We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it...”
Review of Super 8 Ketchikan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Ketchikan
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Reviewed 9 August 2010

First of all lodging in Ketchikan is very expensive and we knew that, but 167$ per night is very exaggerate for the room...There was gum sticked under the table, smelly carpet and the windows were dirty ...The bath tub needs to be ''refresh'' it was old and dirty...Positive note the hotel has a shuttle...Best western looks brand new could be an option...

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NG_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

We were flying in private plane from Palmer, Ak to Shelton, Wa and found that we needed to stay the night in Ketchican. Very nice man checked us in to the motel and it seemed we were off to a good start. However, he neglected to mention a sales tax of 6% and a room tax of 7% which increased our bill by 13%. Also, even with a "do not disturb" sign left on the door, the maid pounded on our door at 8 am and then came on in. After dosing off again, the phone rang. It was the front desk saying they had never heard of us and what were we doing in their room?! After getting that straigtened out, we gave up and got up. We went to try the "complimentary breakfast" and could not get back in our room as the key was cancelled even though check out was not till 1200 noon. Breakfast was cold cereal, instant oatmeal, watered OJ or miniture sweet rolls. We skipped it. Another practice we found objectional was being asked if we were Alaskan residents. It seems that if we had of been, we would have been given an automatic discount. We were told that the motel had WIFI but when we got there, were told it had not been working for several days. All in all even thought our check in was smooth and helpful, it was an awful experience. I would not recomend them to anyone.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JanJA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I was picked up at the airport ferry terminal and the van guy was very friendly. The hotel was clean and check in was super smooth. The room was very basic with all the stuff including high speed internet.

Breakfast was continental breakfast with some yummy muffins and instant hot cereal, but the room was clean and the girl was really nice and friendly. She told me some things to do for fun in Ketchikan.

I liked this hotel because it was clean and had a gorgeous view of the water. The float planes are loud but that part of the Ketchikan charm.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonZoeysGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

There is not any A/C. This is not a child friendly hotel, as the windows open completly with out any safty devices. The staff were very friendly and the location was good. The rooms do not have a table or chairs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkideUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

A friend and I have been coming to Ketchikan for our anuual fishing trip for the past 15 years and have seen lots of changes. The hotel and staff had been going downhill over the years, and was under new management this last summer. The place looked a little better kept, but it's still a very basic room and hotel, and many of the previous amenities that we've enjoyed are not longer available: removed fold out sofa for third bed in suites; shuttle now on limited schedule instead of on demand; coffee in lobby moved or discontinued; The room rates are quite steep - for what you get - even for Ketchikan. However, there are still reasons we go back: early check in with no problems - we've been weathered in before, and were checked in with no problems at 10:00am; freezer in laundry room (keep your frozen groceries for departure or fish for return); close to float plane docks; convenient location across from shopping mall and groceries. Overall, a basic room to stay in transit - but wouldn't stay here if Ketchikan was your vacation destination.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

great location on the harbour with excellent staff. Couldn't have chosen a better place. Prompt shuttle service to and from the fferry was provided free. So too, for trips anywhere we wished to go in Ketchikan during our stay. Room had a marvellous view of the harbour, was clean and quiet. Breakfast is included although the hostess in this area tends to be a bit overwhelming with the non stop conversation. Front desk staff were helpful and efficient and the shuttle drivers more than pleasant..

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverstayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Went to Ketchikan for some fishing with my family. Decided to stay at the Super 8 Motel. Not sure I would stay here again.

Check in was ok, room was pretty basic, two double beds, small desk area, did not think there were enough lamps, kind of dark. Bathroom was also pretty basic with very small bars of soap and paper items, ran out of kleenex, did not get replaced. Room is heated, but you have to ask front desk to turn on the heat. No screen on the windows, fortunately, the Alaskan mosquitos did not figure it out, as we had to keep windows open at night. No refrigerator.

Location is OK, next to McDonalds and Safeway grocery store, but can be loud in morning. Fairly close to the ferry to get to the airport. Not the quietest hotel around

Breakfast is minimal--store bagels, coffee, juice, cereal and microwave oatmeal in styrofoam bowls. Breakfast is included with price of room. They do have a freezer for storing fish you catch, but it was full before we got to use it. They have laundry facility and vending machines.

While I was there they seemed to be having some staffing problems--front desk people missing shifts, breakfast room people missing shifts. Felt kind of sorry for the poor lady who was there when we checked in at 4pm on Saturday and was in breakfast room when we ate breakfast at 7am on Sunday.

I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank onoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ketchikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ketchikan

Address: 2151 Sea Level Dr, Tongass Development Center W, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £84 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ketchikan 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Ketchikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ketchikan
Ketchikan Super Eight
Ketchikan Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing