiet rooms and fast wireless internet. For the pleasure traveler, it offers a stunning setting among large trees with a beautiful collection of totem poles in the front. The view of the harbor with the cruise ships docked is very intersesting. The restaurant offers excellent preparation of locally-caught halibut, cod and other seafoods. The staff is very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are seeking gifts or a taste of early days Ketchikan, a funicular (cliff railway) runs from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Friendly front desk staff and they picked us up from the visitor centre by shuttle. Good location away from the cruise boats, in the centre of everything. Very clean.

Restaurant is very overpriced and service was poor. After suddenly realizing after 20 minutes the forgot us (after a reminder) many apologies but they could have at least comped a dessert on a $200 cheque for two.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giraudcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Here at the cozy and characteristic Cape Fox Lodge I've experienced the classic situation when the view does half of the job itself.
The lodge is strategically situated on top of a gentle hill facing Ketchikan harbour and the view from the dining veranda will leave you breathless.
However there are few things which made me give this property an "average" score which could have been avoided with a better supervision of the dining personnel.
While the front desk is accommodating and gentle (be carefull because the check-in won't be earlier than 3pm) welcoming you with a genuine smile the Service at the Dining facility need improvement. Despite the room portfolio reads the dinner is served until 8h30pm, I had to insist to be seated when I was at the entrance at 8h10pm. I also have been not friendly told to hurry up my chice due to the galley being on closing. Not impressed. The menu is rich and meals are presented with care for details which is a plus for the Chef. Well done!
Don't miss the fisherman plate, the halibut (fresh) and at breakfast the 'glory porfait' is a MUST.
Unfortunately another negative remark goes for a fly found in the glass of wine I ordered the evening mentioned above aftre the 2 sip.
The experience at the Cape Fox Lodge could have been surely better if those two incidents had been anticipated by the Supervisor in the room which I suggest to better exploit his managerial skill.

Room Tip: Chose a room with view on the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirko074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Visited restaurant during cruise stop - awesome reward for venturing up funicular on Creek Street I sampled chowders all the way to Fairbanks - nothing came close - the appetizer of brie, crabmeat, green apple slices, and sourdough bread was a perfect complement - wonderful respite from the ship - excellent service - beautiful views - craft beers - a total delight!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
345 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £64 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing