We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable; outstanding view; ride the funicular for free!”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very comfortable; outstanding view; ride the funicular for free!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Cape Fox continues to be a special place and a wonderful gateway to Alaska. It has a warm feel to it, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, outstanding views and the best ride in town to take you up the hill, for free when you are a guest (on the funicular). If you don't know what a funicular is, see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Funicular. In this case, it is a single car, not a dual system, with a counterweight moving up and down as the car moves opposite, up or down.

I have been staying at the Cape Fox for years. The only thing I can say is that some of the facility is starting to look well used ... scratched wood and walls. But overall it still deserves an excellent rating.

Restaurant is good, slightly expensive. I prefer to go into town for dinner. But the view is to fantastic! So if you want ambiance ... eat at the restaurant.

And of course if you're having a meeting next door at the convention center ... what a perfect place to be.

The Cape Fox will always be my #1 preference for lodging in Ketchikan (unless I'm doing something out near the ferry dock, in which case I'll stay at the Best Western).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Steve_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    98
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
49
73
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A comfortable and quiet place to retreat for anyone wanting to enjoy downtown Ketchikan during the tourism off season. The third floor suite offers amazing views of Creek Street, downtown Ketchikan and the Tongass Narrows

Room Tip: Stay in one of the two suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nadrafied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Their beds are extremely short. If you are over 5'5'', your feet will hang over the bed. Shuttles are free and they drop you off where ever you wish and they are suppose to leave every 30 minutes, :20 and :50 after the hour. Except for us, while we waited for a ride for a full hour. Didn't have much time in Ketchikan and a hour was wasted because of lack of communication between driver and the front desk. Food at Cape Fox Lodge, or at least the breakfast, splendid. The host are quiet young and they extremely lack respect for customers. The waiters work hard, but cooks got wrong order and had to wait an extra 30 minutes. overall stay- pleasant.

Room Tip: If you are from Alaska and seen it all, pick mountain side view, $10 to see the ocean that you see e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waatsasdiyei11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cape Fox is a nice hotel in downtown ketchikan. Pretty quiet during the off (tourist) season. Basic room, sporatic wifi, good food. Either view the snow covered mountain or the waterfront. The tram is usually operating but I have been there when it is not. Take 'married man's stairs' downthe hill to the river and into town.
The river is great when salmon are running.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay in Ketchikan was for two nights. At first the reviews I read on trip advisor had me a little nervous. But after my arrival I realized that this is a wonderful place to stay. The beds are awesome the view is spectacular and the location is convenient using the tram right down to Creek Street. All of the staff is very friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend this lodge for your stay in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I arrived at The Cape Fox Lodge shortly after my husband arrived on business. The location is beautiful! The tram from Creek Street is free if you are a guest at the hotel, which I liked very much. Riding the tram you will get some beautiful pictures. Also this hotel is close to everything that you could possibly want to do in Ketchikan. However the room was just average and it always felt slightly damp on the rug which I thought was odd. It felt like there was no circulation in the room and always smelled slightly musty. The service here, I felt was below average for the most part. Any time I went up to the front desk it always felt like i was bothering the workers. With the exception of one or two employees The Cape Fox really was disappointing in they customer service skills. The restaurant is very scenic but I would also say it was over priced and very average as well. The wait staff was polite but also not quick about getting food out. All in all a semi disappointing location for me. A little help in the customer service department would go a long way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just stayed at Cape Fox in August 2013. Lovely place, everyone real friendly. I had a nice view of the port, some of the town of Ketchikan, and all the cruise ships. Ketchikan is a gem. The town reminded me of a old west town but with paved streets. A lot to see and do.

Room Tip: Pay up for the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchampeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Property: Cape Fox Lodge
Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing