We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge, great views”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived at Cape Fox Lodge at 9.00 in the morning on completion of an Un-cruise adventure cruise. We were able to get an early check-in which we really appreciated. Our room was huge with fabulous views over Ketchikan and the waterfront marred only by the oversized cruise ships which dwarf Ketchikan. We ate both lunch and dinner and both times the food was good, the staff were extremely friendly and the service was great. There is a wonderful display of Native history and art on the 1st floor which is well worth a look as are the totem poles outside the back entrance of the hotel. Don't miss a ride on the cable car - it is free for guests and is a 2 min ride down the hill to the town of Ketchikan. Ketchikan is a great little town but unfortunately the waterfront is dominated by tacky tourist shops but walk beyond and you will be rewarded by its history. Creek Street which used to be the haunt of prostitutes and criminals in the 1800s and early 1900s is an interesting collection of historical houses which have been renovated and now operate as galleries.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor of the main lodge have great views over Ketchikan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAS2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Amazing hotel half way up the mountainside but don't worry they have a courtesy bus and also free cable car to get you down into town and back again!

Fantastic views over the city from room and restaurant...fab food too! Salmon added to Caesar salad was sublime and filling and only about 11 dollars and big glass of iced water free! Also recommend peanut pudding...very rich so we shared it! Reception ladies very helpful...when we couldn't work the coffee machine in the room they actually came and showed us instantly.

Lovely art work in the reception area and ring of totem poles outside. Lots of attractions within walking distance...great welcome in a great place.

When you get the courtesy bus to the airport you have to get a ferry over to the airport which costs 5 dollars and there is a free trolley to wheel your luggage on and quite a steep slope to push it up on the other side to get into the airport...I am 60 and just managed it ...don't know how older people would manage but that is not the hotels fault!

Only criticism of the hotel is that our room was on the lower floor (610) and there was no lift so it was hard to carry heavy suitcase.

One good thing if you have washing to do there is a laundry room with several washing and drying machines and vending machines selling chocolates and crisps etc.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a lower floor room if you have heavy cases...610 was lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

When our group arrived, only one young staff member was available to check us in; it seemed to take forever. No bell hops were on duty so we had to lug our bags a considerable distance, then up two flights of stairs to our room on the upper level. The room was well equipped, but the decor is now rather tired. The bathroom likewise, but clean. Service at dinner was very slow indeed, but the food was fine. Breakfast was rather rudimentary. The location overlooking the town is spectacular. The main lodge building is quite impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

There is so much we absolutely loved about this place but there were quite a few disappointments as well. Our experience started with a 50 minute wait time for a shuttle pick-up from the airport ferry terminal, which is about a five to eight minute ride from the lodge. That said, fast forward to our last day: we missed the shuttle to the ferry terminal by two minutes (our fault) and after the driver came back from his routine, he immediately made an extra trip, just for the two of us. Needless to say, we greatly appreciated that!

We visited early in the tourism season and the fact that the funicular wasn’t operating yet was a letdown. It operates like an elevator and provides a very quick and easy access to Creek Street and the downtown area, 130 vertical feet below. Instead we had to hike up and down the pretty, but very steep Married Man’s Trail, which quickly turns into a chore if you don’t have a vehicle and need to haul your shopping bags an extra quarter mile and up some 100+ stairs.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Thunderbird Suite; it was big enough for ballroom dancing and had a lovely view, but showed quite a bit of wear and tear on the dated furniture. Big disappointments were the stained sheets and towels. I’m hoping that we just experienced housekeeping on an off-day. Paying over $400 for two nights, I guess our expectations were high. The bedroom was really nice, with a row of windows as wide as the room, facing the forest and Ketchikan Creek below; very quiet and peaceful. The king bed had a foam mattress, providing for some of the best sleep we ever had in a hotel room.The lodge has an unbeatable charm and it was nice to stay local, at a place that is not owned by the cruise ship industry…

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuroraAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

AuroraAlaska,
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us however, I wish it had been perfect. Thank you for your comments, they really help us know where we need to improve. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Maybe it's just Ketchikan, I don't know, but this "classy hotel" is not much better than an average Best Western. I'm not sure why people are so impressed unless they usually stay at a Super 8,

Nothing was horrible, but nothing was amazing either. The room had a funny odor and was Spartan in its decor. If every place else didn't also have an algae issue, I would complain about that, but after all, it is a rain forest.

The hotel restaurant food is little more than dressed up pub fare. Perhaps that suits some tastes, but we expected more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesuistom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I loved this place. The food was excellent and the attention to detail was superb. I recommend the catering very highly as well as the service if you are hosting a meeting or just need a weekend getaway. I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boatchick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Checking in was the beginning of the hassle, it was an hour long process as our "confirmed reservation" didn't matter, because they didn't have a room available. It continued going downhill from there. No
Courtesy van, the new front desk manager was unpleasant about everything. She spoke to other employees about our frustration and from then on we got horrible service from every part of the hotel: housekeeping, front desk, restaurant, etc.
I DO NOT recommend this hotel.
Go to The Landing instead: 225-5166

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ak907a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I have looked into this and
I am sorry a room was not available for check in when you arrived that morning however, I am glad we were able to get you checked into a room a couple hours prior to our 3:00 check in time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
345 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £64 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing