We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I so wanted to write a rave review about this place but sadly cannot. The room is huge and the location amazing, and the majority of the staff very nice.
The bed is huge and clean but the pillows need replacing. Food in the restaurant is pricey but very nice. Sadly the big clumps of the previous occupants hair in the bath and the dirty sink are unacceptable to me. I am only here for one night so will cope but this and the broken cable car really let it down
:(

Room Tip: Not one over the front reception as there is a lot of noise outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideon, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
I am sorry you were not able to rave about Cape Fox Lodge. We consider cleanliness very important and want each of our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. I wish you had brought it to our attention so we could have corrected any issue. Our tram to downtown is a great convenience and maintenance is the top priority, we try to limit the down time as much as possible. Again we are sorry that you were not able to experience Cape Fox Lodge at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    88
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
42
65
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I love the setting and the lodge feel of this hotel. It is set up on the hill overlooking the harbor and with pretty mountain views in the back. In addition it's location is made convenient by an elevator that brings you down to creek street. The windows of the restaurant provide stunning views of the tree tops. My only complaint is the hotel is starting to show some wear. I hope management will stay on top of that. A little maintenance should make the difference as the decor is still up to date. All in all one of the two ( New York hotel being the other) best places to stay in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akdoghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was my third stay at the Cape Fox. As always, my room was very clean and quiet, the bed is comfy, the room was large and had a lovely view. I love that the windows open for fresh air, and I love that they provide a fridge and microwave. The hotel is in kind of a weird place way up on a hill, but they have a reliable team that you can take to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanAlison907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
303 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

For a small property in a very small town, the Cape Fox Lodge was a big surprise. The rooms were roomy, pretty, clean and comfortable. My side of the building had a view of the water and what a view it was! It made me smile every morning. My room had a microwave and refrigerator in it. The staff was friendly. The lobby area was open with lots of glass and views. The staff is very friendly and even lent me one of their umbrellas when it rained.The hotel is directly across from the town's convention center and very convenient to everything.

Room Tip: Every room has a view: water or mountains. I recommend water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We loved the Cape Fox Lodge! While not luxurious, it is exceedingly comfortable and evocative of the place and peoples of SE Alaska. Our room was large, with lovely views of the harbor. The king size bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom very clean, and the linens were spotless. Another "plus" at the Cape Fox is the on-site restaurant. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinners in the lodge dining room, and the wonderful views from our table overlooking Ketchikan and the harbor. One unexpected pleasure at the hotel was the presence of beautiful native art and totems. In closing, we would like to commend the wonderful staff at the Lodge, to the person they were warm, welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the2ofusWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. I have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean, beds are good, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. It has a tram to the docks along the creek. The lobby is beautiful and includes museum displays. A nice coffee shop is connected to the lobby. This hotel has ambience. I was very much impressed by the shuttle which is a plus in Ketchikan since the airport is not exactly walking distance to anywhere. Our flight was cancelled causing us to arrive a day late and the hotel shuttle was there for travelers even though we did not call the hotel asking for a shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpguy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

While probably the nicer hotel in Ketchikan, keep in mind that it is in Ketchikan, a very small town.

First, it is difficult to locate if you are driving yourself. Make sure you are prepared to stop and ask for directions. The rooms all have views ,either mountain or ocean but make sure to get the ocean view. The rooms in general are large, sparsely furnished, have one or 2 available plugs for electronics and very little decor. Rooms do have a microwave and small refrigerator. They are definitely in need of an update as it feels like a place fishermen and hunters come after a long day out. They have a least one room that I'm aware of it that is wonderful. 4 poster bed, hardwood floors,glass tiled bathroom with marble counter top, heated toilet seat, panoramic ocean view, and all of the little in room amenities to spoil yourself with.

The hotel itself has vast sitting areas with a fireplace on the main floor, native artifacts with descriptions on both levels and a small coffee shop (open time is very limited). The hotel also has a tram which brings you to the downtown area, eating establishments, shopping and bars. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

The biggest down side to this hotel is the restaurant inside. They still allow smoking and although it's allowed "only in the bar", the restaurant is in the same room and the smoke spills out into the main lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
352 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
154 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Property: Cape Fox Lodge
Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing