We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, Location, Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

As other viewers have noted, the Gilmore is old (built in 1927), the rooms are small, there is no air conditioning... This is all true, but if you want a room downtown there are very few choices. Over 95% of visitors to Ketchikan bring their rooms with them on cruise ships. Some tips on the Gilmore--the rooms in front can be noisy in the mornings because it is on Front St. and there is a lot of bus traffic picking up cruisers. The rooms in the back have a view of the wall of the building next door but they are cooler and not as noisy. The staff is friendly and helpful but especially at busy times, a bit disorganized. There is no elevator, so get some help if you are on the third floor. Our joke was that the stairs was the fitness center. Breakfast is included but very basic (coffee, cereal, rolls..) nothing hot. Annibel's next door is the best restaurant in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    40
    29
    31
    19
See reviews for
17
48
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rdige,Ca USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

5 of us traveled to Ketchikan on the start of our 2 week Alaska journey. We enjoyed the short ferry ride across the river from the airport. Got a taxi to town and settled in at the Gilmore. We all liked
the old fashioned decor and that it has charm- not a new plastic trendy place. Our beds were comfy, and we overlooked the street which was fun to people watch. Annabelle's bar and restaurant were right downstairs, which was nice as we were only staying 1 night. If you are looking for 5 star hotels, stay else where and miss out on what life was like a few years back!

Room Tip: Need to mention all the rooms are upstairs and you have to carry your luggage up- bonus exercise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bajasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketchikandeb2013, General Manager at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We truly enjoyed the 5 of you staying at our Historic Hotel, it's such a pleasure to see the joy on guests face as they experience their Alaskan Journey. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, we are super delighted your group enjoyed Annabelle's, we look forward to seeing you on your next adventure to Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

If you go to Ketchikan do not stay here!!!!!!! I'm so chewed up and just returned home and have taken 3 showers and still feel nasty! The staff is very warm and welcoming and enjoyed that but the rooms are very dark and unwelcoming. I do understand it's an old building but they really need to upgrade everything and that includes an exterminator. I asked the staff to change my bed spread as it smelled like a wet dog she apologized even though it wasn't her fault. But that place is not worth your money. Hopefully whatever was chewing on me did not follow me home!! And the restaurant Annabelles that belongs to the same person very expensive and nasty!! I love that city and have been there a few times but this is my first experience in this place and my last time. The wait staff in the restaurant (the girl's) are rude and don't care about you the bartender guy's are awesome. So if you want to hangout in that town stay at the other motels there do not eat at Annabelles go to the Pioneer Cafe on Mission and truly enjoy that town! Make sure the Sourdough Bar is on your love list!

Room Tip: No room at this place is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goobersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketchikandeb2013, General Manager at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We at The Gilmore Hotel and Annabelle's are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, I personally had several conversations with you but unfortunately none of them during your entire stay was on the subject of bugs or poor service in our restaurant. I personally tried to contact you after reading the review you posted, I even tried to reach you at your employment to no avail. Actually I was pretty upset that the review was even posted but I am told that best thing to do is to give a response so I will do my best .
First and Foremost "We DO NOT have bed bugs and I invite anyone to come and see for themselves, We do however have No See Em's in Alaska and when it's summertime it's a good idea to wear a sweater or bug spray when going outside to avoid the bites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you're looking for a traditional hotel with a cookie cutter room and bathroom, standard entryway and maybe a pool, this isn't the place for you. But, if you want to stay in one of the oldest standing buildings in Alaska, right near the heart of town, on top of a wonderful pub, this is the place for you. I heard it could get quite loud staying here, but it never bothered me. And the great thing about this place is that you can walk to everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjohnston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketchikandeb2013, General Manager at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We sure do appreciate your review of our Great location and Value! Thank you for staying will us and we are happy you enjoyed your time at our Historic Hotel in Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The rooms are time-worn and small, but the location is great, and the staff was super-friendly and helpful. Above-average breakfast, and having Annabelle's on the premises made up for the negatives. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Loved Ketchikan. Didn't love the Gilmore. Quaint building; good location. Out-dated plumbing, wiring, HVAC, dirty carpet...the list could go on. WiFi only available in certain spots in hotel. Plenty of noise from guests due to poor insulation of rooms. Hot water non-existent. Would have gladly paid extra for it knowing up front it wasn't included. Included breakfast was scant. However, the staff was friendly and the fresh baked cookies at the front desk in the afternoons were delightful.
The only real positive for this hotel was it's location in the center of town. Otherwise, IF I were to return I would check out another hotel/bed&breakfast option.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarium-mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I like this hotel and I dont like this hotel. it does need some updates but it also has charm - its a great location, and definitely better than the super 8 which is the same price. Staff is friendly and its nice there is a bar and restaurant downstairs. However the walls are paper thin and if you are on the 2nd floor the staff is talking all morning long. there is some part of the kitchen up there for the downstairs and you can hear dishes clanking and staff chattering starting at about 9am till whenever you leave for the day. Overall I think its a great deal and location for ketchikan - even better than cape fox. but it is ketchikan alaska and 3 stars is a good rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Erich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#9 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Property: Gilmore Hotel
Address: 326 Front Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing