We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Cape Fox is just the most beautiful Lodge ever.So friendly,just like being at home ,only better!! The staff are like family,the scenery unbeatable ,and , the foods great too! Has a little cable car from Creek Street up to lobby for undisrupted views of Ketchikan and the Tongass Straits.highly recommend a spray here,you will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We splashed out to stay here as it was our last couple of nights in Alaska and we had been staying in hostels/motels up till this point. Whilst the room was very spacious and comfortable, you are definitely paying for the location and therefore the view. The room was no bigger or more comfortable than several other places we stayed for half the price (and there was only a single comfy chair even though it was a double room?). If you have the time to stay in, relax and admire the view then it is definitely worth it but if you’re going to be out most of the time, I don’t think it’s worth the extra expense. The view was lovely and we enjoyed watching the cruise ships coming and going as the sun was setting. The tram up and down the hill was certainly a novelty and very handy to avoid the steep climb, it also worked the whole time we were there. The free shuttle to and from the ferry terminal/airport was also very handy and the comfortable lounge next to a roaring log fire was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a destination in itself. A dynamite view perched atop a high cliff overlooking the harbor with cruise ships and floatplanes coming and going. Crispy clean room with comfortable beds and quiet, quiet, quiet. A wonderful restaurant for dinner and breakast along with a cozy lounge area.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Field M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The staff is vert helpful. After having a bad experience the first night, due to bigfoot upstairs and a room that was too hot in the main building. we moved to an outside room on the third floor.The views are wonderful from both floors. We preferred the harbor view. The beds were new and cofortable as were the pillows. Beautiful hotel with all the museum like artifacts.
My husband and travel a lot and we find if you don't like something ask .They even gave us a late check out due to our flight leaving after 5 pm. We did have to talk to the manager for this.
I know what the guest mean about the smoke in the bar, but we asked to be moved into the dining room and that solved the problem.
Overall it was agreat experience for 8 nights.

Room Tip: We preferred to be out of the main lodge due to the heat. Our trip was end of Sept. not sure what su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The smoking in the lounge and restaurant is terrible! It is difficult to believe that it is still allowed in this day and age. Especially in an otherwise nice establishment. That said, the hotel is in a great location with great views and access to the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joao313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Arrived a day early for an Alaskan Dream Cruise (fantastic cruise, by the way). Room was large and clean. Had a fridge and microwave we didn't use as well as all the other expected amenities. Great basketry and Tlinget history exhibits in the lobby/stairwells. They were redoing flooring in their computer nook, so that was out; they had wifi. Complementary tram up and down to Creek Street for guests. Great views and pretty location for walking as well. Had a good breakfast in their restaurant (was closed when we got in the night before). We paid $180 for a couple in the room; prices in Alaska aren't cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greyheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Arrived at 8.30pm on Sunday after a very long flight from UK to be told the restaurant was closed as last orders are taken at 8pm. Staff were not prepared to serve us a drink either, even though the bar area was still quite full.
The funicular railway was out of order, so we had to walk down the very steep hill to town for food and drink - then back up the hill again afterward,
We stayed 5 nights, and the funicular was very rarely working. In fact we were able to use it just twice during the entire stay
Rooms were clean, with great views and the hotel was otherwise good, so such a shame we were let down by the service. Food improved after day 3, but was average to poor until then.
There was a large group staying for the first couple of days, and we got the impression they were stressing the staff out, which may be the reason.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
347 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
381 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £109 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing