We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service! Still Outdated”
Review of Super 8 Ketchikan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ketchikan
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service! Still Outdated”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the shuttle driver was so accommodating too! The rooms are clean, but could use a little modernization with furnishings, havent seen a tube tv in a hotel in a long time! The bed was a bit old, but still slept well...please give more pillows!!! In a decent location, right beside a shopping plaza, safeway and some restaurants. A bit far from the AMHS Ferry Terminal and airport to walk, need a shuttle or taxi. 20 minute walk from downtown (where the cruise ships are). Bring an umbrella or good rain jacket, rains hard and sideways there! See the lumberjack show downtown, worth the $ and the staff in the store are great!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms facing the water, if you like to see float planes land and take off get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunkissedmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    55
    57
    40
    30
See reviews for
57
37
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When planning our trip, I should have payed more attention to the previous comments about the floatplanes. When the cruise ships are in port the planes are nonstop noise taking off and landing from scenic excursions. Their flight pattern is on the main channel next to the hotel. To top off our aggravation, the weather was unseasonably warm requiring keeping the windows open to get a breath of air. Keep in mind that most buildings in this part of Alaska have no AC (excluding Wal-Mart, the mall and McDonalds). Propping the hallway door open to get any type of air current was a necessity. Also with the window open (on the north side of the building) you can clearly hear the McDonalds drive through speaker. To top off our experience we had the unfortunate event of having a highly intoxicated lodger in the room next to us. Belligerent, loud, destructive and generally noisy till 4am, there was no relief. When the night manager was contacted all we got was the comment that he would call upstairs and ask them to quiet down. Didn't work. My concerns the next morning to the manager garnered no real sympathy or concern. Fortunately the drunk was gone the next day or we would have demanded a room change. The next night there was a loud domestic in the parking lot in the early morning hours, but at least this time the cops were called. Yes, the place is dated and basically a stopover for sportsman and ferry passengers. It is not a spot for a tourist wishing a leisurely cultural experience of Ketchikan. In our room the carpet was old and stained, the chairs desperately needed replacing due to stains of unknown origin that prompted my wife to cover with a towel before she would sit in them. On the first night we found one of the bed blankets soiled and dirty. Complements to management on replacing the blanket the next day. The bathroom was in acceptable shape. The carpet was not vacuumed during our entire stay and had not been cleaned when the previous occupant left (we found debris on the carpet - MMs, broken pen, etc.). The breakfast room was lightly stocked and there were limited options but the employee there did a good job of keeping it cleaned and stocked. The laundry room was kept clean for lodgers usage. The whole experience left me with a poor feeling for Super 8 and reminder of the old days before internet reviews when you never knew what to experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

Red Lake Falls, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff was so very helpful with advice/planning. The hotel was clean if a bit dated. But I think it was a good value. One drawback was the floatplanes taking off early in the morning. But we were always on our way early so it didn't bother us. The staff was also so willing to always set up a shuttle for us, no matter our destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you stay during the summer, then you are charged way too high of price for this hotel. Very basic room. Dated fixtures and furniture. If you are a light sleeper, then this is NOT the hotel for you because of the float planes coming and going right near hotel. There is a mini mall located next to this hotel, which also has a McDonald's. We had problems with the tv reception and called the front desk. But, front desk clerk was not helpful. For about $30 more you should make reservations at Best Western Landing. Told my husband we are never staying here, ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ak747gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. It was not fancy, but we don't stay in our hotel anyway! We had a great view and could see bald eagles flying around over the hotel from our window! This hotel beat my expectations. I will stay at Super 8 again and I will recommend this hotel to friends and family without reservation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Shirleyhappy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Friendly, We were late for our cruise and had booked the Motel Super 8 for one night until the ship came into dock the next day. The driver who picked us up at the dock and brought us to the motel was wonderful and friendly. the office clerk was helpful in letting us know what time breakfast is, and letting us know the driver will take us to the ship the next day when we are ready to leave. I couldn't have asked for nicer people to talk to when we were having such a bad day of traveling...thanks for your employees, kudos to great people....Patricia Dohery

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 6434noelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ketchikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ketchikan

Property: Super 8 Ketchikan
Address: 2151 Sea Level Dr, Tongass Development Center W, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ketchikan 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ketchikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ketchikan
Ketchikan Super 8
Ketchikan Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing