We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here..”
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Checked in paid 96 dollars for the room.The first room they sent me to smelled so much like rotten fish I almost thew up.I was then given another room w itch no ac it was so hot I had to open the windows which made it better and then went to sleep.When I woke up the next day I was itching like mad from bug bites all over me at last count it was 64 bites I am miserable .I have scabs all over my body from scratching I look like a leper.I have been in Alaska for the past 5 years and I'm used to being robbed by the local hotels but this was by far the worse place I have ever stayed it was dirty and the place stunk.I have stayed in better hotels in the phillipines for 5 dollars a night.My advice is if you go to Ketchikan take a cruise ther and sleep on the boat.

Room Tip: Don't think ther is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barryadamar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Old stuffy rooms with some rooms where the view is the next building wall 6 feet away
You can speak to your neighbours through the wall
Service pathetic
If you stayover they ask or you need any room service
Like you want to clean up for $170 a night!!!!
No service manager available on Sunday 19 august
Room not cleaned at 16h00
?cleaning lady left

Never ever again
Booked 6/12 ago
No aircon no ventilation
Warned by check in lady room can get toasty
When asked about waiting for a manager was told have a blast while waiting
No skills to deal with customers

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabouter1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

! We arrived to find they had given our room with 2 beds away even though I had written confirmation of 2 beds. They compromised and gave us a different style which worked for us & would have been ok with except it was now on a different floor than our friends instead of next door & worst of all it was at the back of the building above the kitchen. Since they leave their kitchen windows & back door open all we heard was the banging of the trash lid in the alley the recycling & dishes banging around until 1 am every night. At one point I could even hear the staff on the smoke break profanely discussing how wasted they were the previous night. I politely called the FD to request they at least shut the door since we had a 3 am ferry & were attempting to get some sleep but I was told that they needed to leave it open to take the trash out. ( really ? From 9 pm - 1 am!) Even with our windows shut it was ridiculously loud. Our family (including our 3 yr old) got virtually no sleep.
On a positive note the shuttle was nice and the hotel location was very convenient...JUST BE SURE YOUR ROOM ISN'T IN THE BACK OF THE BUILDING!

Room Tip: If you gets the "ocean view" all you can really see is the cruise ships but it is way bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagerAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Gilmore in July 2012 for 2 nights. We arrived very late from the Alaska Ferry and we were tired and just wanted to sleep... this was the beginning of our 2 week vacation in SE Alaska. When we turned down the sheets there were hairs on the linens. It looked like the sheets hadn't been washed, or perhaps washed poorly. We went down to at least ask for new pillowcases (which we got). Savannah at the desk was very nice and helpful. Back upstairs, we found that the door wouldn't close and latch so down we went again to get another room (luckily there was one!). The sheets were okay this time, but overall, we'd have to point out that the room was really grungy... you'd feel uncomfortable walking barefoot on the carpet and you'd not even want to place your bags on the couch.
The Gilmore has some history and there's nothing wrong with a place having character, but there's no excuse for a lack of cleanliness.

Room Tip: There's a lot of rowdy bar noise from out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Three story walkup (no elevator), but friendly and old world construction privacy between rooms. Annabelle's bar and restaurant serves superb clam chowder as well as a good breakfast for guests between 6am and 9am. A great stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for water side on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onesleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a very good experience here. A van picked the four of us up promptly at the ferry terminal after we called. The room was comfortable and clean. The beds were particularly comfortable. My kids loved the fresh-baked cookies in the lobby. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to store our bags when we needed to. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated. Location can't be beat. It's not a fancy place, but we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank ZorroCat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Gilmore Hotel June 22 - June 23, 2012. We would definitely stay there again. The location was great, the room was nice and clean . Everyone we came in connect with was very helpful and accommodating and always had a smile.
Definitely a great place for the independent traveler. Thank you Chandler and Linz.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
345 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#9 of 10 in Ketchikan
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Address: 326 Front St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing