We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Food And Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

If you like eating dinner with an intoxicated drunk owner than this is the place for you. The service started out okay, but the waiter kept wanting to chit chat with every single customer. By the time I received my food it was a bit dried out probably from sitting under the heat lamps. While we were waiting for our food a gentleman came into the room seeming concerned whether or not we have been served. Not yet knowing nor politely asking the staff if we have been helped he came to our table and smelt like booze, even-though his speech was not impaired his verbal actions displayed it all. I use to be a waitress, so I understand that some customers like to talk with the staff. But if you are wanting to just eat your meal with the company you showed up with, than the staff should let that be, and stop talking!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCleveland009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip to Canada and Alaska. Whilst I can't really disagree with the othe reviews, I was not as impressed as I expected to be. We paid extra for a seaview room, which we got partially but most of our view was of the restaurant and car park. I wasn't expecting the rooms to be of a motel style, which was not a problem but still a bit of a shock on arriving. The room itself was fine, bit small but clean and comfortable. The restaurant had really great views of eagles, floatplanes and boats and was fine for breakfast and lunch, good food and reasonable prices but we found it rather expensive for what we got at dinner. Unfortunately it was really the only decent place to eat as Ketchikan appears to shut down when a cruise ship isn't in and we strugged to find anywhere to else to eat at night. The location is well out of town, a free shuttle is available at most times (bit of a wait usually involved) and when we needed to get to the ferry before the shuttle started, the hotel paid for our taxi which was a nice touch. I did know about the location when I booked the hotel but thought the inconvience of being out of town would be worth it to stay in what appeared to be the best hotel in town. Unfortunately, I don't think it was. On reflection, if we return, I would stay at the Cape Fox as it looked to be just as nice but in a better location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We took the advice of TripAdvisor and stayed here overnight while on a ferry trip from Bellingham, WA to Whittier, AK. Their shuttle picked us up at the ferry terminal and was always available to take us anywhere we wanted to go at no charge. The room was small but well appointed and clean and we had a beautiful view. Would have liked double beds but the double plus twin worked out fine. The restaurant had an outstanding view of the narrows and we watched float planes and barges as well as big cruise ships go by while we ate. The service was a bit slow but always friendly and the food was great. We had two breakfasts which were standard fare; didn't try any thing out of the ordinary. For dinner we tried several appetizers which were good, however, the oysters on the half shell were outstanding! Would definitely stay here again. Best value in town for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I'm a food guy. This very nice restaurant on the water has the best halibut and salmon ever.
How? It is all locally caught, fresh and brought to your table!
Another hint, you are dinning with locals at the next table.
Watch the resident eagles on the dock.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suckme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I traveled to Ketchikan on business and arrived on December 22nd for what was supposed to be a short trip. I wound up staying in Ketchikan at the Narrows Inn for a total of 5 weeks. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, its staff, its restaurant and bar. The employees were the best, the food was so good I ate at the restaurant almost every single meal of my stay. The food was 5 star quality every night. The atmosphere was great the scenery was beautiful and my stay could not have been made any more comfortable by everyone who worked there. I spent Christmas, New Years and my Birthday at the Narrows and will treasure my time spent there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imcookiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My wife and I stayed in suite A at the Narrows when we arrived in town for a new job. After we checked in to the gorgeous suite, we walked into the lounge and immediately received a warm welcome from Don and Pam, the owners. The staff were friendly and cheerful in that unique Ketchikan way and we felt we were among friends, if not family. It was a welcome and pleasant surprise, and a perfect end to a long day. The chef and kitchen staff whip up some outstanding food, and the lounge is a great place to unwind after a hard day at work or a day on the boat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyJAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I love this hotel. My husband and I frequently have to spend the night in Ketchikan on our way to or from Prince of Wales Island. We always stay here. It is close to the airport, has great shuttle service, a beautiful view of the ocean, and a great restaurant. It is a beautiful, peaceful place .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorikae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
3.7 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
383 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.3 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#1 of 18 in Ketchikan
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Edgewater

Address: 4871 N Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9013 (Formerly Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina)
Region: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: £62 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn Edgewater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the extraordinary experiences available year round in Ketchikan at the Rodeway Inn Edgewater. Savor the fresh Alaskan seafood in our restaurant while spotting wildlife including humpback whales, orcas, seals and bald eagles. Located minutes away from the charming downtown of Ketchikan, explore the historic Creek Street and launch your Alaskan adventure, including excursions like salmon fishing, seeing the Misty Fjords via sea plane, kayaking and wildlife tours. At the end of day, relax and recharge in our well-appointed guestrooms and suites, while taking in the views of an Alaskan sunset. Rodeway Inn Edgewater has an assortment of rooms ranging from our garden view, to ocean view, and three themed suites. Our shuttle bus is on demand for trips to town and the airport ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrows Hotel Ketchikan
Narrows Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing