We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
gig harbor, wa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The Gilmore is an old hotel. Rooms are tiny, but clean. Fresh paint, and new insert showers, but old carpet. Can be considered dark and dank, or old and quaint. Great location, easy walking anywhere in downtown area. Internet in room slow, but public computer quick. Reasonable as it is one of the cheapest options in town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    30
    34
    22
See reviews for
18
51
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I am not a particularly fussy traveler. Give me a clean bed and a decent price and you will get the thumbs up from me on a hotel. The Gilmore, however, is a disaster. One word...MOLD....oh and the other word is DUMP. Everything in the room is broken or in dis-repair. The place hasn't been painted since 1986 and the rooms have been abused. Bed was comfortable, but when I pulled back the covers there was food in between the "fresh clean" sheets. I mean for $135 a night, this is your classic "gotcha" hotel. Great location, but I am telling you....Stay away. Go to Cape Fox if you are looking for a nice place to stay in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

Richfield, MN
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This old building could have so much charm. Unfortunately, no one has cleaned the carpets in 10 years, or so it would seem. The rooms need a new paint job in a big way. The staff needs learn more about the community they say they live in so that they can be helpful to tourists. Rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy (street traffic and drunks). From what I could tell, the place was also not handicap accessible (though you should not quote me on this one). I was hugely disappointed. However, one woman who worked the desk in the evening was very helpful when she wasn't outside smoking herself to death every 5 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TroyD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The hotel is old and tired. The carpet looked grubby particularly on the stairs. Room was ok but again old and tired. the photos make it look more modern and inviting but more a 2 star.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getaway25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The guidebook called this a botique hotel and made it sound charming.
I was not charmed. It's old, not remodelled. Very small rooms, no elevator -- our room was on the third floor. The sink was in the room, not in the bathroom. Handwashing in the middle of the night guaranteed to wake up your spouse/partner. On the plus side, the desk clerks were friendly, the room was clean and the location good. Another minus, noise from the bar next door. And the Internet was not working. But the price was good. On balance, I'd look for another place if I go back to Ketchikan.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaMaine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I pretty much have to agree with the other travellers on this list. This is not a great hotel. The hotel is in a very old building, the pipes rattle and make a lot of noise whenever someone in a neighbouring room is taking a shower. The walls are paper thin and you can easily hear people next door. My window had a crack running up it that had been sealed up with duct tape. That being said the room was clean and warm, the staff were friendly, the mattress was comfortable and the wireless internet worked reliably. In addition Annabelles restaurant down below was a treat with a decent beer selection and excellent clam chowder. The place was also right downtown near at least five other bars. So if you're looking for somewhere cheap (I paid $70 bucks) and somerwhere close to the bars I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgaryglobetrotter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrangell, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2010

The Gilmore Hotel staff and amenities were fantastic! We are planning a return trip, and look so forward to walking thru the doors of the Gilmore and feeling the wonderful sense of history that you get when staying there! The staff are truly wonderful people, and we look forward to seeing them again soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timb9635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
329 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#9 of 10 in Ketchikan
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Property: Gilmore Hotel
Address: 326 Front St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing