We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location, Locals favorite for seafood, Old Alaskan hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Itenerant
1 review
“Best Location, Locals favorite for seafood, Old Alaskan hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

I don't really understand where the basis lies for the complaints about the Gilmore. Sure, its a dated hotel, with no elevator, old heating, and smaller rooms (some with great views, mind you). You're in Alaska- so if you want 5 star, head to a 5 star resort/hotel.

The Gilmore is a genuine hotel, authentic and definitely an Alaskan atmosphere. The attached restaurant is considered by many locals as one of the best places in town for seafood (try the Captains platter or the dungeness/king crabs! amazing). A retired local fishermen let me in on that...

Having stayed there several times, I'll definitely be back- nice folks, free shuttle from/to the airport ferry, and conveniently located across the street from the only shop you'll need to visit while in ketchikan.

One last thing- its right on the harbor. So the cruise ships are constantly in and out, and you'll hear the float planes most mornings.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onoItenerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    40
    29
    31
    19
See reviews for
17
48
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Homer, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

I am writing this review from my room of which I can not sleep in due to a number of things. The hotel is heated with old style radiator heating. The radiator in my room constantly sounds like I have someone hitting a piece of metal with a hammer. Not just a light tap either; i was woken from a dead sleep which only came to me after taking three Tylenol PM's to deal with the horrible conditions. I honestly believe that this hotel should be torn down and replaced with a campground. I know what you are thinking; "a campground? In the middle of downtown Ketchikan?" YES! You would get more sleep in a tent on the side of the interstate. Please, don't waste your money here. They try to get you by saying its the "Historical" feel but really its just an old smoke stained building with one excuse to stay open, ONE TIME CUSTOMERS! The staff here is also extremely sub-par and act as if their guests are nothing more than an obstacle they have to defeat before clocking out for the day. The faucets in my bathroom sink have spring loaded handles. meaning you can only wash one hand at a time because the other one is holding the water on. The shower has two options; on or off. The temperature of the water is a mistery everytime. I will NEVER EVER come to this hotel again. This is the first time I have ever written a review and I'm only doing it because this very review might save some family's vacation and completely change their view towards the beautiful state of Alaska. I'm stuck in this place for three months due to reasons beyond my control. You have to understand, please don't EVER come here. But if you do decide to stay, bring a lot of hard alcohol to pound before hitting the bed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huffinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

veryyyy small room,LOUD old radiator for heat, which made clanging and banging noises entire time-is same for every room apparently-the fire sprinkler system is the old exposed pipe that is on the walls and ceiling, and you have to hold the handles for the sink(which require a bit of strength to begin with) so you can only use hot OR cold and wash one hand at a time, or else have someone help you which the bathroom is very tinty as well, just a stall shower. couldnt get the window open and could hear other people through the walls late into the night. We were here on the off season so anyone coming during the tourist season april to sept I cant imagine how much louder it would be with the local bars and such downstairs and next door. as mentioned by other travelers there is no elevator and no one helps with the luggage. Also there is only one small table in the room where the coffee pot and lamp are, barely big enough for a laptop and a notebook to sit there, not even a nightstand on either side, so that was weird and annoying.
All in all I didnt like this place and cant believe it costs so much, but of course everything in ketchikan is over 100 bucks, plus since alot of tourists come here once they probably figure isnt worth the effort to get repeat customers. Is very old and I doubt much has been done since the 1920's when it was built-definately still has the same heating system so I guess is no a/c for the summertime but I dont know that for sure.
The restuarant downstairs which is part of the hotel is way overpriced, was over 9 bucks for a cheeseburger, and the meals were 20-30 bucks for each person, just for the entree not including the drink or anything else. Will not plan on returning here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

This is an old, historic hotel; therefore potential guests need to keep this in mind when looking a comments on room size and finish in accomodations. We stayed in a front room overlooking the cruise ship berths and found the room very comfortable. The views of the channel and peaks on the opposite side are great. The hotel location is the best for shopping and feeling a part of the town life. Yes, the authentic (historic steam heat radiators made some noise when in use, but not that disturbing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Complimentary pickup from the airport ferry on the Ketchikan side was perfect (you call the hotel when you have collected your luggage at the airport bag claim and they meet you on the city side). The bathroom in our room was newly tiled with attractive neutral color tiles and very clean. LED TV in room. Wireless works well in the hotel (am using it to send this review). There is no elevator, so luggage has to be carried up the stairs (the staff will assist with that if you wish). Very elderly or persons with limited mobility will not find it easy to get to and from the rooms. Annabelle's Restaurant is a classic saloon bar and restaurant with beautiful tinplate ceilings and nice dark wood paneling inside. The bar side is smoking, but the opposite side is non-smoking. The food was quite good (excellent salmon and halibut), but the wait service was only fair. The hostess was very polite and attentive to finding us a table with minimal wait (when cruise ships are docked, the wait for dinner can be a little long, so reservations are advisable). The value for money at the Gilmore is very good.

  • Liked — location in town, historic feel, view of docks and channel, restaurant adjacent
  • Disliked — lack of elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank billgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

We stayed at the Gilmore prior to setting out on a small boat trip from Ketchikan. We were exhausted after a long day of travel, and even though it was after hours, the hotel sent taxis to meet us at the ferry landing at no charge to us. The hotel is historic and might not be as fancy as some might like, but the rooms were comfortable and quiet. The continental breakfast was available in the hotel the next day which saved having to go out to hunt down something first thing. The rooms are small in keeping with the hotel's era, but easily accomodated four of us and a huge pile of luggage.

  • Liked — Updated accomodations but maintaining the historic feel.
  • Disliked — Lobby space was very small--made checking in tricky with lots of people/luggage
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bluerainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

The staff was friendly, but the rooms were very old and loud. They say that it is updated but they did not do a good job on that. The heaters are the loudest ones ever, when they come on the pipes creak and it is loud enough to wake me up at night, and I am not a light sleeper. We had a room at the back of the hotel for the first two nights, it was above the restaurant, and when the staff went out back to take their breaks at midnight and later, you could here the whole conversation and every other word was "F" this or "F'' that. Not a good thing for a two year old to wake up to in the middle of the night. The third night we moved to a room in the front, it was very small, the bathroom was so small they had to put the sink next to the bed and there was not room to walk between the bed and the sink. I live in Ketchikan and have had family stay at other hotels and they are a lot better than this one. I will never stay at the Gilmore again.

  • Liked — Located downtown
  • Disliked — The noise in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ckcsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

Newly refurbished??? when? in 1975? we thought this place was a dump. The room was tiny and even the lobby and communal areas looked shabby and frankly a bit grubby.
We ate in the restaurant (Annabels) on one night and weren't impressed with that either.
We agree with another Tripadvisor reviewer who mentioned the unfriendly staff. The receptionist was particularly clueless!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mike_n_cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
#6 of 11 in Ketchikan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Property: Gilmore Hotel
Address: 326 Front Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing