We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Ketchikan”
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic Ketchikan”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is an old historic hotel right in the old town of Ketchikan. You get is what they got in the 1920's. Namely small rooms. Ours had the bathroom sink in the sleeping area. There is no elevetor or air conditioning. That said, Annabelles restaurant and bar right in the hotel is quite good. The staff are friendly and the service excellent. The rooms an public areas spotlessly clean. You can walk to practically everything.

Room Tip: The "view" rooms face the water which is right across the street. Cruise ships block that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    40
    29
    31
    20
See reviews for
17
48
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kasaan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Since I love the downtown location, and the food at Annabelle's, I was a a long time customer of the Gilmore Hotel, up till the point I found the Super 8 to be a better deal, for the price. The cheapest rooms at the Gilmore have tiny shower / toilets, and are cramped, with a view of the neighboring buildings' outer walls. Only the street facing rooms have any view, and the street noise is only tolerable for the hard of hearing! With no elevator, the building is not accessible for handicapped people. There's NO proper fire exit from the 2nd or 3rd floors, just an outside ladder, and WHY the are not legally forced to at least install stairs for a fire escape, I will NEVER understand! Although the building is concrete, I shudder to think of HOW they can evacuate the place, should a fire break out from burning furniture, bedding and carpeting! Smoke inhalation kills long before flames and heat do!

Room Tip: Unless you are unable to afford a better lace to stay, and really must stay in downtown Ketchikan in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Super8KetchikanGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Old hotel with lots of charm. Very friendly staff. It is right downtown so you have the convenience of walking anywhere. As expected, nthe rooms are on the small side but have everything needed. We had windows overlooking the main street adn harbor.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the main street and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Gilmore Hotel for 4 nites and it was great. Being an old hotel, it is not as perfect as the newer chain hotels but it's age gives it it's charm. The front desk bent over backwards for our needs and it is conveniently located in town. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We also enjoyed eating at Annabell's restaurant located there too. Our room was located in the front so we were able to look out the windows as the ships came in and watch the bald eagles by pass our room. We had a great time in Ketchikan and the next time we go, we'll stay at the Gilmore again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for six days whilst I was going to the hospital and found the rooms to be comfortable and the service excellent. The staff were very understanding of my situation went out of there way to help me. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will certainly be staying there again when I am in Ketchikan!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Where do I start? One double bed, which we knew going in, but just two tiny pillows and no room for suitcases. Useless bathroom. Nowhere to hang towels, bathroom fixtures that turn off as soon as you let go of them. One small glass shelf for accessories, no other place in bathroom for toiletries. Shelf mounted very closely over self-turning off fixtures, with spigot reaching less than two inches over sink. No elevator, four flights of stairs to rooms on 3rd floor. Forgot to change out our towels after first night. They were wet of course, because there was no place to hang them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottage
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Make no mistake this is not a chain hotel and there are pluses and minuses to that. We found it refreshingly different. It was clean, our room had a great view across the front and breakfast was OK. Only drawback was virtually non existent WiFi. Location and staff all good. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simonjdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Property: Gilmore Hotel
Address: 326 Front St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing