We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for six days whilst I was going to the hospital and found the rooms to be comfortable and the service excellent. The staff were very understanding of my situation went out of there way to help me. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will certainly be staying there again when I am in Ketchikan!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SamGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Gilmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Where do I start? One double bed, which we knew going in, but just two tiny pillows and no room for suitcases. Useless bathroom. Nowhere to hang towels, bathroom fixtures that turn off as soon as you let go of them. One small glass shelf for accessories, no other place in bathroom for toiletries. Shelf mounted very closely over self-turning off fixtures, with spigot reaching less than two inches over sink. No elevator, four flights of stairs to rooms on 3rd floor. Forgot to change out our towels after first night. They were wet of course, because there was no place to hang them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Make no mistake this is not a chain hotel and there are pluses and minuses to that. We found it refreshingly different. It was clean, our room had a great view across the front and breakfast was OK. Only drawback was virtually non existent WiFi. Location and staff all good. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simonjdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This isn't a bland, cookie cutter chain hotel, so people used to that type of place will probably be disappointed. We enjoyed the historic feel and fantastic location. Being an old hotel, some details are a little worn, but the helpful staff and reasonable rates offset that for us. You simply can't beat the location downtown, and it was great to have a view of the harbor. One morning we watched a pod of orcas from our window for 20 minutes! I would stay there again next time I'm in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pictures online made it look "charming" from the street, but this hotel is very worn out. Kind of stuffy, smelly, dirty and rough. Thought I could deal with one night but I checked out after 30 minutes. Not sure if they refunded the money or not but I did not care...I called the Best Western and was able to get a room right away. Best Western also kind of odd, being tied to a restaurant that kind of overpowers the hotel with smelly food, but much better than Gilmore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellykate67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms are old but clean, front desk service is slow and not very friendly. The room was hot with no air conditioning. The hotel is attached to Annabelle's rstrnt, they provided a continental breakfast that was below average.

If you need a place to sleep it's better than being outside.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street. This way you could open your window. Otherwise, you have to endure...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20stephenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My Alaska Airlines flight to Juneau from Ketchikan / Seattle ended up going back to Ketchikan (the 630PM seattle flight) -- so I went on GoGo wireless to book a hotel for the night - the Super 8 and the Gilmore came up. I just briefly scrolled through the reviews thinking it would be OK, considering I'll be saving about $30 over the Super 8. I also cross referenced a few other hotel websites, and they too only showed the Gilmore and the Super 8.

Well, panic set in once we landed. I called the hotel to double check my reservation to be told they can't help me, the front desk closes at 10:00PM!!! Sure would have been nice to know this.

The Gilmore should do a much better job and close off their inventory at night before closing - this could have been messy if I had booked this hotel, received my confirmation, and went to the hotel to check-in. Especially with 100 other people hunting for hotel rooms. This was highly irresponsible as I deal with computer reservation systems (travel) and I know some hoteliers who said they can instantly shut down their inventory to the GDS's. So why can't this hotel?

So beware when booking this hotel - make sure to call and verify your reservation AND pray that Alaska Airlines 69 doesn't run late - if they do, you may end up sleeping on the street.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank DiverDown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketchikandeb2013, General Manager at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We are very sorry for the troubles you had with the reservation you booked thru bookings.com, we were unaware of your reservation as all bookings.com reservations are sent to us by fax and the fax we received from bookings.com did not arrive until 8:35 am the day after your reservation. We have notified bookings.com of this matter and are working with them to make certain we receive all faxed reservations in a timely manner. We have a policy in place for all late arrivals and if your reservation would have made it to us we would have arranged to have a taxi pick you up at our expense and we would have met you at the front door and checked you right in. The best advise I can offer for any traveler in a similar situation is to always call the hotel directly not only will you most likely get the best available rate but if there are special circumstances, special needs, late arrivals etc you won't need to worry if the hotel has been notified from the third party booking agency. We did not charge you for the room, we tried to contact you but the message was your phone went swimming and you could not answer, we are happy you are alive and well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
339 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#9 of 10 in Ketchikan
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Address: 326 Front St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing